We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent weekend” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Stayokay Amsterdam Vondelpark

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Stayokay Amsterdam Vondelpark to your Saves list
Stayokay Amsterdam Vondelpark
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   Zandpad 5, 1054 GA Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Museumplein)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #40 of 176 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Hale, cheshire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent weekend”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Stayokay was a brilliant find - very reasonably priced, good breakfast, and friendly staff. We had a room for four people with our own bathroom and it was fine - clean and functional. People have said it was a bit far out but we didn't really find that and it was also nice to be so close to the park. We hired bikes from the hostel and had a lovely, albeit snowy, ride round. I'd definitely recommend.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

776 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    213
    370
    141
    29
    23
See reviews for
44
70
177
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bellshill, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

I stayed here for a weekend with friends on a stag do and have no complaints about the hostel.

The place is clean, secure and our twin room was very spacious.

5 minutes walk away is an area with loads of bars, restaurants and nightclubs. It is about 30 minutes walk up to Dam Square but we tried to end our nights in the area next to us due to how close the hostel is.

Lockers are available to hire for a full day at €2 or they can be hired by the hour at 20c per hour, very handy for late departures like us.

Towels can be bought for €4.50 (to keep) from reception as they are not supplied

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Locations is very good, close to Leidseplein. The staff is friendly and helpful. Rooms are good for the price, you can get some rest and get ready for what Amsterdam has to offer. Easy to move from there, it is practically inside the Vondelpark. They have bicycles you can rent for a very reasonable price. The bar is also a good option before going to clubs and other pubs/parties. I'd recommend it for anyone travelling to Amsterdam.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucestershire
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

Stayed here as a group of 6 in a private room. Good value to be fair, breakfast included, selection of sliced meats and cheeses, fruit, fresh bread juices and cereal. Easy access to rooms and buildings only problem was it was a bit of a walk from red light, and dam square. We rented bikes for a day and loved if, you soon pick up the road system an it makes everything only 2 minutes away! Overall was a good stay but was a bit far out for me.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Stayokay Vondelpark is a little removed from any immediate action due to it's location (bordering the eponymous Vondelpark and down a residential street a little ways from the nearest main road), but don't think that means there's nothing around nearby. Leidseplein is a very short walk away (and also where one of the nearest tram stations is if you're coming from Centraal Station), and you can find all manner of restaurants and nightlife here. Just don't expect a big party to be going on once you get back to the hostel.

Rooms are divided up into three wings with the lobby and bar as sort of a central hub. The ensuite dorm room I was in was of average quality, but wasn't particularly good in any respects. Not all beds had personal lights/plugs, and it could get very hot/stuffy due to the lack of ventilation except for one very small window. Having a sink and shower in the room was very handy. The lockers had no problem fitting my suitcase. There are washers and dryers available for use for 7.50 euros total in one of the wings as well. The bar had very reasonable pricing compared to some of the other restaurants in the area.

Getting to other parts of Amsterdam (including Zuid Station) is relatively easy from the main road, and the free Wi-Fi in the lobby area can be used to get directions on your device of choice before setting out. If you need a place to store your bags after checkout but before leaving, there are lockers available to rent down in the lobby area to store your suitcase.

I definitely don't regret staying here, but I'll probably go with a different spot on a future trip. If you're looking for a place to calm down after partying then this could be a good place, but don't expect too much in the way of amenities beyond the basics.

Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strokestown
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

A group of us booked this hostel on the recommendation of a friend and we were not disappointed!we booked a very affordable 4 bed private dorm with private bathroom. Room was very clean and was serviced daily. Facilities at the hostel were excellent. Internet access was there for a nominal fee. Food and beverages served in the bar downstairs were also excellent value. Basic food but perfectly edible.Security at the hostel was quite good - you needed your key card to access reception and room area.Staff were quite friendly and helpful. Plenty of information was provided at reception for those who had not visited Amsterdam before. very central location. Would definitely go back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ulverston, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

The hostel is situated right next to the Vondelpark and a 2 minute walk from Leidesplein centre where you will find lots of places to eat and drink. From there it is then around 15-20 minute walk to Dam Square. Recommend walking rather than getting the tram as you miss out on all the views!
We got a great deal at the hostel. For 2 people, 2 nights, private room with ensuite including breakfast, £34 each - bargain!
The hostel staff were extremely friendly. They have lots of offers in the lobby for the many attractions in Amsterdam and you can also book onto attractions at a discount at the main desk. Also, includes free WIFI in the lobby.
The breakfast was nice, good selection. Traditional breakfast made up of bread, cheese, ham, cereal, fruit and also had really nice gingerbread!
Would highly recommend this hostel if you are going to Amsterdam for a short break! I will definitely be returning to the stayokay when I go back to Amsterdam!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Stayokay Amsterdam Vondelpark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stayokay Amsterdam Vondelpark

Address: Zandpad 5, 1054 GA Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museumplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 176 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Stayokay Amsterdam Vondelpark 2*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our unique location offers everything for a perfect stay in Amsterdam. We are situated in the beautiful Vondelpark near the Leidseplein entertainment area. The three major and best known museums in Amsterdam (the Rijksmuseum, Van Gogh Museum & Stedelijk Museum) are within 5 minutes walking distance. We offer plenty of activities for exploring the city. A free daily walking tour which is great to meet others travelers and to get inside information about Amsterdam. Or rent a Stayokay City bike and discover Amsterdam by yourself. The famous Canal Belt is best to be explored during a canal cruise. Enjoy great food & drinks offers in our bar dur one of the themed bar nights. We look forward to seeing you soon; Welcome in Amsterdam! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Stayokay Amsterdam Vondelpark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stayokay Amsterdam Vondelpark Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stayokay Amsterdam Vondelpark, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.