We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hostel I Have Ever Stayed In” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hostelle

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hostelle to your Saves list
Hostelle
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   Frankemaheerd 2, 1102 AN Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #38 of 189 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Memphis, Tennessee
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Best Hostel I Have Ever Stayed In”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

This is by far the most impressive hostel I have ever stayed in. It is in a pretty safe area of Amsterdam, away from all of the main traffic. Upon first entering, the staff was incredibly friendly and very accommadating. They have a pretty spacious and fully equipped kitchen with a huge fridge. Their breakfast is delicious which the best brötchen (rolls) I have ever eaten, and it was all you can eat for 5 Euros. The rooms were so cutely decorated and the mattresses were very comfortable. They even make the beds for you and they give you locks for free! The bathrooms are very new and always clean and the whole place has plenty of windows to keep it cool in the summer. Definitely worth the money! I would stay here over and over again and would never choose a different hostel. The only issue I had was that it was a little far away from the inner city so you had to take a subway ride but it really wasn't a big deal and I felt like it was still worth it.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    61
    14
    6
    6
See reviews for
Families
0
2
50
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

Super clean spacious facilities, amazingly polite and helpful staff, and beautifully decorated.
It is a little far (15 minute metro ride) but that's only a pain because public transportation costs a lot. Besides that, I personally like the location. Just downstairs is a cute shopping district and a grocery store and everything is much cheaper than what you'll find in the city. I will definitely be coming back!

Room Tip: Electric sockets are usually all on one wall. If you want to sleep next to your phone charging, loca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana, United States
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

This was the first hostel that I have stayed at in over 20 years and I was very impressed. Hostelle is very, very clean. The rooms are nice and roomy even though they have 8 beds. We arrived very early, but Bianca found us a room straightaway. The staff is very nice and all speak English. The area is a bit out of the way from Amsterdam city center, but it is a cute little neighborhood with many shops and MANY bakeries. It is only a short train ride to Amsterdam Centraal. I would highly recommend this to female travelers.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

After 2 nights in a horrific hostel Hostelle was like heaven! It was clean, nicely decorated, warm and organised. The rooms are clean and the beds are really warm and comfy. It has a really homely feel to it, just what some girls need whilst travelling. I felt completely safe staying here too. The only downside is it's a subway ride away from the centre, but even that is not too much hassle unless you're wanting a late night out. If I was ever returning to Amsterdam on my own I would definitely stay in this hostel and would definitely reccomend it to travelling female friends.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geel, Belgium
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

This was really the worst hotel I've ever been. The room was about 4m on 1m 20, no streamingwater, no cupboard, no chair, no table, no television, just a corridor with 2 bunks, one after 2 other. The light in the room was very poor. Breakfast was only coffee, and sandwiches or toast, No milk, no cornflakes, no orange juice, help yourself , which is pretty normal, but you also have to clean your table before you can start to eat. No waiters, no personal. There is nobody in the hotel between 10 p.m. and 7 a.m., only the hosts. The only thing that was clean and nice were the toilets on the corridor. I never ever go there again, what a mess for a hotel that only opened 2 months ago.... Poor us !

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hostelle, Owner at Hostelle, responded to this review, May 29, 2012
Dear Miss,

I am sorry that your experience at Hostelle wasn't quite what you hoped it would be. If you had mentioned your dislike for the room and the breakfast we would have offered to move you to another room if possible and supply you with something else for breakfast. Between 10 p.m. and 7 a.m. there is security available that can answer all your questions, and if they can't they will call the management to help you. We appreciate your feedback but it's better to say something during your stay so we can do something about it.

With regards, Hostelle Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2012

I really liked Hostelle. I felt safe as it was female only and there was a security guard in the lobby. The hostel had everything needed - kitchen, lockers, free wifi, except the kitchen didn't have any cupboard space for food, so non-fridge items had to be kept in rooms. The shelves above each bed were handy, though my bed was very squeaky. I loved the way the hostel was decorated. Not sure how safe the area would be late at night, but I didnt stay out late. It takes about 15 mins on the train to get to the Central station, but that was ok with me. Staff were fine and helpful with any questions I had. I would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
München
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

This is a place I highly recommend to all female travellers. A very nice Dutch/Surinamese couple is the owner of this new (opened only in March 2012), clean and friendly place in the suburbs of Amsterdam.

I stayed in one of the dorms and found the room very clean and welcoming. Just one thing: Not all of the screws on the bunk beds were tightened all the way so that the beds moved slightly ;-) And it is quite a challenge to climb the upper bed so you better be a sporty girl.

The hostel is not in the centre of Amsterdam but quite well connected by the metro (15-20 min from the centre to your bed). The surroundings are quite "colourful" so you will find it easy to grab, e.g., a Surinamese dinner, which is delicious. Ask the owners for the caterer in the same building. And you will find supermarkets (Lidl etc.) and take-aways very close-by.

The showers are clean and you even have a little cabin to yourself that you can lock from the inside. Note the little details (Dutch windmills) on the walls ;-)

Remember to bring your own towel as you have to pay (5 EUR for a large one) for the ones they provide. On the other hand, you buy the one they provide, it is new and you can take it home. So that can be an option, too.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hostelle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostelle

Address: Frankemaheerd 2, 1102 AN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 189 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostelle 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hostelle, the first all-female hostel in Amsterdam, is a unique, beautifully decorated and affordable hostel in Amsterdam. The hostel is only accessible for women and has everything a girl or woman needs. Hostelle is easily accessible by public transportation and close to musical venues like the Heineken Music Hall and the Ziggo Dome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, EasyToBook and HostelBookers so you can book your Hostelle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hostelle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.