We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“hotel gives wrong info and makes me pay a room I did not use” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Armada Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Armada Hotel to your Saves list
Armada Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Keizersgracht 713 - 715, 1017 DX Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Canal Ring (Grachtengordel))   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #316 of 355 Hotels in Amsterdam
Leuven, Belgium
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“hotel gives wrong info and makes me pay a room I did not use”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

I booked 2 rooms online but canceled one by telephone. Hotel said this was no problem and that the room was cancelled. Afterwards they did charge it and did not want to work to a solution with me. 165 euros down the drain

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    35
    64
    37
    55
See reviews for
21
50
18
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Cancellation charge would be expected, but to get NOTHING back when cancelling a week in advance is UNACCEPTABLE!
I wrote emails to cancel, tried calling the phones and all with no answer. Had to ask someone I knew who lives in Amsterdam,so he came to shovel em up to reply to my emails. Finally they did and received rather short phrased note that the €118 (!!) tiny room was a "hot deal" and cannot cancel nor change it. At all.
What a disgrace.

Stayed May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Overpriced for what you get, which really isn't very much other than somewhere to sleep.

That's if the noise of people putting bottles into the bottle bank outside doesn't wake you up at 7am.

Which in turn assumes that you managed to sleep on a bed made of blancmange.

It was the last option left.

With hindsight, we'd have been better off sleeping in the car.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bainbridge Island, Washington
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

It is a great location. Right next to the trolley line and a pleasant 15 minute walk to the main art museums. But staff was poorly trained and the rooms were small and had that well worn look. Elevator did not work the entire time that we were there and one of our shower towels has huge gaping holes in it. Breakfast was so-so. Rates were (I assume) market.
So look around and use this place as a backup position.

Room Tip: Get rooms in the back and do not let them put you in the basement.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

This hotel is way highly priced than it's value. We've paid EU130/night, but it's only worth EU50/night. Rooms are small, hall way is old, windows are old and not insulated well. The bath towel are worn out

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

We found the hotel to be good value for money . Our rooms were warm and clean , no problem with the bed or the bedding , and the shower was pretty good . The breakfast was plentifull and lots of variety , the meats and cheese were kept in a chiller , which was constantly topped up and always clean . The staff for us were lovely (even let us print some documents on their printer ), perhaps its the way you treat them as to how they treat you !! Location was perfect . Not sure what people expect from a 2 star hotel . Would definatley stay here again .........

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
ITC Hotel
ITC Hotel
#249 of 355 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 327 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Atlanta Hotel
Atlanta Hotel
#284 of 355 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 325 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hampshire Hotel - Prinsengracht
Hampshire Hotel - Prinsengracht
#174 of 355 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hampshire Hotel - Eden Amsterdam
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Di-Ann
Hotel Di-Ann
#282 of 355 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 497 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Old Quarter
Hotel Old Quarter
#277 of 355 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Armada Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Armada Hotel

Address: Keizersgracht 713 - 715, 1017 DX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel) , Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #316 of 355 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Armada Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, EasyToBook, Odigeo, getaroom.com and Venere so you can book your Armada Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Armada Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Armada Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.