We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“really poor and not customer friendly.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of West Side Inn Hotel

Save Saved
You added West Side Inn Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
West Side Inn Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Voorburgstraat 250, Amsterdam 1059 VD, The Netherlands (Formerly HEM Hotel Amsterdam)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #266 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
North Brunswick, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“really poor and not customer friendly.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

This is the most terrible hotel I ever experienced in all of europe. Looks nothing like in pictures of the hotel, is not at all conviniently located. The walk to the nearest tram stop is 10 minutes, though they have a gate that would shorten the walk by at least 5 minutes the customers are not allowed to use it. The bathrooms are mouldy. The room we were allocated heat was not working,tv was not working and the phone was not working. no hair dryer in rooms will provide one with a safety deposit of 20 euros. no wake up alarm facilty though they promised one.The customer is not in their mind. Must avoid this hotel.The guests were noisy and heavy nicotine smell everywhere.

Room Tip: please do not make the mistake of choosing this hotel.staff is very unfriendly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,418 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    109
    330
    439
    260
    280
See reviews for
115
344
70
89
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Warsaw
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
88 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Of course, if you are charged 25 euro per (single) room in Amsterdam, you cannot expect anything extraordinary. In that respect, this hotel is neither a surprise, nor a huge disappointment. Hiwever, there are several serious flaws about it thus, making it impossible to rate HEM higher than I did.
The room is small but still passable for one person. It is rather tidy, even tough quite basic. The bathroom is almost huge by comparison, offering a lot of space to move around in there. The thig is that all furniture (especially in the bath) "smells like 70s", if I may say so. It is just clearly outdated and makes a relatively poor impression.
The air conditioning / heating is fairly difficult to handle and, since it is the only source of warming the room, the issue is really essential given the close-to-zero temerature outside.
The bathroom (something in its roof) gave some continuos remote whirling sound all thourg my (two days) stay - would've been unbearable if I wouldn't have closed the door.
The biggest issue, however, with the hotel is its (complete lack of) soundproofing. You hear absolutely everything from the hallway through the entrance door. Alas, forget sleeping at night - there's always a bunch of guest idiots that will slam the doors and happily prevent you from taking your rest in the night hours! Admittedly, that last fact has put the weighing scale on its negative end - and made me rate this establishment with two green Tripadvisor dots, only. One can simply expect more comfort from a hotel that bears three stars!

Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013 via mobile

After having trouble with our first hotel in Paris and struggling to find our hotel in Brussels, the Hem was a welcome change! It is a little off the main road, but the locals were quick to help up find it!

Joe at reception was super friendly and very helpful! The little restaurant made a delicious meal after a long day, and then going up to our comparatively large room was a nice way to end the day. The room was clean, beds comfortable, the shower was hot, and we finally relaxed!

Overall a great experience, especially for the price! Easy access to the metro too. I would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kington
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

This hotel was the first of several I stayed in this week, and I was concerned it may not be very good. However, it was easy to find from Metro line 50 after all and looked quite good outside. A ring road was nearby but didn't cause much noise at all. The first impressions walking into the reception were good, with very friendly and knowledgeable staff. It was very smart too, so I finally relaxed after being anxious all afternoon. The room was very clean, smart and tidy, with a rather comfortable bed and a rather reasonable shower. The room was quite a decent size as was the bathroom to my surprise. Plenty of choice of channels on the TV, English ones too. The breakfast was also the best of my mainland Europe experience so far too, with a good variety of food and rather reasonable coffee. I've still to find coffee that surpasses that in the UK mind, but this was the best coffee I've had on mainland Europe so far.

Overall, an excellent hotel that I'll be staying at next time I'm in Amsterdam and I highly recommend.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We had 2 room and We stayed here for 3 nights a few weeks ago, on first impressions of the hotel is it looked clean and tidy, and one of rooms was, the 2nd room the shower wasn't working but it was reported to reception and it was fixed within about 10 minutes of arriving.
The biggest down fall was the lack of sound proof between rooms, during the day was fine but at night was extremely noisy, with slamming doors and talking that you could hear from down the corridor, then by the time you get a few hours sleep the cleaners would just open the door and come in at 9am regardless of the do not disturb sign that we put on our doors that they provide. Also the beds we not very comfortable, a double was 2 single beds pushed together and they just slid apart if you slept in the middle with your single duvet and half a pillow.
The food they served was fairly standard and reasonably priced, and it was open 24hours which was good but couldn't take card payments between 11pm-6am which was frustrating.
The location approaching this hotel looks dodgy but we walked around it all sorts of times and saw nothing concerning.
The tram links to the centre we great, took about 15 minutes but were very frequent.
Overall it was what we expected a very budget hotel. Although I will say the staff were always very pleasant and helpful.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Really good value, location is well out of town but we enjoyed the tram ride and is regular. Room is clean...ish, a little damp here and there on window seals and shower corners but again you pay for what you get. This is a budget hotel but leaves no excuse for mice running up amd down our curtains and checking out our room!! We were moved straight away which was fine and we were happy with the room. From a construction point of view its an absolute fail making it very easy to have mice running in the ceiling amd coming into rooms. It needs to be addressed, if they give you 324 refuse it amd ask for another, its that floor that suffers.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to West Side Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Side Inn Hotel

Address: Voorburgstraat 250, Amsterdam 1059 VD, The Netherlands (Formerly HEM Hotel Amsterdam)
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #266 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — West Side Inn Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
West Side Inn Amsterdam is perfectly situated in the South West part of Amsterdam, next to the main highway the A10. Schiphol Airport, World Fashion Centre, World Trade Centre and RAI Congress Hall are only 15 minutes away. West Side Inn Amsterdam can easily be reached by public transportation or by car, which you can park in our own parking lot. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Otel and Venere so you can book your West Side Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amsterdam Hem Hotel
Hem Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage West Side Inn Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.