We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First class hotel with great staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of NL-Hotel Museumplein

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added NL-Hotel Museumplein to your Saves list
NL-Hotel Museumplein
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Frans van Mierisstraat 34, 1071 RT Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Museumplein)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free bottle of wine
Ranked #101 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Durham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“First class hotel with great staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

Booked this hotel online after reading reviews and was not disappointed. The location is great for the museum area and the Vondelpark - just a few minutes walk and Leidesplein bars and restaurants less than 15 mins. It's quite a walk to the city centre and is about 45 mins to the Centraal station although you can catch the tram 16 or 24 just around the corner. We are pretty fit and not phased by walking so if you want to be more centrally located be warned.

The hotel emailed us before we arrived to recommend we take the bus (197) rather than the train, from Schiphol as the better option which we did and this dropped off beside the concert hall a few minutes walk from the hotel. Be warned the bus is a bit of a free for all at busy times and if you need to buy a ticket from the driver you need to stand beyond the front of the queue as most locals have prepaid cards and use any door to board the bus. Watch out for pickpockets when boarding and leaving as they target passengers on crowded buses. (This warning from hotel staff and tram drivers.)

At the hotel we booked a deluxe room (23) which was adequate and from reviews a better option than the other choices. Space is at a premium in Amsterdam so I think this was quite large by their standards and had a bath as well as a shower. Rooms were nicely decorated and clean and comfortable if a little dark. The coffee machine took a little time to fathom but was great and decaff pods were provided when we asked. No good if you like an early morning cup of tea though as the hot water tasted of coffee. Wifi in the hotel worked well.

Breakfast was cereals, cold meats and cheeses, boiled eggs, yoghurts, croissants and bread rolls- pretty standard fare. All was fresh and you could have as much as you liked. Again coffee machine and a selection of tea. A teapot was provided if you asked.

The staff were extremely helpful although they were also busy especially at breakfast time with one person covering reception and breakfast needs. All were extremely courteous and spoke excellent English. Top tip: some attractions (mainly museums) are bookable at the reception for no extra cost and this gives you speedy access at busy times. None for the Anne Frank museum though and it's best to book this online before you travel as this avoids the queue which is always long.

We ate out at Loetjes around the corner from the hotel (ask at reception) a busy place frequented by locals. We ate there twice and they do have an English menu but you have to ask for it. The beefsteak was lovely and just comes with a plate of gravy, salad or chips need to be ordered as sides. The sticky toffee desert was enormous and lovely. We also ate at Greek Waves and Antonio's Italian on Leidesplein both excellent.

Wouldn't hesitate. to recommend

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    66
    31
    8
    4
See reviews for
21
101
17
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paralimni, Cyprus
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

The location of the hotel was great, the hotel inside was wonderful and quirky and the staff were very friendly, My fiance and I stayed in the comfort sized room, even though there were many complaints about the size, we found that the room was perfect just for relaxing and sleeping at night. Bathroom was great, Free wifi is also a great plus for finding things to do in the city. The only downsides I would say was the poor quality bed linen, lack of dustbin in the room itself and the noise from within the hotel. But overall we really loved our week stay here in the quirky room and we would do it again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

My husband and i came to this hotel for a 2 night bed and breakfast. Fantastic value I thought. Nice and modern, friendly receptionists, tasty continental breakfast. Yes room quite small but that was expected. Bathroom lovely. Free wifi! Fab. Thank you for having us and would recommend to anyone. The 197 bus from airport is 5€ per person and drops you off literally 3-4 min walk away! Perfect xxxx

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, NY
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

Let me begin with the positives....the location was great and the staff were extremely friendly. Upon arriving we were impressed with the hotel until we got to our room. Do not expect too much space, I am guessing this is an Amsterdam staple (small rooms) but how small was kind of surprising.

Our bed spread had a small blood stain which was obvious (we thought) to the person who cleaned the room but it was never changed. There wasn't a phone in the room which was fine but when we tried to inquire about the wifi (by going downstairs) they kept telling us someone would be arriving to reset the modem, but to no avail. Even though their website indicated there would be wifi in all rooms, the only wifi option was traveling to the lobby and checking emails quickly before heading out. Luckily Amsterdam restaurants and bars are extremely generous with their wifi.

Now on to the shower which at first glance was very nice until you actually used it. The shower did not have a door therefore the water would seep into the room unless you used all towels to soak up the excess. I would recommend this hotel for a short stay, say 2 days but not longer than that.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgrade, Serbia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

Having known Amsterdam for many years, I wanted a hotel according to very specific criteria: nice, small, secluded and near the major museums. NL hotel fitted perfectly the requirements. It is a typical Dutch B&B, with all features of being an Amsterdam hotel: space is the most expensive commodity. We booked the room as "small double room" (the only available at the time of booking) and it was small to the point of being just a glorified cupboard. Nevertheless, it had everything, including high speed wi fi. The location of the hotel is perfect - next to the Museumplein for all of us museum buffs and also close enough to the city center so that one can have a healthy walk to the Dam and back.
The downside of our stay was the breakfast - it was not included (which we knew in advance and were willing to pay for it extra) and it was far to expensive for the variety of food offered (10 EUR per person for rolls, croissants, spreads and some salami).
Nevertheless, we enjoyed our stay in Amsterdam immensely and the hotel was just fine for those couple of nights.

Room Tip: When you book a room, don't go for "small double room". It is far too small for two pe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

Convenient location within walking distance to museums & zentrum. Hotel has been renovated since I was last there in 2010. Rooms are small but cozy & nicely decorated. The ladies at the reception were very friendly & helpful. I stayed in Rm21 which faces the street. There was early morning street construction going on on the two mornings I wanted to sleep. The bathroom was very small and had an open shower with very little water pressure (more like a trickle). After you shower there is water everywhere on the floor. The bed was comfortable. The wall mounted tv was placed at a bad angle so from the bed (which is the only place to watch tv) you cannot adjust the position for center angle viewing. I found the room to be quite dark even with the lights on so more strategically placed lighting is required. There was a room safe I never used but adequate closet space. It was nice overall but the shower needs to be addressed

Room Tip: Choose a room away from the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to NL-Hotel Museumplein? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NL-Hotel Museumplein

Address: Frans van Mierisstraat 34, 1071 RT Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museumplein
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #101 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — NL-Hotel Museumplein 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your NL-Hotel Museumplein reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage NL-Hotel Museumplein, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.