We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty good hostel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Stayokay Amsterdam Vondelpark

Save Saved
You added Stayokay Amsterdam Vondelpark to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Stayokay Amsterdam Vondelpark
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   Zandpad 5, 1054 GA Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Museumplein)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #39 of 174 Specialty lodging in Amsterdam
Townsville, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Pretty good hostel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2011

With a few friends we booked a four bed dorm at this hostel in August. Cheap accommodation was scarce as there was a festival in town. Although this room cost us about 40 Euros each per night, we all thought Stayokay Vondelpark was pretty good for a hostel.

The hostel is located right in the Vondelpark, a little way out of town. Bike hire costs 11 Euros per day and with that central Amsterdam is only a 5 to 10 minute ride. The room was clean with a large bathroom, but consisted of only 4 bunks, 4 cupboards, and a char. But you don’t go Amsterdam to stay in your room all day. The breakfast was large and varied.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

686 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    185
    323
    129
    27
    22
See reviews for
41
59
162
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Guelph, ON
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2011

This hostel is well set-up for big groups, so I found it less than spectacular for a solo traveler.
The room I stayed in was clean enough, but not super clean, and the washroom facilities were decent, but not great.
They serve quite a large breakfast which is quite good if you planning a whole day of walking in the city, but don't expect an American style breakfast, this is Europe after all.
The location is great, just in front of the Vondelpark and not far from the Van Gogh Museum. It is also not that far from most things in the city; I never bothered with the public transit and walked everywhere.
If you want to be close to the action and the red light, this is not the place for you. If you want to have a nice location, which is secure, and you can count on any time, then the Stayokay Vondelpark is the place for you.

Room Tip: Smaller dorms are key here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2011

Nice location, in front of the Vondelpark, but the staff was not friendly, the breakfast wasn´t good and the lifts didn´t come to the last floor, which is a problem because of the lugagge.
Wouldn´t go back.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2011 via mobile

This hostel was more like a hotel with massive dorm rooms. There were families, older clients and lots of groups on bux weekends. For us it was fine because we were there for a short time. But if u are coming to make friends and go out with other travelers I think that would be more difficult at this hostel.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex, England
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2011

I was part of a group of six girls staying here over the May 2011 Bank holiday, we payed £54 each for the three nights. For this we had our own dorm with breakfast inlcuded each day. The breakfast was basic with alot of choice, but get down early to avoid the long queue.
The location is very central, however at night I wouldn't have walked to and from the hostel on my own as you have to walk down a dark road or through the park to get back to the hostel.
I would definitely recommend this hostel for short budget stays. One criticism, it wouldn't hurt to run a duster around the rooms once in a while as they are quite dusty!!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland.U.K.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

I had been going there for year's.I went back drunk one night to put something in my room,then go get dinner to straighten out.They said I hade made a noise the night before.My friend was in the bunk below me and never heard anything.I said I had been going there for year's without a problem.They never explained the noise I made.I was thrown out at 10.00pm on a Friday night for being drunk..I had my case and passport and credit card's with me,and no place to stay.It was totally irresponsible.People were passing me drugged up and I was thrown out for being drunk.Double standard's?It took me till midnight to get relocated.It also cost me more euros.If I had not found another place to stay,I would have fell asleep eventually and been robbed.This could have left me with no passport and credit card's and no way of getting back home.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

Ideal accommodation for groups travelling to Amsterdam on a limited budget. Wasn't expecting much for the price we paid but we were pleasantly surprised with the size of the rooms and the facilities on site. Breakfast was better than expected but get there early!Excellent location too being next to the park and close to all amenities.
Age range of guests 16 - 70 so nobody should feel out of place.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Stayokay Amsterdam Vondelpark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stayokay Amsterdam Vondelpark

Address: Zandpad 5, 1054 GA Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museumplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 174 Specialty lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Stayokay Amsterdam Vondelpark 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our unique location offers everything for a perfect stay in Amsterdam. We are situated in the beautiful Vondelpark near the Leidseplein entertainment area. The three major and best known museums in Amsterdam (the Rijksmuseum, Van Gogh Museum & Stedelijk Museum) are within 5 minutes walking distance. We offer plenty of activities for exploring the city. A free daily walking tour which is great to meet others travelers and to get inside information about Amsterdam. Or rent a Stayokay City bike and discover Amsterdam by yourself. The famous Canal Belt is best to be explored during a canal cruise. Enjoy great food & drinks offers in our bar dur one of the themed bar nights. We look forward to seeing you soon; Welcome in Amsterdam! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Stayokay Amsterdam Vondelpark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stayokay Amsterdam Vondelpark Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stayokay Amsterdam Vondelpark, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.