We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Excellent Lunch Time Special” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Estancia Argentinian Grill

La Estancia Argentinian Grill
Reguliersdwarsstraat 86, Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #419 of 2,239 restaurants in Amsterdam
Cuisines: Argentinean
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Bromley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“An Excellent Lunch Time Special”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

My partner and I enjoyed lunch at La Estancia on Sunday, April 20, the last day of our four day visit to Amsterdam We wanted a fairly substantial meal before going to Schipol Airport for an evening flight, and we certainly got that!

Whilst we were browsing the menu in the street outside, a most pleasant lady came out and greeted us and showed us the lunch-time special menu at 20 euros per person. We decided to try it: not only because it represented very good value for money but also because the warmth of her greeting made us feel very welcome. Once inside, we found her husband / partner equally pleasant and they both spoke excellent English and had a very good sense of humour. We were waited on assiduously and made to feel valued customers.

The restaurant was very nice inside; the tables were spotlessly clean as also were the cutlery and glasses. The toilets were also clean and well-appointed.

It was indeed, a very good three-course meal and we both enjoyed it. Theresa had a starter of calamari, followed by charcoal-grilled chicken with potatoes and vegetables and a dessert of profiteroles. I went for the soup (piping hot and plenty of it), Argentinian rump steak (large and medium-cooked to perfection) and an ice-cream dessert. We were both staggered at the sheer volume of food for a total cost of 40 euros (plus a discretionary gratuity). We each had a small beer with our meals and these were, of course, at extra cost, but by no means expensive.

In a city such as Amsterdam, this was outstanding value for money. We were by no means the only customers sampling the lunch-time menu, which is, in itself, a good sign, because there are plenty of alternative establishments to choose from.

Try it, if you can; you shouldn't be disappointed and we intend to return when we re-visit Amsterdam later this year.

Denis and Theresa from London, England.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

92% Recommend
    18
    23
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. Petersburg, Russia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Good food for good money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014 via mobile

Very cozy place with good prices, pictures of couples dancing tango on a wall, nice staff. The restaurant is located close to the central train stTion in historical center. Ideal place to have the lunch or dinner for everybody

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Small restaurant but good set menu”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

We were just passing this small restaurant and was greeted by an Australian guy who worked very hard to attract people into this place as its not that obvious from the road and so many other places nearby. Their 3 course set menu at 20 euros was very good. Choice of starters, mains and dessert. Good food and friendly prompt service.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Bad, bad, bad service, but good food.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

We entered the restaurant at 22.30. The waiter and the waitress were really looking forward to go home and close. Glancing all time at the clock, dressing their jackets while we were still dinnering, they even interruped our dinner and asked the bill to be cashed! That was horribe, we felt very imbassed and we could not enjoy our dinner, eating very fast to go quickly away. Instead of letting us in, I think they just should have said "sorry, we're closed!!!". We got a steak that was very good in taste but extremely rare (I know very well the difference between rare, medium rare and medium), I wonder if also the cook was in a hurry to go home. The bill was 28Eu/pp drinks: water. After this experience we will never go again.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great beef with fantastic service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

Meat quality was top class and the staff were better than excellent. My wife broke a glass and they replaced it and the wine with a smile on their faces. ;)

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Estancia Argentinian Grill also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to La Estancia Argentinian Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Estancia Argentinian Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.