We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Armada Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Armada Hotel to your Saves list
Armada Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Keizersgracht 713 - 715, 1017 DX Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Rembrandtplein)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #301 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Bainbridge Island, Washington
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Great location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

It is a great location. Right next to the trolley line and a pleasant 15 minute walk to the main art museums. But staff was poorly trained and the rooms were small and had that well worn look. Elevator did not work the entire time that we were there and one of our shower towels has huge gaping holes in it. Breakfast was so-so. Rates were (I assume) market.
So look around and use this place as a backup position.

Room Tip: Get rooms in the back and do not let them put you in the basement.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    33
    55
    34
    45
See reviews for
17
45
16
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

This hotel is way highly priced than it's value. We've paid EU130/night, but it's only worth EU50/night. Rooms are small, hall way is old, windows are old and not insulated well. The bath towel are worn out

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

We found the hotel to be good value for money . Our rooms were warm and clean , no problem with the bed or the bedding , and the shower was pretty good . The breakfast was plentifull and lots of variety , the meats and cheese were kept in a chiller , which was constantly topped up and always clean . The staff for us were lovely (even let us print some documents on their printer ), perhaps its the way you treat them as to how they treat you !! Location was perfect . Not sure what people expect from a 2 star hotel . Would definatley stay here again .........

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012 via mobile

It's position is great. I can't argue with that. But it's awful inside. It's not so much grubby but really tatty and tired and miserable. But what is the worst aspect was two very rude men who who booked us in and dealt with the matter of the room door lock not working.
Anyway, bed mattress was stained with urine. The blankets had holes in them.
And i paid 200 Euros for two nights bed and breakfast.

When you go to Amsterdam visit Restaurant RED on the Keizersgracht. Best meal I've ever had! Ever. Beautiful!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We had 2 spacious rooms with very comfortable double beds. I had a large sofa in mine and my colleague had 2 comfy armchairs. The rooms did not match the description on the website of a 12 sq m room each with single beds! Also they were not in the main part of the hotel but in the house next door so to reach the reception and breakfast we had to go out into the elements. Also there was no room service so beds weren't made - which I liked. My colleague had a view of a lovely garden and everything worked in her room. I had problems with the lack of a bath plug and a shower that had no fitting to suspend it off the wall. But it was a very quiet nights sleep in a delightful old Amsterdam house with a view of the canal from our breakfast table. Magic. I'll stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Very dissapointed with the room size, cleanliness, lack of cubboards, tea/coffee facilities in room// I won't go on .... Other than to saty this should be classed as a low grade low budget hotel, the price we paid was way to much for what we got, it was the web site that makes it look nice.. Location was brilliant pity about every thing else ....

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Armada Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Armada Hotel

Address: Keizersgracht 713 - 715, 1017 DX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #301 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Armada Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Otel, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Armada Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Armada Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Armada Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.