We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad at all” 4 of 5 stars
Review of West Side Inn Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added West Side Inn Hotel to your Saves list
West Side Inn Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Voorburgstraat 250, 1059 VD Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly HEM Hotel Amsterdam)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #263 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Amsterdam
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Not bad at all”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Clean rooms, very friendly service. However, very expensive bar and we did not have electricity power for all night. The location is not bed little bit far from the central but you can reach the Dam square by tram (20 min).






  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    272
    379
    192
    253
See reviews for
126
372
74
98
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Stayed here for 1 night on a weekend break. Located 5 minutes walk from the tram stop, which takes 5-10 minutes to get into the centre of the city. We arrived before check in and we were allowed to store our luggage in the luggage room which was locked. The room was clean, comfortable and had everything we needed. The shower was great too. No complaints at all and would definitely stay again for a night or 2. A very highly recommended standard hotel that makes a great base for a city break in the city. After a few too many drinks a taxi was needed back to the hotel as the trams stopped running and too far to walk. This is no different to being at home so not a problem at all.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, CA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Staff was friendly and nice & rooms were clean but the hotel wasn't near anything meaningful. It is however a few blocks from the train. The pillows were old and barely supported my head. The bed was low and mattresses poor quality. The TV didn't work the entire time I was there. All doors should have a spring to minimize slamming @ 2:00am. I transferred hotels mid week because I couldn't sleep and I wasn't comfortable. Because there is nothing around the hotel , they should have other services in the hotel perhaps keep the bar & restaurant open longer. Have a game room, or spa? Free shuttle to shops? They can add small touches to each room to make it an improved experience. Bring your own shampoo, wash cloth & soap. Wi-Fi was slow and the phone appeared as if it was from the 1970s. There is no closet ( no doors, no drawers. just a place to hang your clothes). If you just need a clean place to sleep , this is the place.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

we stay for 2 nights.first week in sept.our room was nice and clean and big .nice big windows that looked out on the front.we paid for breackfast and it was very good its easy to get to.tram number 2 you need then its a short walk.there is a super market very near.there is seating out the front in the gardens if you want to sit out and have a drink.its good for the price.and we would stay again.

Room Tip: we had room 250 which had nice big windows.on 2nd floor.go for this room if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

I understand that this hotel was recently taken over with new management, and is undergoing a fairly major overhaul. Most of these reviews are from the previous management...and so should be ignored! I was concerned, but shouldn't have been. My room WAS refurbished, so I can't speak about the older rooms. it was clean, large, and bright with a window (albiet over looking a wall, it had plenty of light). At night the main lights are VERY dim, you need to use the extra lights around the room. Everything worked as it should, and the wifi was good and fairly quick.

The bathroom was pretty small, with just a draining hole for the shower, so the water had to be fairly well "managed" to avoid going EVERYWHERE. No shelf in the shower for sponge and toiletries, hopefully this will be sorted. There were no hooks anywhere, so couldn't hang my washbag - I don't think Ive ever had a bathroom without a hook! I emailed the staff, and the following day there were 2 hooks fitted...amazing service!

The staff were very friendly, the reception was smart, and it looked like the little cafe there was good - apparently the pizza is excellent! Transport links were superb - the tram is about a 4 minute walk, and the train station was about 10 minutes away. The RAI was literally 20 mins away in total! There are a couple of supermarkets very locally, handy. The area is fairly residential and not in the town centra. However, if you are looking to save some money this is a very good option.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for four days. The room television never worked,we informed reception every day they promised to fix it but never did.Breakfast was chaotic, the staff could not keep up with demand, so people were waiting around for the buffet to be replenished and for clean cutlery and crockery. would not use this hotel again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to West Side Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Side Inn Hotel

Address: Voorburgstraat 250, 1059 VD Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly HEM Hotel Amsterdam)
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #263 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — West Side Inn Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 232
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
West Side Inn Amsterdam is perfectly situated in the South West part of Amsterdam, next to the main highway the A10. Schiphol Airport, World Fashion Centre, World Trade Centre and RAI Congress Hall are only 15 minutes away. West Side Inn Amsterdam can easily be reached by public transportation or by car, which you can park in our own parking lot. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Agoda, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your West Side Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amsterdam Hem Hotel
Hem Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage West Side Inn Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.