We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't stay here. Whatever you do.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Armada Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Armada Hotel to your Saves list
Armada Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Keizersgracht 713 - 715, 1017 DX Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Canal Ring (Grachtengordel))   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #319 of 355 Hotels in Amsterdam
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Don't stay here. Whatever you do.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012 via mobile

It's position is great. I can't argue with that. But it's awful inside. It's not so much grubby but really tatty and tired and miserable. But what is the worst aspect was two very rude men who who booked us in and dealt with the matter of the room door lock not working.
Anyway, bed mattress was stained with urine. The blankets had holes in them.
And i paid 200 Euros for two nights bed and breakfast.

When you go to Amsterdam visit Restaurant RED on the Keizersgracht. Best meal I've ever had! Ever. Beautiful!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    35
    64
    37
    55
See reviews for
21
50
18
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We had 2 spacious rooms with very comfortable double beds. I had a large sofa in mine and my colleague had 2 comfy armchairs. The rooms did not match the description on the website of a 12 sq m room each with single beds! Also they were not in the main part of the hotel but in the house next door so to reach the reception and breakfast we had to go out into the elements. Also there was no room service so beds weren't made - which I liked. My colleague had a view of a lovely garden and everything worked in her room. I had problems with the lack of a bath plug and a shower that had no fitting to suspend it off the wall. But it was a very quiet nights sleep in a delightful old Amsterdam house with a view of the canal from our breakfast table. Magic. I'll stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Very dissapointed with the room size, cleanliness, lack of cubboards, tea/coffee facilities in room// I won't go on .... Other than to saty this should be classed as a low grade low budget hotel, the price we paid was way to much for what we got, it was the web site that makes it look nice.. Location was brilliant pity about every thing else ....

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

I stayed here for 2 nights. The room was very clean, I didn't had any problems like dirty bed or carpet. I had a direct view over the canal. The price was pretty good, lower than other places. The location is also pretty good.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

Nice building, great location, reasonable breakfast included, dirty carpet, dirty bed cover with stains and holes, cheap mattress, ugly blankets. Very old towels

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pau
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

I booked 2 nights during a weekend.
The hotel is perfectly located just a few steps from Rembrandtplein and its Restaurants/Bars/Coffeeshops, and also from Amsterdam Centraal.
There is also a great bar just next door which is pretty cool when you fancy one last drink when you get back to the hotel.
The hotel was quite clean (except the carpets). At least the bathroom and bed are perfectly clean.
If you can, avoid staying on first floor (to avoid lots of noise from the hotel entrance : door banging, drunk english teenagers coming back drunk and loud, cleaners talking very loud in the corridor in the morning).
And if you combine 1st floor + street view, you will just not be able to sleep, unless you are really drunk :-p

Overall I got what I paid for, but next time i would adjust a bit my booking and ask for a quiet room.

Room Tip: try not to get a room on first floor. If you do, not with street view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
ITC Hotel
ITC Hotel
#249 of 355 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 328 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Atlanta Hotel
Atlanta Hotel
#282 of 355 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 326 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hampshire Hotel - Prinsengracht
Hampshire Hotel - Prinsengracht
#177 of 355 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hampshire Hotel - Eden Amsterdam
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Di-Ann
Hotel Di-Ann
#281 of 355 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 500 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Old Quarter
Hotel Old Quarter
#274 of 355 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Armada Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Armada Hotel

Address: Keizersgracht 713 - 715, 1017 DX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel) , Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #319 of 355 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Armada Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, EasyToBook, Odigeo, getaroom.com and Venere so you can book your Armada Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Armada Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Armada Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.