We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value Hotel, but poor location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of West Side Inn Hotel

Save Saved
You added West Side Inn Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
West Side Inn Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Voorburgstraat 250, Amsterdam 1059 VD, The Netherlands (Formerly HEM Hotel Amsterdam)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #266 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Manningtree, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
201 reviews 201 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 102 cities Reviews in 102 cities
135 helpful votes 135 helpful votes
“Good Value Hotel, but poor location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

Stayed here for one night this weekend.
Got an excellent deal through Hotels.com for £29- the same price I paid for the relatively nearby Menninger but a much better hotel.
Easy check in, and good service from all staff.
I was in room 8 on the ground floor. Decent size room with a fridge, good en-suite (my shower head was adjustable which other reviewers have pointed out to not be the case) and plenty of seats plus a desk. Also a telephone but that was disconnected.
Food in restaurant was good- pizzas come highy recommended, and reasonably priced.
One complaint about the room was 2 of my towels were stained, but I took these back to reception and they were immediately replaced.
Problem with the West Side Inn is the location- in terms of being central to Amsterdam it is actually very close with a regular tram service taking 20mins to Central Station. However, it is a nightmare to find, and on a very nasty looking estate with high rise flats (I suppose the kind of Ilford of Amsterdam?!) and doesn't feel safe at night.
What was worse was that I returned at 23:30 in the pouring rain to find the gates all locked. I hadn't been told about this, nor had I been told where the side gate was! After wandering around for a while I found a gate with a bell and pressed it about 5 times, each time it buzzed and the gate remained locked. In the end the Night Porter came out to unlock it manually, but this was something I could have done without!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,418 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    109
    330
    439
    260
    280
See reviews for
115
344
70
89
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

Over all we had a very good weekend at the hotel. Can't really have any complaints. Trams to center are round the corner and service was all first class from staff. We plan on staying here again when we return in May. I should also mention there is a very hand shop less than 5 mins walk from the hotel but the hotel do supply 24 hour food and drink service that is also very handy.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West-Side-Inn-Hotel, Guest Relations Manager at West Side Inn Hotel, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Thank you very much for having taken the time to give us feedback on your recent stay at West Side Inn Amsterdam.
it is so nice to read that you had such a good experience and that you give us a 4 star review.
We hope to welcome you again in May.

Kind regards,
West Side Inn Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Genoa, Italy
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

I've been to Amsterdam on August 2013 for 4 days with a friend.
The Hotel was in a nice an quiet place but the city centre was about 20 minutes away by tram (n°2). We didn't have hurry and we usually walked through the little park next to the canal, really nice.
The staff was friendly and the room was always clean.
We ate at the mini-restaurant of the Hotel what a GREAT MISTAKE! We're Italian and we have taken two pizza.....were inedible.
There was also the free Wi-Fi connection, it worked very well.
I don't have more to say..All good except the food!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West-Side-Inn-Hotel, Guest Relations Manager at West Side Inn Hotel, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Thank you for your positive review. So nice to read you had such a great time at our hotel.
We are glad you find our staff friendly and you have enjoyed the walk to the city center.
I am sorry that you did not enjoyed your meal at the hotel, you can always contact waiter, so we can help you directly.
We hope you choose our hotel again the next time you will visit Amsterdam!

Kind regards,
West Side Inn Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

Good value hotel, reasonably clean, and a reasonable distance from the city centre.

All the receptions we spoke to were helpful and used good manners. We stayed in a room with four single beds. Did the job for what we needed, just a place to crash and get ourselves ready for the next outing. Fresh Towels and beds made daily. LCD TV on the wall in room, but we didn’t use it. Don’t expect great views from the windows, but it was quiet at night etc. which is a plus, as if you were in the city centre there would be a lot of noise.

Worst factor is definitely the maintenance of the hotel, especially our room. The pool table in the bar area was out of order and no sign was on it to notify people of this, so we ended up putting 2 euros in, and had to play silly buggers to get the balls out with the hotel worker.

In our room, the shower head was completely broken and when turned on, it just sprayed water all over the place, which left a completely soaked bathroom floor. Also there was holes in our ceiling, and a constant foul smell coming from the bathroom (poorly maintained drains, maybe?).

No in room tea making facilities (not ideal for an English group!), there is also no hair dryer (which also didn’t help with our flamboyant English hair styles).

Also, take your own drinks back to the hotel. The hotel charges 2.50 euros for a can of Coke. They can probably do this because there are no shops around and it would be effort for tourists to go and search for one.

I would probably stay here again, only if I was on a budget stay like I was.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

Room key cards don't work, night door doesn't open, lift out of service, and service just average. This hotel looks like it's not been carefully maintained over the years. Otherwise fine. Located 5 minutes by walk from tramway #2.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West-Side-Inn-Hotel, Guest Relations Manager at West Side Inn Hotel, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Thank you for taking your time to review our hotel. We are very sorry that during your stay with us you encountered some issues. It is always possible to contact the reception to see if they can do something directly.
Once again, we would like to thank you for your review and we hope to welcome you again in our hotel.
Kind regards
West Side Inn Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhodes, Greece
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

Spend there 7 days .Six people with 3 difeferent rooms. Booked electronicly and paid aproximetely 10E/per day !!!

The room was acceptable for that amount of price .
The hotel was in a nice location with the public transport station very near it
Everything easy to navigate in and out of the hotel
Huge disapointed by the personel except 2 young boy and lady in the reception and the lady that gives
brekfast in the lobby with extremely good value of 3E if its still on dont miss it .
Amazed by the rudeness of some people in there but think of the money you would spend somewhere else !
If you only consider that the word "filoxenia" does not exist in their dictionary
The next time i'll visit Amsterdam i 'd like to stay in an other hotel but i would not buther the same in that price again

Room Tip: All the rooms are prety much the same
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to West Side Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Side Inn Hotel

Address: Voorburgstraat 250, Amsterdam 1059 VD, The Netherlands (Formerly HEM Hotel Amsterdam)
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #266 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — West Side Inn Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
West Side Inn Amsterdam is perfectly situated in the South West part of Amsterdam, next to the main highway the A10. Schiphol Airport, World Fashion Centre, World Trade Centre and RAI Congress Hall are only 15 minutes away. West Side Inn Amsterdam can easily be reached by public transportation or by car, which you can park in our own parking lot. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Otel and Venere so you can book your West Side Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amsterdam Hem Hotel
Hem Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage West Side Inn Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.