We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BB10 Amsterdam

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
BB10 Amsterdam
Burmanstraat 10, Amsterdam 1091SJ, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
wyongah
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Perfect location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

We loved our accommodation at Theo's. Theo was on hand to provide us with any information that we needed but at the same time ensured that we had our privacy downstairs. He gave us some very good advice in regards to restaurants worth eating at in the area- The Icebreaker was a great place to spend a few hours watching the world go by and of course the cyclepaths on their bikes! We really enjoyed sitting out on the back verandah.Theo and his wife have a very peaceful garden area- really nice to sit and have a quiet beer at the end of a busy day. We would highly recommend this lovely B&B.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    12
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
10
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Apart from the strategic location of BB10, which is an ant's step away from the underground metro, yet the place is quiet, very clean and peaceful.

Our train was crazily delayed, we were tired and exhausted from an approximately 18 hours of train ride from Prague. Once we have finally reached the doorstep of Bb10, we were greeted by the owner himself- Theo, who warmly welcomes us into his home. The ever smiling Theo, quickly comforted us into our room which was located at the ground floor of his premise, made us a fantastic cup of coffee and treated us the mind-blowing Stroopwafels, and immediately, we seem to have forgotten the exhaustion that accompanied us. Theo is amazingly accommodative, briefed us on how to best run the town, with some great tips for a first timer like us. At times, I couldn't stop comparing him with Jack Nicholson, flamboyant and really fun to be around. The room is cosy, comfortable, spacious and clean. There's a coffee machine, a fridge, a private bathroom and lots of books to savor upon. Oh, and Theo even gave us a key chain with a bar code that will get us special discounts at a nearby supermarket. How great is that! When we were leaving on the final day, Theo was really thoughtful and generous to allow us to leave our luggages in his home while we roam the streets awaiting our flight which happened to be scheduled in the late evening. Since then, we have missed amsterdam a lot, the Stroopwafels, Theo and Bb10. Thanks Theo for having us at your home!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke on Trent
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

From the moment we booked this room, Theo's communication was excellent. Directions were clear and Theo greeted us when we arrived.
This is a beautiful building with guests virtually having exclusive access to the whole of the downstairs including outside as the owners live upstairs.
The room is downstairs and is a converted front room with double high windows and street view.
There is a large double bed, a table, 2 chairs, furniture and a TV. There is use of a fridge and fresh fruit and teas and coffee. The bathroom is just outside the room and has an abundance of toiletries. It's all very modern and tastefully decorated
The location is great. Turn left outside the door and walk 2 minutes to the end of the street and you are on the Amstel River!
To the right, 2 minutes walk to supermarket and bus or metro. Metro wasn't working but it's 3 stops into the City Centre which takes around 5 minutes or 15 minutes by bus. It's also the same distance to Amsterdam Arena in the opposite direction.
I would very much recommend this place and in fact my parents should be staying there soon.
Amsterdam is beautiful!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Theo and Beanke were wonderful hosts.....
The room was large and we basically had the whole downstairs floor to ourselves (including a fireplace and back veranda).
Near the Amstel Canal, a 20 min walk to city center. Alternatively, the subway, which is 5 minutes away, has 3 lines which will take you to the central station. At the subway exit you will also find an excellent supermarket. The neighbourhood is quiet and yet you will also find some nice restaurants and cafes nearby. We would definitely recommend BB10 and would choose to stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Ideally we would have preferred to stay somewhere closer to the center, but for the price, this place is of very good value. The place is right by a metro station, which we used everyday of our stay. I did walk to the central station once and it actually didn't take too long, but I wouldn't want to do that everyday.

I agree with the previous reviews regarding our host Theo. He's very friendly and provided us with a lot of useful information upon our arrival.

The room is of a decent size. It has a coffee/tea maker, a bookshelf full of books (including travel books), bathrobes and slippers, and a TV. There's a big common area and a garden at the back of the house. A small fridge is also available in the common room. The bathroom is also outside the bedroom in the common area, but it was not really shared with anyone else.

The only negative I would mention is the shower. It does not have any curtains so it's very difficult to keep the floor dry. I later noticed that there's a drain on the floor right by the shower, so maybe it was expected to get wet after a shower. But besides that, it was extremely hard to get the water temperature right. It was either too hot or too cold. The first night I actually ran out of hot water. So on subsequent nights I took very brief showers just to avoid experiencing that again.

If it wasn't for shower issue, I would have rated this B&B excellent.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BB10Amsterdam, Owner at BB10 Amsterdam, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
We are really sorry that you had a problem with hot/cold water dosage with the bath/shower. If you'd asked, I could have helped to find the correct position in which the hot and cold water faucets should be pointed for a comfortable water temperature any time. And that is quite easy because there are two separate faucets, with a blue pointer for cold water and a red pointer for warm water. Yes, and with regards to shower curtains, there are conflicting opinions in the world. I personally hate shower curtains as they tend to stick to ones' body when wet and get moldy over the years. So after thorough consideration we decided to abstain from a curtain and go for an extra drain for spilled water.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

We spent two nights at Theo's BB10 in August and thoroughly enjoyed it. He was minutes from the canals and minutes to the Metro. We followed his directions from the Airport by train and then the metro and it was perfect and saved us a 50 E cab fare. Theo was most accommodating and helpful. Two of his dining recommendations were great. We walked everywhere and loved the city. Be careful on the pathways as bicycles rule and the pedestrian does not come first. Before crossing always look both ways or take your life in your hands!

Room Tip: This place did not have air conditioning if that is important to you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

Excellent place to stay. Close to the centre and easy and quick metro to the historic areas. Apartment is in a quiet residential area and was extremely comfortable with all amenities for an extended stay. Bath robes and slippers were provided together with tea, coffee, biscuits and fresh fruit and lots of guide books. Good restaurants and shops nearby. Theo was a great and friendly host. Everything was well organised beforehand and on arrival all facilities were explained fully. Theo provided good recommendations and advice on places to go etc. All this ensured that we had a very comfortable and relaxing stay and we are looking forward to returning in the future.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BB10 Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BB10 Amsterdam

Address: Burmanstraat 10, Amsterdam 1091SJ, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 168 Specialty lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BB10 AMSTERDAM features TWO comfortable accomodations: the GARDENROOM and the DESIGN-APARTMENT in an 1881 mansion, located in a safe, green, residential area on the bank of the Amstel river * With its fine restaurants, terraces, shops, a supermarket, an ATM plus a metro/subway-stop around the corner * A brisk walk or a fast ride brings you to the historical center in minutes * The GARDENROOM is located on the ground-floor (with easy access for the elderly), own entrance, own key * Comfortable, quiet, private room for TWO, with view on front garden * Room comes with a kingsize bed; a true "lap of luxury" * Private bathroom with tub, washbasin and toilet * Soft towels, snug bathrobes, ironed bedlinen included * Free coffee and tea * Cable-tv, radio and free WiFi-internet * Baby-cot available for free * Non-smoking room, but smoking allowed in: * Library/lounging area and porch overlooking green backgarden -at times shared with the innkeepers * Central heating in winter * From 85,00 euro upto 100,00 euro p/night depending on season * Rates based on the room * Breakfast not included * Minimum stay: two nights * Discount after a week * DESIGN APARTMENT for two, plus an option for one guest more * Second floor, own entrance, own key * Fully equipped, comfortable, quiet, private, spacious, selfcatering deluxe apartment *Spacious living-area with dining and lounge area * Design furniture; like Gispen, Wagenfeld/ Bauhaus, Premsela, Mariscal, Eileen Gray and thè lounge chair by Le Corbusier PLUS a comfortable sofa (and bedding) for a third guest * Cable-tv, DVD, radio and WiFi-internet for free * Books, magazines, tourist-info, maps * Walk-in bedroom with kingsize bed for two * Walk-in wardrobe (iron and -board available) * Bathroom with tub, washbasin and toilet (plus washer/dryer) *Soft towels, snug bathrobes, ironed bedlinen included * Full kitchen, with stove, microwave oven, dishwasher, fridge, toaster, kettle, coffeemaker * All kitchen utensils, plates, glasses, cutlery * Baby-cot available for free * Central heating in winter (with own thermostat) * Rate from 980,00 euro p/week up * Rates based on 2 persons * Minimum stay: one week * Discount after a month * The innkeepers live at the same premises, one floor apart from their guests * English, French, German, Spanish, Dutch spoken * Gay friendly ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BB10 Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added BB10 Amsterdam to your Saves list