We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location to explore museums” 4 of 5 stars
Review of NL-Hotel Museumplein

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added NL-Hotel Museumplein to your Saves list
NL-Hotel Museumplein
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Frans van Mierisstraat 34, 1071 RT Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier))   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #100 of 355 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Kirkland, WA
Level Contributor
135 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 370 helpful votes
“Great location to explore museums”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Travelled to Amsterdam with my husband in August 2013. We stayed at the NL-Hotel for 2 nights and really liked it. It is a great base from which to explore the big museums and is about a 5 minute walk from the Van Gogh, Rijksmuseum and the Stedelijk museums. You can get to the hotel by taking the #5 tram from Central Station and getting off at the Museumplein stop. The hotel is maybe a 10 minute walk away. The people at the front desk were very helpful and gave us a map of the city along with recommendations to restaurants. (We ended up at a neighborhood pub at the end of the block where the hotel is located - get there early because it gets crowded.) The hotel is also about a 20-minute walk from Vondelpark which is a lovely park for a casual stroll. Breakfast at the hotel was reasonable at 10 euros and included coffee, juice, tea, several choices of cereal, yogurt, bread, rolls, croissants, cheese, cold cuts and hot hard boiled eggs. As mentioned in a few other reviews, the rooms are a bit small but welcome to Europe. The hotel is located on a quiet side street so there was very little noise at night. There was hair dryer in bathroom. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: We had a room on an upper floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    91
    37
    8
    5
See reviews for
27
123
22
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Just got back from a weekend in 'the Dam', the hotel was excellent, the friendly service....Penny! What a star ! The room was nice and clean and had a balcony too....faultless !
I would definitely stay here again as it just added to the ambience of this great city.
Other hotels could learn alot from these guys !

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

We were in the comfort rooms which is one of the rooms in the attic. Though the hotel location is great and the staff is friendly, however the room we had was claustrophobic. Only one person can stand at a time. I would have rather spent a bit more money and got a more spacious room.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
istanbul
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

otel is near to museumplein (two minutes by walking). Staff was very helpfull and friendly.
But hotel room was realy small and not clean. Cabinet was dusty, bathroom was very small and useless, when you take a shower, everywhere gets wet.
We stay at room number one which is near to reception, it was too noisy. We have a balcony-garden which you can enter from breakfast saloon, it was not comfortable.

It was ok, but too expensive. If you're a museum addict and do not have a child, you can choose this room. You do not feel like a tourist, there is a good bakery near the hotel (simon's) and market, you can take something from there and eat at museumplein's park.

You can come to hotel from airport by bus in 20 minutes.

Room Tip: choose a second floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
79 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

This 18 room boutique property was once a typical home, located in a leafy, upscale neighborhood right by the Concertgebouw (concert hall), the Rijksmuseum, and the Van Gogh museum. It's quiet and perfect for culture-lovers. My room (double for single use) was the smallest hotel room I've ever had, yet it lacked for nothing. Appointments were excellent: AC, WiFi, flat screen TV, ample closet and storage, safe, small fridge, good lighting. Tiny bathroom, ingeniously designed with everything you need. A very nice buffet breakfast (10 Euro) is served in their pretty breakfast room. The staff is extra-accommodating. I would definitely stay here again. NOTE: There are no phones in the rooms, and the reception desk is open from 7 AM to 9 PM only. In case of emergency, there's a night porter.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
solna
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

We got a very small room but it was nice and clean and cosy :) We only stayed for 3 nights so it was good enough for us!
The service was great, they cleaned up everyday and made the bed. Very helpful and they also gave us a map of the city telling us special places were we should go and so on. Will definitly stay there again, if longer, a bigger room i a must though.

Room Tip: Room 41 was really small but modern and clean! It was on the fourth floor. Nice elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

We chose this hotel due to its proximity to the Van Gogh and Rijksmuseum and it didn't disappoint.
Arriving mid morning at Schipol we caught the 197 connexion bus to museumplein.A short walk bought us to the hotel with the intention of leaving our luggage and hitting the city but on arrival our room was ready so we were able to check in.
We had booked a deluxe room with breakfast and found our room ( 12) on the 1st floor situated at front of the hotel.Yes the room is on the small size but this is Amsterdam,however there is all you need and more! Lovely little balcony overlooking quiet street, nespresso coffee machine, blackout curtains and very comfy bed.Breakfast was plentiful, cereals, yoghurt,fruit juice,cold meats, cheese, bread,rolls,pastries( so fresh and lovely)tea and coffee.
Our tip? Hit the museums early ,enjoy a picnic in Vondelpark then visit the sights in the main part of city.Most enjoyable surprises would be the Scheepvaartmuseum and the museum of handbags ( have afternoon tea here in it's beautiful surroundings), the men will enjoy the building if nothing else!
The photos don't lie, the hotel is as charming as it appears. A special mention is required regarding the staff, they were all so attentive and helpful we especially enjoyed our chats with Robert in the evenings when we were enjoying the lovely nespresso coffee (all free ) in the dining area. He gave us an interesting insight into everyday life in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Conscious Hotel Museum Square
Conscious Hotel Museum Square
#104 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 649 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Nova Apartments Amsterdam
Nova Apartments Amsterdam
#66 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 111 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Aalders
Hotel Aalders
#56 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 927 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter
NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter
#86 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,022 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Apple Inn
Hotel Apple Inn
#87 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 280 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NL-Hotel Museumplein? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NL-Hotel Museumplein

Address: Frans van Mierisstraat 34, 1071 RT Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier) , Museumplein
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #100 of 355 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — NL-Hotel Museumplein 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, EasyToBook, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda and Venere so you can book your NL-Hotel Museumplein reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage NL-Hotel Museumplein, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.