We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern Room” 4 of 5 stars
Review of NL-Hotel Museumplein

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added NL-Hotel Museumplein to your Saves list
NL-Hotel Museumplein
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Frans van Mierisstraat 34, 1071 RT Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Museumplein)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free bottle of wine
Ranked #82 of 346 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Modern Room”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014 via mobile

We booked a comfort room. Room had been tastefully renovated. The room was quite tight for two people, but we managed to get our luggage and ourselves in there! There was a cupboard for storage and a bar fridge.

The bathroom was small, which was fine, however, the shower did not have a screen or curtain on one side so it meant that the entire bathroom floor got wet each time we used the shower. Housekeeping left plenty of towels each day, so we were able to mop up the floor.

It is in a quiet area of Muesumplein and we did not hear any street noise during our stay. We were able to walk to all of the attractions from the hotel but there is a tram stop only a few minutes away if you feel like taking it easy.

The two ladies that checked us in were really helpful also!

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    75
    35
    8
    4
See reviews for
25
111
20
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here in advance of our relocation to Amsterdam. When we move we hope to live in either Jordaan or De Pijp, both of which are little more than a short walk or tram ride from here. The city centre is also only 10 minutes by tram, making this quiet street a perfect base for any kind of Amsterdam holiday.

The staff are very friendly and checked us in quickly upon arrival, showing us on a map how to get to various locations. They have also helped with a couple of queries during our stay.

We chose a double deluxe room with king size bed and as everyone says the rooms are small. Ours though is very comfortable, although the floor and bed are wooden and tend to squeak. We might be able to answer concerns someone else had about machine noise behind the wall of room 31 - we were in 32 and it was probably the air conditioner which is mounted to the shared wall and absolutely essential during this week of hot, humid weather!

We were able to easily visit Albert Cuyp Market, the rijks, stedelijk and van Gogh museums from here, and as stated the centre and jordaan and canal district are all a few minutes away by trams that come every few minutes all day.

Breakfast was expensive but satisfying with a selection of meats and cheeses, croissants, rolls, cereals, fruit and eggs. Coffee and tea are also included with breakfast, but at other times cost ?1.50. Throughout the day, Heineken, wine and cola are available and a couple of other options, each at ?3.

Our room was cleared daily which is nice - the bed sheets were tidied, towels replaced as required, and the bathroom restocked. They also give 2 nespresso pods per day but we found them to be very bitter and so didn't bother with them.

We recommend this as a great place to stay, and plan to use the chains other hotel near the Jordaan when we come for our next visit.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Rogers, Arkansas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014 via mobile

We occupied 5 rooms with 10 people recently. The beds were great and bathrooms clean and modern. Great neighborhood within walking distance to so many city sites and museums. But, the very best thing about this hotel is the people who own it and those who work there. Phenny and Alcides were dears to us and made us feel at home and welcomed. And they make great coffee on the Nepresso machine! Would stay there again for sure and would invite them to visit me too! Thank you for starting our trip out right!

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

Stylish boutique hotel in a green leafy neighbourhood. Loved the location, close to the museums, great restaurants nearby and you could walk to Albert Cuyp Market. Much preferred this than being in the centre. The rooms are small and we had some water problems in our bathroom. The drain was slow in the shower, so it was literally a "wet room" for most of our stay. And when they had a slower in the room above, water would drip down from our ceiling, so they must have had a similar issue up there. But actually everywhere we stayed in Holland had slow drains, so maybe wet rooms aren't a great design idea here. And the charge for a coffee in the lobby when you are paying over £130 a night, seems a bit mean. But the staff were so nice, they make you forget these sorts of flaws and we genuinely had an enjoyable visit.

Room Tip: We had the midsize room, and it was still pretty small, so if you want space go for the largest opti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RemcoRobert, Owner at NL-Hotel Museumplein, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
We want to thank you for nice and long review.
I remember there was a problem with the drain from the shower.
The plumber has fixed it.
we are looking forward to meet you again in our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

We arrived early and were accommodated straight away but right from the start we noticed the squeaky floorboards. We stayed on the top floor. in a Deluxe room which was tiny but I assume large by this hotel standards. The Bathroom lighting strobed so much i thought I was going to fit if I stayed in there any longer.Breakfast was good and nice environment. Bed was soft and pillows luxurious.But the floor boards squeaked at ever step. The TV didn't work at all and WiFi became patchy and had to be reset a couple of times but worked reasonably well otherwise. Good neighborhood close to Museums and trams and was a quiet location.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RemcoRobert, Owner at NL-Hotel Museumplein, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
We want to thank you for the nice reponse.
Internet connection is fixed.
we hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallinn, Estonia
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

For a start I should give credits for good things:
Location was a bit off center, but close to main museums and within easy reach to trams. Street was nice and quiet, so I was able to keep windows open all night. Hotel staff was very helpful and friendly. Wifi worked everywhere and was free of charge. Breakfast didn't have large variety (no warm meal), but had very good nespresso coffee and freshly baked croissants. So real bliss in the morning.
Not so great was the size of the room. Even though I knew, I booked a small room, I wasn't ready for this. It was small double room, size of a bathroom, where next to small double bed were 2 cubicles - toilet and shower - which shared one glass door, meaning either one was open while you were using another. No huge problem for me as I was travelling alone this time, but can't imagine, how two adults could possibly share the premises. Small sink was right next to the room's door, additionally there was space for closet (incl safe), small table and chair and nothing else. I struggled to find space for my small luggage. Very small flat TV had poor picture quality, so there was no use of it, even though some channels were in English. There was also constant humming noise behind the wall (room 31), which stopped around midnight. Air conditioning was working, but had little effect, so I switched it off and opened the window.
Generally it is not bad place to stay, but be aware of these small rooms, they really aren't suitable for 2 persons. And as it wasn't cheap, I see it as low value for money.

Room Tip: Rooms x2 and x3 are bigger than x1 and x4 on every floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RemcoRobert, Owner at NL-Hotel Museumplein, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
We want to thank you for your response.
the small comfort room is indeed small with 12 m2.
The roomrate depends on a lot of things. It can change every day.
I think amsterdam was busy when you visit us .
i promise we will give you a free upgrade when you vist us agian.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

Given that the main service which is expected is that room conditions should assist sleep and failure in this respect means that all of the hotel's positive aspects count for little. Room 1 was a double comfort room and behind a wall, there seemed to be a refrigeration unit which maintained a constant humming sound and sleep was difficult during each of our 3 nights. Next day, we twice mentioned our concern at reception and we asked for either another room or if the equipment could be switched off at night. We were offered a smaller room, which we declined, and we were told that someone would check the equipment. Reception staff were polite and appeared to be helpful. Phenny, was friendly and efficient when we booked in and also very helpful at breakfast . The room was clean and the bed was comfortable.Breakfast was sufficient and of good quality -- probably worth 10 Euros. The hotel is located in a quiet residential area; close to museums and ideal for the 16 or 24 tram -- Vondelpark is a 10 minute walk away. We would have been happy with this hotel except for the constant machine noise--- as it is we would not consider a repeat stay.

Room Tip: Avoid Room 1
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RemcoRobert, Owner at NL-Hotel Museumplein, responded to this review, June 8, 2014
Dear guest,
thank you for your feedback!
We are sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with your room during your stay. Reception forwarded your complainant immediately.
We try our best to have this problem fixed as soon as possible, as the sleep of our guest is very important to us!
I also want to thank you for the positive feedback of our receptionist Phenny, which we will forward immediately.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to NL-Hotel Museumplein? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NL-Hotel Museumplein

Address: Frans van Mierisstraat 34, 1071 RT Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museumplein
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #82 of 346 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — NL-Hotel Museumplein 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Agoda, EasyToBook, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your NL-Hotel Museumplein reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage NL-Hotel Museumplein, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.