We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Funky Boutique Hotel with Great Service and Great Breakfast” 5 of 5 stars
Review of NL-Hotel Museumplein

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added NL-Hotel Museumplein to your Saves list
NL-Hotel Museumplein
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Frans van Mierisstraat 34, 1071 RT Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Museumplein)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free bottle of wine
Ranked #101 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Virginia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Funky Boutique Hotel with Great Service and Great Breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here with another couple (late 20s/early 30s) and LOVED our time here. The contemporary appointments were interesting and fun. Our room had a big window that opened up to backyards of other homes which gave it a neighborhood feel that I enjoyed. The room is small, that is Europe for you. The television has many English-speaking channels, which I found rare in my travels. The bed was very comfortable, providing me with the best sleep I had on the whole trip.

The breakfast (I believe it was 9 Euro) was well worth it. A Nespresso coffee machine with numerous choices; the best I had the whole trip. The breakfast included meat and cheese assortments along with pastries and croissants. Yogurts, boiled eggs, juices, etc. We ate here all 3 mornings we were there.

The hotel location is on a neighborhood street so it is quiet, but a stone's throw from the museums and the opera house. Also an easy walk to many dining/shopping options.

Amy at the front desk was attentive and caring -- superb!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    63
    31
    8
    4
See reviews for
20
100
17
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Loughborough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

We had a great time at NL-Hotel Museumplein 30th Sept - 4th Oct. It was perfect for a short break. We staying in a deluxe double room on the second floor - no problems with noise, and the room was beautifully decorated. We got a train and tram from the airport to the hotel, but the friendly receptionist advised us to get a bus back - this was only 30 minutes from just outside the Concertgebouw (which is 2-3 minutes walk away) and only 3.90euro so if you want a cheap and easy route to/from the hotel-airport, go for the bus!

Very close to the Vincent Van Gogh museum, Concertgebouw (go on Wednesday at 12:30 for a free show!) and the Rijksmuseum. We are a young couple in our twenties, but felt safe yet central - can only be a good thing! Back to the hotel - clean, friendly, comfortable - only 5-10 minutes walk and you're in the centre near Leidesplein/Remembrandtplein. Would recommend to anyone.

Room Tip: Go for a deluxe room - it's not that much extra and from looking at other reviews, definitely wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

The girl at the reception is extremely helpfull and very nice. I believe she is Thai and speaks good English and also Dutch. She really cares about the customers and has always a smile on her face ! Even after 1 year, she remembered us as customers.

Room Tip: I believe there is one room without a window ! avoid that one !
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkland, WA
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
370 helpful votes 370 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Travelled to Amsterdam with my husband in August 2013. We stayed at the NL-Hotel for 2 nights and really liked it. It is a great base from which to explore the big museums and is about a 5 minute walk from the Van Gogh, Rijksmuseum and the Stedelijk museums. You can get to the hotel by taking the #5 tram from Central Station and getting off at the Museumplein stop. The hotel is maybe a 10 minute walk away. The people at the front desk were very helpful and gave us a map of the city along with recommendations to restaurants. (We ended up at a neighborhood pub at the end of the block where the hotel is located - get there early because it gets crowded.) The hotel is also about a 20-minute walk from Vondelpark which is a lovely park for a casual stroll. Breakfast at the hotel was reasonable at 10 euros and included coffee, juice, tea, several choices of cereal, yogurt, bread, rolls, croissants, cheese, cold cuts and hot hard boiled eggs. As mentioned in a few other reviews, the rooms are a bit small but welcome to Europe. The hotel is located on a quiet side street so there was very little noise at night. There was hair dryer in bathroom. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: We had a room on an upper floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013 via mobile

Just got back from a weekend in 'the Dam', the hotel was excellent, the friendly service....Penny! What a star ! The room was nice and clean and had a balcony too....faultless !
I would definitely stay here again as it just added to the ambience of this great city.
Other hotels could learn alot from these guys !

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

We were in the comfort rooms which is one of the rooms in the attic. Though the hotel location is great and the staff is friendly, however the room we had was claustrophobic. Only one person can stand at a time. I would have rather spent a bit more money and got a more spacious room.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
istanbul
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

otel is near to museumplein (two minutes by walking). Staff was very helpfull and friendly.
But hotel room was realy small and not clean. Cabinet was dusty, bathroom was very small and useless, when you take a shower, everywhere gets wet.
We stay at room number one which is near to reception, it was too noisy. We have a balcony-garden which you can enter from breakfast saloon, it was not comfortable.

It was ok, but too expensive. If you're a museum addict and do not have a child, you can choose this room. You do not feel like a tourist, there is a good bakery near the hotel (simon's) and market, you can take something from there and eat at museumplein's park.

You can come to hotel from airport by bus in 20 minutes.

Room Tip: choose a second floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to NL-Hotel Museumplein? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NL-Hotel Museumplein

Address: Frans van Mierisstraat 34, 1071 RT Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museumplein
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #101 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — NL-Hotel Museumplein 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda and Tingo so you can book your NL-Hotel Museumplein reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage NL-Hotel Museumplein, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.