We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel on the suburbs of Amsterdam” 3 of 5 stars
Review of West Side Inn Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added West Side Inn Hotel to your Saves list
West Side Inn Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Voorburgstraat 250, 1059 VD Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly HEM Hotel Amsterdam)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #271 of 356 Hotels in Amsterdam
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Nice hotel on the suburbs of Amsterdam”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2010

Located on the outskirts of the city of Amsterdam within about 15 minutes by tram. The tram stop is about 500 meters from the hotel so it is good to have luggage with wheels.
Generally, the distance is not a concern and walking is definitely pleasant. The hotel had a nice garden but had been quite the smoking room (marihouana. ..).
The room was comfortable and the bathroom too. It was quiet and clean.
The staff was helpful and smiling.
The breakfast room and breakfast was excellent! Spacious with garden and nice furniture and decor. The breakfast was very rich and very diverse.
If I was to go to Amsterdam another time I would prefer it again.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,371 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    329
    428
    219
    285
See reviews for
151
427
90
108
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kent
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2010

I stayed there with my 18th year old grandaughter recently - hotel is located in a really bad area and we didnt feel safe walking about even during the day, we did ask directions from a local young lady who advised not to walk around at night and my grandaughter agreed that she wouldnt feel comfortable even with a group of her friends - hotel itself is about 20 minutes on the tram - a bit too far out of the city centre, shower was a trickle and staff were slightly abrupt except for one receptionist - she was extremely helpful

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2010

free internet woudl make this a gem but otherwise it's limited. Miles from anywhere. Comfy rooms. Poor water pressure on the top floor means showering is risky.

But it is clean and rooms are large.

The lift is a msueum piece but it's VALUE

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Canada
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2010

We stayed here on two different occasions on the same trip. (July 14-16, July 29-30)

The first time, our flight landed early and we arrived about 4 hours before we were allowed to check in. (took us about an hour to get to the hotel from the airport) They let us drop off our luggage in the luggage storage room. You needed a code to get in, and the same code to lock it, but often people forgot so the door was unlocked when we got there. We left our bags and took the more valuable stuff with us to explore the city.

Front desk was helpful and told us how to get into the heart of the city. You can take the #2 tram (5 minute walk from the hotel), it takes about 20 minutes to reach Dam square where a lot of stuff goes on. The trams stop running around 1230am before the night buses start running (which we didn't quite figure out) If you miss the last tram, it will cost about 35 euros to get back to the hotel from Dam. (too far to walk) Kind of sucked that we couldn't stay out too late. There is nothing around the hotel, so when you go back, you will just stay at the hotel.

We were three guys so got a triple room. In Europe, this means a normal double room with an added bed, so there was not much space to move around or for our luggge. It was not a big deal since we were really in the room at night and went straight to sleep.
The room was air conditioned which was a plus...took a while for the room to cool down.

The second time we stayed there, we were placed in a quadruple room (we paid the same price). This room actually had 4 beds and a lot of room to walk around, but we didn't see air conditiong in this room.

The bathrooms were fairly clean, but we weren't given soap or anything until we asked. Towels were given to us, and they had a closet full just down the hall and were able to grab a couple more if needed.

The hotel has a restaurant on the main floor but you will be looking to spend almost 10 euros for a coffee and a croissant. This room also has a pinball machine and a pool table.

They have a computer on the main level as well. You can purchase an internet access code at the front desk. Cost was 2.5 euros for 15 minutes....5 euros for 45 minutes. Usually it allowed you to stay on for an extra couple of minutes.

Overall, not a bad hotel for the price we paid. It was very easy to get to and from the heart of the city, and offered everything we needed for our stay. If you aren't looking to spend a night in Amsterdam in luxury, but want more security than a hostel, then this hotel should be an option for you.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HemHotel, Manager at West Side Inn Hotel, responded to this review, August 19, 2010
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.

We are pleased you enjoyed both of your stays here.

Actually, night buses are just a bit more expensive than trams. A taxi from Dam square to the hotel costs not more than €15.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2010

Me and my son stayed for one week in Hem hotel. It was a very pleseant visit. Just a five-minute walk to the tramstation, that takes you directly to the museum area, or the cityarea (about 15 min ride) The staff was very nice and serviceminded. Very comfortable beds, and sheets and towels changed every day. The brekfastbuffé was very good. Maybe a little expensive (15 euro).... Thank you! See you next time!

  • Stayed July 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HemHotel, Manager at West Side Inn Hotel, responded to this review, August 19, 2010
Dear guest,

Thank you for the feedback.

We are pleased you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back one day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2010

I booked this hotel through Hotelclub.com and I have been stung by them before! The hotel is situated far away from the centre of Amsterdam but luckily 15 minutes journey on a tram. The hotel is scruffy and the service from the staff is poor. We had a triple room as I was travelling with my wife and 14 year old daughter. The room itself was of a reasonable standard but totally innappropriate as you could see people in the shower as the wall between the shower and the room was glass? The room was tidy and the bedding and sleeping arrangements were good. Breakfast was acceptable. The whole experience was ruined by poor customer service and very tired shabby looking interior to the hotel. We also got stung for a £35 car park charge on checking out which they did not tell us about on check-in.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HemHotel, Manager at West Side Inn Hotel, responded to this review, August 19, 2010
Dear guest,

Thank you for the review.

We are sorry you didn't enjoy your stay.

Indeed, we are 15 minutes away from the centre by tram and we are honest about our location on all resources.

Our parking lot is not free, we charge €12,50 for 24 hours, which is much cheaper than public parking in the centre, which costs €5 per hour. Though, reception should have warned you about that extra cost. We are going to have a word with our reception employees.

Thank you for your feedback and we hope you give us a second chance!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Wight
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2010

I read alot of reviews on here after booking this hotel over Christmas, and I must say this website must be full of people with pretty high standards, because for the price the HEM was perfect. We stayed in the annexe, unfortunately in a non-smoking room. It was a twin room which was clean and tidy. The bathroom had a habit of flooding though. Very good location in comparison to the tram stop, and it's only 5 minutes from a little greengrocers. The staff by and large were friendly, with the exception of the barwoman who answered my question about the location of the local supermarket with "it's closed.".. Overall, a very good budget option, and I shall probably be returning there in September.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
New West Inn Amsterdam
#216 of 356 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 682 reviews
Tulip Inn Amsterdam Riverside
#213 of 356 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 427 reviews
Artemis Hotel Amsterdam
#166 of 356 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 826 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Van Gogh
Hotel Van Gogh
#134 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 589 reviews
De Pijp
easyHotel Amsterdam
easyHotel Amsterdam
#225 of 356 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West Side Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Side Inn Hotel

Address: Voorburgstraat 250, 1059 VD Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly HEM Hotel Amsterdam)
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #271 of 356 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — West Side Inn Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 232
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
West Side Inn Amsterdam is perfectly situated in the South West part of Amsterdam, next to the main highway the A10. Schiphol Airport, World Fashion Centre, World Trade Centre and RAI Congress Hall are only 15 minutes away. West Side Inn Amsterdam can easily be reached by public transportation or by car, which you can park in our own parking lot. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Otel and Agoda so you can book your West Side Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amsterdam Hem Hotel
Hem Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage West Side Inn Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.