We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service and food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bierfabriek

Bierfabriek
Rokin 75, 1012 KL Amsterdam, The Netherlands
+31 20 528 9910
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #438 of 2,445 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Price range: $12 - $30
Cuisines: Dutch, Central European, Café, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Bierfabriek is a unique concept in heart of Amsterdam, combining the disciplines of being a restaurant and beer brewery. Our concept offers a natural atmosphere in which you can drink (and tab) home-brewed beers. Additionally, we only work with sustainably produced and organic products to offer you a good meal for an honest price.
Heidelberg, Germany
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Excellent service and food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Excellent staff more than friendly. We received our food quickly and all of it tasted amazing. We went there with our children as it was recommended as family friendly, but it's not the typical friendly friendly restaurant. It's friend'y family as in the food is quite simple, but delicious. The grilled cornish hens were amazing, the tapas, the bread. All great. Def recommend this restaurant for all ages.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    88
    13
    10
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“What an atmosphere!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

I'm told it gets busy in the evenings and I can see why. We visited late on Sunday afternoon. The dimly lit restaurant with peanut shells everywhere was welcoming and calm but busy. We followed the waiters recommendations on beer (blonde beer and red ale mixed) and food (chicken and chips) and bread and were not disappointed. The sauces complement the chicken.

I don't normally order things I could cook at home, but this isn't your boring chicken and chips restaurant. Lovely flavour food, good value, service of the highest quality.

I would definitely visit again.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
“Great place for a TA meet-up”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Met up with Tripadvisor Amsterdam destination experts RonaldoC and Grolland here last night (see photo).

Never had a bad night at the Bier Fabriek. Excellent beer, enough free peanuts to drown yourself in and chicken & chips to kill for (€13,50 a plate).

Friendly service, great atmosphere.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Motherwell
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Good beer and great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Just back from a weekend in Amsterdam and we ended up in here twice it was that good. We tried the blond beer and the red ale both very good but its the chicken we had for dinner that made this place great. Friendly staff and lots of nuts too. We will return on our next visit.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haarlem, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Just awesome place for a group of friends or a birthday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Well well, I have found my new favourite place to take my foreign friends for dinner when they come to Amsterdam.

Location is abou 200 away from the dam on the Rokin street, perfect location to end after a day or scenery or shopping on the kalverstraat.

Decoration is like a beer factorty, there are peanut shells lying on the floor everywhere! And you can see the big kettles in which they brew the beer. There are different kind of seatings for small and big groups. Of course you can sit on the bar too.

The service is just awesome! The barman recognized that we needed a man's service, since we were with the 3 of us. So he proposed us man's food.

The food is just awesome, We had their Cornish Hen, which was fingerlicking good. The beef sausage with mustard was heavenly and the cheese with chutney was a welcome vegetarian dish. We thought that the antipasti would be the best of all dishes that we ordered, but it was actually the least good (not because it was bad at all).

The main attraction is that some of the tables come with their own beertap. So no waiting, drink as much as you want. tap it the way you want it and see the amount of consumption on the screen. It's EUR 10.50 a liter.. which is pretty ok for downtown Amsterdam.

Do end up here after a day of sightseeing... that is if you like beer!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bierfabriek also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Bierfabriek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bierfabriek, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.