We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Week In Amsterdam” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Armada Hotel

Save Saved
You added Armada Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Armada Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Keizersgracht 713 - 715, 1017 DX Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Rembrandtplein)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #296 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
Write a Review

169 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    8
    33
    50
    33
    45
See reviews for
17
43
15
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belgium
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

I had a room in the building next to the armada hotel. Was very quit and i had a big room with everything you need, tv, decent seat, ect. I even had a bath :). the location is perfect, 2min away from square rembrand. The breakfast in the morning was good,
thanks to the staff!

Room Tip: good hotel and a great location near rembrand. It's Amsterdam, love it or hate it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

i stay two night I armada hotel in September,location is good,room is clean and big,service and breackfast was good.hotel is near center of sity and for this price you can find only hostels and not hotels.am a hotel supervisor in London and I now how much I pay this service I have,ho don't like hotel they need to pay moreeeeeee,because I now hotels sistems and services.this gests who speek hotel is poor and bad,a can tell you something,need comfort and service you NEEED TO PAY.....

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

This is the worst hotel I've ever stayed in.
The room was basic and far too expensive for what it was: tacky and dilapidated, the carpet stained. The elevator isn't available to guests, so I had no joy lugging my suitcase up to the second floor. There is a popular bar next door, and the noise made sleep difficult.
Breakfast was a joke, and not a very funny one. Cheap and nasty.
If this is the only place available when you visit Amsterdam, change your travel plans.

Room Tip: Choose a room in any other hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

We stayed in Armada in early Sept 2013,for 2 nights. and can only say, in our opinion, after 30 years of European and especially Eastern European travels.it is the worst hotel we have ever encountered. Its ONLY good point was its fairly central location.
We had requested a low floor room but were given the 3rd floor attic with no lift which was so small, the bed was at the door. The allnight café/bar attached to the building meant no sleep at all on the 1st night due to the noise,which was intolerable. from people sitting outside, it was as if they were in our room.
2nd night we got a lower room at the back of the hotel which mercifully was quieter at night, but when opening wooden balcony doors we were horrified to see the dangerous rotting condition,
with a broken fire escape leading directly to our room.
This hotel is desperately in need of a complete renovation and refurbishment
The cold buffet breakfast was distinctly average and the staff were as cold and uninteresting as the breakfast.
This was altogether a very expensive but disappointing mini break to Amsterdam and we have never been so glad to return home. The Tourist Board really needs to inspect this hotel, as its not even worthy of 1 star.

Room Tip: Just DONT choose this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

I stayed at this hotel during a conference period in the city when the room rates were artificially enhanced. Room rate £200, total robbery. No Facilities. Broken lift. Had to carry bags to 3rd floor.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Armada Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Armada Hotel

Address: Keizersgracht 713 - 715, 1017 DX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #296 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Armada Hotel 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, HotelsNL, Hotel.de, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Otel and Venere so you can book your Armada Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Armada Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Armada Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.