We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing steak, but expensive” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Al Argentino

Al Argentino
Zeedijk 29A, 1012 Amsterdam, The Netherlands
31020 6389340
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,251 of 2,502 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Cuisines: Argentinean
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Amazing steak, but expensive”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013 via mobile

We ate here as menu looked nice and good offer on outside board but it turned out to be double the price.

Great steak but expensive.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    40
    20
    10
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A+ for al Argentino”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

This restaurant was recommended by some friends who had a brilliant meal in 2012 during a trip to Amsterdam. We booked this as our main meal during our weekend break in the city with our sons and their girlfriends. The beef steaks were really good. They also offered a wide selection complete meals at a reasonable price. The service was impeccable and the staff was very friendly. We ended up going back a couple of days later and were just as satisfied then. We will definitely come back next time we are in Amsterdam, which hopefully will be soon as we loved the city! All in all, we highly recommend this place!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
219 helpful votes 219 helpful votes
“Ribs, ribs, ribs”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013 via mobile

We as a group of four we were looking for something to fill a lunch time meal time.
A sign outside the Al Argentino intrigued us.... "Unlimited ribs" ...... So in we went.
The interior was fashioned as I believe represented a ranch with lots of wood and cowhide covered seats.
A very pleasant young lady greeted us and escorted us to a table whilst explaining the unlimited ribs deal. We all decided to have a go at it.
Two of us opted for the salad and chips with ribs while the other two opted for just ribs.
The ribs duly arrived piping hot and smelling wonderfully.
As the first racks of ribs were eaten the young lady inquired as to who would like more; these arrived shortly and were enjoyed as much as the first ones. Only I requested a further portion as the ribs were very very filling and delicious with plenty of meat and a beautiful sauce and I couldn't resist more.
The lady told us that all the steaks and ribs were imported from Argentina and she hailed from Poland. Coffee followed before three of us fancied tasting a coconut flavoured ice cream served in a coconut half shell. At a price of€14.95 per person we all felt it represented value for money. Well recommend to anyone who likes ribs.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Argenti No”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

We were enticed inside by attractive offers on the boards outside, but found that the menus we were given showed prices that were twice as expensive. That combined with the stifling heat, which was as uncomfortable as it was surprising in September, led us to leave with 3 Euros to pay for the tiny bottle of water provided. Not very impressive.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Juicy Steak - Just Perfect!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Came to this Argentinian restaurant looking for steak - and I was satisfied! Got a mid-size Rumpsteak (300g about 20 Euro - maybe it was the 400g but who's counting?). Medium - came cooked on the outside but still juicy on the inside. Perfect! My colleague got the lamb but felt it was a bit dry. Learning point - order the steak in a steakhouse. To be fair, he's not a Beefeater. The house beer is also very nice. Chairs are upholstered in cowhide - the seats are rubbed bare of hairs - points to plenty of satisfied customers. Would definitely go back again next time.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Al Argentino also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Al Argentino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Al Argentino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.