We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Squeaky Boards” 4 of 5 stars
Review of NL-Hotel Museumplein

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added NL-Hotel Museumplein to your Saves list
NL-Hotel Museumplein
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Frans van Mierisstraat 34, 1071 RT Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Museumplein)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #93 of 354 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Squeaky Boards”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

We arrived early and were accommodated straight away but right from the start we noticed the squeaky floorboards. We stayed on the top floor. in a Deluxe room which was tiny but I assume large by this hotel standards. The Bathroom lighting strobed so much i thought I was going to fit if I stayed in there any longer.Breakfast was good and nice environment. Bed was soft and pillows luxurious.But the floor boards squeaked at ever step. The TV didn't work at all and WiFi became patchy and had to be reset a couple of times but worked reasonably well otherwise. Good neighborhood close to Museums and trams and was a quiet location.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RemcoRobert, Owner at NL-Hotel Museumplein, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
We want to thank you for the nice reponse.
Internet connection is fixed.
we hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    87
    36
    8
    5
See reviews for
27
120
21
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tallinn, Estonia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

For a start I should give credits for good things:
Location was a bit off center, but close to main museums and within easy reach to trams. Street was nice and quiet, so I was able to keep windows open all night. Hotel staff was very helpful and friendly. Wifi worked everywhere and was free of charge. Breakfast didn't have large variety (no warm meal), but had very good nespresso coffee and freshly baked croissants. So real bliss in the morning.
Not so great was the size of the room. Even though I knew, I booked a small room, I wasn't ready for this. It was small double room, size of a bathroom, where next to small double bed were 2 cubicles - toilet and shower - which shared one glass door, meaning either one was open while you were using another. No huge problem for me as I was travelling alone this time, but can't imagine, how two adults could possibly share the premises. Small sink was right next to the room's door, additionally there was space for closet (incl safe), small table and chair and nothing else. I struggled to find space for my small luggage. Very small flat TV had poor picture quality, so there was no use of it, even though some channels were in English. There was also constant humming noise behind the wall (room 31), which stopped around midnight. Air conditioning was working, but had little effect, so I switched it off and opened the window.
Generally it is not bad place to stay, but be aware of these small rooms, they really aren't suitable for 2 persons. And as it wasn't cheap, I see it as low value for money.

Room Tip: Rooms x2 and x3 are bigger than x1 and x4 on every floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RemcoRobert, Owner at NL-Hotel Museumplein, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
We want to thank you for your response.
the small comfort room is indeed small with 12 m2.
The roomrate depends on a lot of things. It can change every day.
I think amsterdam was busy when you visit us .
i promise we will give you a free upgrade when you vist us agian.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

Given that the main service which is expected is that room conditions should assist sleep and failure in this respect means that all of the hotel's positive aspects count for little. Room 1 was a double comfort room and behind a wall, there seemed to be a refrigeration unit which maintained a constant humming sound and sleep was difficult during each of our 3 nights. Next day, we twice mentioned our concern at reception and we asked for either another room or if the equipment could be switched off at night. We were offered a smaller room, which we declined, and we were told that someone would check the equipment. Reception staff were polite and appeared to be helpful. Phenny, was friendly and efficient when we booked in and also very helpful at breakfast . The room was clean and the bed was comfortable.Breakfast was sufficient and of good quality -- probably worth 10 Euros. The hotel is located in a quiet residential area; close to museums and ideal for the 16 or 24 tram -- Vondelpark is a 10 minute walk away. We would have been happy with this hotel except for the constant machine noise--- as it is we would not consider a repeat stay.

Room Tip: Avoid Room 1
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RemcoRobert, Owner at NL-Hotel Museumplein, responded to this review, June 8, 2014
Dear guest,
thank you for your feedback!
We are sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with your room during your stay. Reception forwarded your complainant immediately.
We try our best to have this problem fixed as soon as possible, as the sleep of our guest is very important to us!
I also want to thank you for the positive feedback of our receptionist Phenny, which we will forward immediately.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

We stayed for 3 nights in a deluxe room – as others have mentioned the rooms are small, but very comfortable. The staff were very pleasant, they let us drop off our luggage early and marked a map with fun things to do. The hotel is in a quiet neighborhood close to the Rijkmuseum, tram lines, and cafes.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RemcoRobert, Manager at NL-Hotel Museumplein, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Thank you very much for staying with us!
We are happy that you enjoyed in our hotel. We look forward to welcoming you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gibraltar
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

The room was very small but had everything you needed and very clean. The location was perfect beside the van Gogh Museum and the tram and buses stop beside the hotel. All the hotel staff are very nice and helpful. enjoyed our stay and will be back

Thanks for everything!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RemcoRobert, Guest Relations Manager at NL-Hotel Museumplein, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Thank you very much for staying with us!

We are happy that you enjoyed in our hotel. We look forward to welcoming you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

I spent 3 nights in a Deluxe room and my friends stayed in a regular/comfort room. The comfort rooms are tiny, with barely any floor space. The deluxe room was slightly larger and included a Nespresso coffee maker and fridge. The problem is that there is really not enough space to enjoy a coffee in the room as it's tiny!

On the plus side, the location is really good. The hotel is in a beautiful quiet neighbourhood with a really good coffee shop and cafe at the end of the road. It's a short walk from the Rijksmuseum and a longer (but pleasant) walk to the center of town.

The room was clean and quiet and the hotel staff pleasant. It is really just the tiny room size that might make me think about staying somewhere else instead.

Room Tip: Deluxe room gives you enough space to open your suitcase. If travelling light, don't bother payi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
106 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

Perfect location, super helpful staff (offering a ride on New Year's eve - where else you'd expect that!).
Rooms are small, but that's Amsterdam, so expectations met. The room itself is good, clean and comfy.
There is a fridge in the room which is great.
Room service had minor flaws - random number of towels every day, tissues never restocked, maid forgot her eyeliner in the bathroom.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to NL-Hotel Museumplein? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NL-Hotel Museumplein

Address: Frans van Mierisstraat 34, 1071 RT Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museumplein
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #93 of 354 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — NL-Hotel Museumplein 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, EasyToBook, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your NL-Hotel Museumplein reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage NL-Hotel Museumplein, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.