We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very basic but is a nice place to stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Maxime Boutique Hotel & Restaurant

Save Saved
You added Maxime Boutique Hotel & Restaurant to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Maxime Boutique Hotel & Restaurant
P.C. Hooftstraat 63, 1071 BN Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Museumplein)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #217 of 304 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Lancashire, England
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Very basic but is a nice place to stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Me and my boyfriend stayed at this hotel from 7th-11th October 2013. Before we went we was a little aprehensive due to the bad reviews however i would not say it is as bad as some are making out. Yes it is very basic, there are no drink making facilities in the room, but that wasn't too much of an issue but i can see it can be for some who really need a cup of coffee/tea in the morning. We was in the attic room which was rather small but it is ok for a short break. However, there was always fresh towels provided everyday and was always clean and tidy for us when we returned to the room. The bed was a little annoying as it had two single mattress covers over the double mattress and these kept sliding about! Some reviews say "we had to walk all the way through the hotel restaurant to check in" as the desk you check in is also the bar to the restaurant, however, "all the way" is a little over the top, there are about 2/3 rows of tables, it is not a big restaurant and is very rarely busy. The staff were polite, no problems there. We did have a slight problem with the price....beware of city tax!!!!! When we checked in and was told how much we owed (after paying a deposit when we booked) it was much higher than expected as we was not informed of any extra charge whilst booking! We will be enquiring about this as we do not feel city tax should be added when you arrive, especially without being informed of this beforehand. The hotel is in the fashion district and we felt this was a good location. It was quiet at night, a very very short walk to "I amsterdam", Vondel Park and the Cocktail Museum. Approximately 5-10 minutes walk to Leidseplein and approximately 30 minutes walk to the Red Light District but as we had quite nice weather this walk was lovely as the scenery is beautiful. Other than the slight mishap with the price when checking in we had a wonderful trip to Amsterdam, not sure if we would stay in the same hotel again but that is only due to trying a different location and somewhere not as basic.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2
    10
    13
    10
    7
See reviews for
1
28
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

We used the Park + Ride facility and parked our car outside the center after we had dropped off our luggage at Boutique Hotel Maxime in the PC Hooftstraat. From P+R, tram nr 2 brought us to the Rijksmuseum, which is around the corner the hotell. The hotel room consists of a comfortable bed, clean shower and loo, everything that you need to have a comfortable night's sleep after you have hit the town. The room was small but really, when in Amsterdam you only need your room to sleep in. From the hotel window we looked down on shops like "Chanel", "Bally", "Jimmy Choo" and the likes. PC Hooftstraat is expensive, vibrant and fun.
The hotel has no reception desk as such, the admin was all efficiently dealt with downstairs in the brasserie. If/When in Amsterdam next time, we'll go straight to Maxime.

Room Tip: The light dimmer switch works in three stages, which can be confusing: soft, brighter, very bright...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EDINBURGH
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013 via mobile

I visited this restaurant for lunch on Sunday the 8th September, the place was fairly busy, but this is no surprise given the restaurants location in P C Hooftstraat, which is full of designer shops, and I have to say there are some beautiful and expensive shops in this street.

Having said that, Maxime is not that special. Tables are so close together you really can't get in to sit down and the service, if you can call it that, is slow.

We sat for what seemed a long time before someone actually brought us the menu. The menu is fairly basic and expensive for what you get. We ordered soup, and then to follow we ordered the club sandwich. Well, it all appeared at the same time and the club sandwich which usually consists of the sandwich with ham, egg, chicken, cheese etc was no more that a cheese and ham sandwich served on its own, there was no side salad, no fries or crisps that usually accompany this dish - so basically a very expensive sandwich!

We had asked for a bottle of mineral water, a 75cl of San Pellegrino duly arrived that you can buy in the local shops for around 1.5euro, when the bill came, we were shocked to see the price for this was 8 euro! This in my opinion is a complete rip off, to charge this much for a bottle of water is shocking. Beer on the other hand was cheaper!

Maxine's lunch was around 50 euro and really not worth the money. It was not a peaceful experience, the place is small and very noisy, staff seem to be running around but not doing that much. They seemed to be spending more time checking their mobile telephones.

All in all in terms of quality and value for money this place failed on all accounts. Save your money and eat elsewhere, it may have once been the place to eat but now I have experienced this place I know to avoid it in the future.



Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

We were two couples to visit Amsterdam two weeks ago. We stayed at the hotel for two nights. It was only 2 months after having booked the hotel and 2 weeks before our trip that we realized what a poor review this hotel got so far. So our expectations were quite lowered and we feared for the worst. After the weekend, and knowing that we are used to a certain standard, I can only say that I am seriously wondering how this hotel has so bad reviews. Okay, it's a small hotel (what could also be considered as charming), and arrival is not so easy, since a waiter from the restaurant had to open the door to us to get to the reception. But the receptionist was nice and and had the initiative to give us a map and indicate us the places to see. The room was really nice, the bed comfortable, and everything was clean and cleaned every day. The only negative things I could say about the room are the lack of accurate air conditioning and the fact that there is just a kind of a door between the room and the bathroom. Moreover, breakfast is not included in the price, has to be taken at the restaurant of the hotel and is rather expensive. But in sum, our impression of the hotel was rather good. I would recommend it if you are searching for a place in a nice area and not planning to stay at the hotel for the whole day.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

After reading the bad reviews about this hotel, they told me they would do their best to make it a nice stay ! WOW ! Never had an experience alike , Despite the fact that the hotel room was sort of a coffin, with window panels, the lights of the room did not turn OF ! NO manager, or someone to help, we had to go to the Park Hotel a bit further in the middle of the night. As the Park hotel had no rooms free, (and phoned various other hotels in the city, )we had to go back next day to that miserable place and fix ourselves the lighting, as the manager of the hotel was just watching. I can go on and on, but just be very aware, that the other reviews are very true after my experience. NEVER BOOK MAXIME !!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Do not book here, the best advice I can give, a real rip of
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lloydminster
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

I stayed here for one night a few weeks ago.The location was great, the bed comfortable but
thats about all that was good.The room was not air conditioned and it was like an oven with no windows to open but they did have a fan.Then I went into bathroom to find toiletries half full and and a bar of soap with a hair on it.The staff that completed the check in was snotty and when complaint made about bathroom, they didnt seem to care at all.For te price I would stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

This is the second time in Amsterdam,the first was too way expensive,this time we stay at Maxime hotel,its a small boutique Hotel,the staff was ok,the only think i can complain about it its its too hot even with the gardinen closed,the window open so little so was too little fresh air you have in the night.In the middle of designers shooping area,and museums really close actually arround the corner...we will be back at this hotel for sure,i recomend this because the price its good (not easy to get something like this in Amsterdam)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Maxime Boutique Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maxime Boutique Hotel & Restaurant

Address: P.C. Hooftstraat 63, 1071 BN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museumplein
Hotel Style:
Ranked #217 of 304 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HotelsNL, BookingOdigeoWL and EasyToBook so you can book your Maxime Boutique Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maxime Boutique Hotel & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.