We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All round decent.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Stayokay Amsterdam Vondelpark

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Stayokay Amsterdam Vondelpark to your Saves list
Stayokay Amsterdam Vondelpark
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   Zandpad 5, 1054 GA Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Museumplein)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #41 of 176 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Rochdale, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“All round decent.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

Whilst not the nicest, cheapest or most amazing hostel on the trip, there were no problems at all with this hostel. Good location in Amsterdam, with the rooms and facilities basic, but certainly problem free. Recommend!

Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

769 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    209
    367
    141
    29
    23
See reviews for
44
69
177
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

Being a preferer of luxury and privacy, using a Hostel is out of the norm for me. However, going on a Stag Night in Amsterdam, attracted this option as the most affordable and practical.
We had a room for 6 exclusively. I was very happy with the look and cleanliness of the hostel on arrival. We were allowed to leave our bags in a room until our room was ready. Checking in was hassle free leaving the rest of the day to drink! The Hostel bar was excellent. The room was perfect for our needs, and created a fun atmosphere.
The location was also perfect. Very close to Vondelpark for a cycle ride, close to a large square of Bars, and right next to a Tram line into town, which we never needed as we walked everywhere.
My only gripe was the poor wifi, but I could happily forget Facebook for a day or two!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bologna, Italy
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

i picked up this place because it was the cheapest in Amsterdam and net to the centre. I travelled alone and i was put in a dormitory for 20!!! people which was fortunatly not full because there were only 2 toliets and 3 showers... and it was only for girls. The hostel in itself is ok, nice lobby to relax, if you don't have wifi they have computers (1 hour 3 euro) breakfast is really basic but i was not expecting more from a hostel. What really disappointed me was the numer of toilets in my dorm, the lackage of sockets (1 every 4 bed, maybe less, i trid to charge batteries and somebody was constantly unplugging). They praise to be eco freindly, then they should thinking about old tap to mixer tap. The place was clean if you plan to visit just the centre on Amsterdam you can easily walk there. If you travel alone this might be your cheapest choice in Amsterdam but from 2 to more people maybe you can find a decent price in a regular hotel. I paid about 27 E pro nigh.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

I stayed in this hostel some months ago during a trip to Amsterdam with my friends; we had a really good time!
The rooms and common areas are clean and large; in the lobby you find some nice open spaces in which there is all you need!
The only problem we had was the dinner (which was included in our reservation): it is like at school but we had to wait almost 45 minutes to get something to eat. The second day we went out, despite the fact we paid to stay there in the hostel.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012 via mobile

Went for a long weekend four men in a 4 bed room, very pleasantly surprised. Bed very comfortable and separate shower and toilet. Minor points would be only one window that opened on a mega hot weekend and shower could have done with a bit more power. However we did not experience any problems with lockers, checking in or out and the security was excellent. We did take a padlock for the wardrobe but you can purchase towels locks ear plugs etc there if needed. Internet access was not a problem and breakfast was superb and did not run out of anything. Good position for all the sights and helpful and friendly staff. Surprisingly quiet considering it was completely full with lots of hen and stag parties. Overall very pleasantly surprised how good this is.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

Me & 4 of my friends booked a hen weekend through a company & were allocated this hostel. We weren't sure what to expect but we were pleasantly surprised. We arrived at 11am and check in wasn't until 2pm but we did all of the check in process and then we were able to leave our luggage in a locked room.

We had to leave a 50 euro per person deposit to cover any damages (acceptable for hen/stag parties) and this was returned on our departure day with no problems at all. We had somebody come in on the first morning (whilst we were out) and clean around our sink, floor and empty our bin (definately didn't expect this from a hostel) and the room was clean when checking in.

We had a drink in the bar before going out & the drinks are reasonably priced, there is free wifi in the communal areas which is brilliant when roaming costs are so high so it was really appreciated.

The reception staff were more than helpful - we asked for a taxi number but they insisted on calling the taxi for us so they booked this - we asked questions about how to get somewhere & were given detailed instructions so we didn't get lost.

The only 2 things I would say is that the room could do with a full length mirror - for 5 girls in one room a bathroom mirror was a bit difficult for make up, hair etc but it wasn't unmanageable. And when we checked out we weren't allowed to use the free luggage store and had to pay for the lockers to store our luggage but having said that it was only 20 euros an hour to store this.

We checked out with ease and got our deposit back in cash with no problems.

The position of the property is absolutely perfect - it's a 5 minute walk from a large square with shops, restaurants and pubs etc. We were REALLY pleased overall.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

We stayed in a private twin room at the Stayokay hostel in Amsterdam by Vondelpark. It is huge, very corporate and not that friendly. The room was basic, drab and clinical looking. The shower room was not cleaned once the whole 3 days we stayed there. There was a breakfast buffet that was very good and plentiful.There is a bar there which never gets very busy and we did meet some great people one night. I have been to Amsterdam before and stayed at a hostel across the road, and whilst that one was very noisy it had character and some life to it. I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Stayokay Amsterdam Vondelpark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stayokay Amsterdam Vondelpark

Address: Zandpad 5, 1054 GA Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museumplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 176 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Stayokay Amsterdam Vondelpark 2*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our unique location offers everything for a perfect stay in Amsterdam. We are situated in the beautiful Vondelpark near the Leidseplein entertainment area. The three major and best known museums in Amsterdam (the Rijksmuseum, Van Gogh Museum & Stedelijk Museum) are within 5 minutes walking distance. We offer plenty of activities for exploring the city. A free daily walking tour which is great to meet others travelers and to get inside information about Amsterdam. Or rent a Stayokay City bike and discover Amsterdam by yourself. The famous Canal Belt is best to be explored during a canal cruise. Enjoy great food & drinks offers in our bar dur one of the themed bar nights. We look forward to seeing you soon; Welcome in Amsterdam! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Stayokay Amsterdam Vondelpark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stayokay Amsterdam Vondelpark Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stayokay Amsterdam Vondelpark, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.