We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My Family in AMS” 3 of 5 stars
Review of West Side Inn Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save Saved
You added West Side Inn Hotel to your Saves list
West Side Inn Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Voorburgstraat 250, 1059 VD Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly HEM Hotel Amsterdam)   |  
Ranked #270 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Amsterdam
1 review
“My Family in AMS”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Did not take any food, looks too untidy. Breakfast is good for once to experience. However good for the night to stay. Did not like the many marihuana smokers around the hotel, it stinks everywhere!!!


  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    266
    364
    187
    250
See reviews for
124
363
72
96
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

The hotel is very good considering the price we have paid. It was clean, we had direct transport to Central station (20 min by tram), they had 24/7 food service in case you get hungry :).. and i really loved the bed!


  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Poor Break Fast & no restaurants around the area. To get to town there the tram is a five minute walk away. The hotel is non smoking (with fines) so every one smokes at the entrance. No noise after 10 pm but we had a couple of drunkards talking and howling all nigh - hey, it's Amsterdam after all! So we no complaints about that.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Hotel West Side Inn, Amsterdam is good value for money. The rooms are neat and clean, easy reach via tram number 2 (25 min from Centraal Station and then 5 min walk) and also close to almost all famous museums in Amsterdam.

The only drawback we felt was that the rooms had no air conditioning and the windows of the room were West facing - makes it difficult if you are not used to stay in hot atmospheres (we had been in European summers).

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

This hotel was in an OK part of town. A lot of people have complained that it was remote and creepy, but since I was with 3 other people so I never felt unsafe.

It doesn't look like the pictures at all, very run down and barely clean. The shower was blocked and when you stepped out the tray was full of water. The pressure in the shower was good but you had to hold the shower head as it wasn't attached properly.

I woke up with lots of bed bug bites, I've never been bitten before and I now believe them to be infected as 12 days have passed and they are still itchy and swollen despite having put antihistamine cream etc.

People say you get what you pay for, but I have stayed in far cheaper places in Hong Kong, Bangkok, Seoul to name but a few and have never stayed anywhere as appalling as this.

Spend your money elsewhere. We were lucky not to have seen rats and mice, but I'm not sure that I should be counting my blessings? Nobody should have to be exposed to this level of hospitality, especially when its being paid for. If they need to call the exterminator they should close down for a period of time and do so and stop exposing people to these kind of conditions.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

In general it's a nice Hotel and comfortable. The service it is good but I think the Price is not the correct because in Germany for the same room is more cheaper.
However, it's recomended this Hotel!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

The hotel is definetley a budget hotel. It served a purpose as a budget hotel and base to explore amsterdam on a budget. Thankfully the transport system is brilliant and we were at centraal station within 30 mins of boarding the metro. The hotel was around a 10 minute walk of the nearest station and for 2 days unlimted travel it cost around 16 euro's. Our room was small and basic with 2 single beds, sadly the air con didnt go lower than 18degrees so it was always really warm and it also had a bit of a funny smell but for the price we paid it was ok. The best thing about this hotel was probably the 24 hr snack bar in reception, I highly recommend the cheese burgers!! When we arrived to check in we did see someone behind the reception desk being rude to a guest saying that not all rooms had air con and they had a window so open it !!! Sadly we didnt have a window and the air con was almost useless . But as I say its a 2 star hotel and you get what you pay for, a clean and basic hotel in the suburbs of Amsterdam.

Room Tip: If you want a room with a view or a window avoid room 135
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to West Side Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Side Inn Hotel

Address: Voorburgstraat 250, 1059 VD Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly HEM Hotel Amsterdam)
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #270 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — West Side Inn Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 232
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
West Side Inn Amsterdam is perfectly situated in the South West part of Amsterdam, next to the main highway the A10. Schiphol Airport, World Fashion Centre, World Trade Centre and RAI Congress Hall are only 15 minutes away. West Side Inn Amsterdam can easily be reached by public transportation or by car, which you can park in our own parking lot. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your West Side Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amsterdam Hem Hotel
Hem Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage West Side Inn Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.