We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food at sensible prices” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rijsel

Rijsel
Marcusstraat 52B, Amsterdam, The Netherlands
020 463 2142
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #153 of 2,578 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Crete
Level Contributor
197 reviews
132 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Great food at sensible prices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

The small but delightful menu at Rijsel provides delicious food at sensible prices. The wine list is also very good and sensibly priced. The atmosphere is very informal and has been mentioned elsewhere on TA the acoustics do provide a fairly noisy environment. Nevertheless a visit is well worth while, the chicken, for which they are justifiably famous, is quite superb. The service is very friendly and efficient. Do book as early in advance as you are able.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    31
    3
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“A Near-perfect Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

Why only " near-perfect " ? Because the tables are VERY close together , and the acoustics make conversation something of a struggle at times .
The food was sensationally good , unpretentious , local and proud of it .
The wine list on its own will ensure my return - plenty of good " Old World " wines , sensibly priced .
The service was unfussy but left nothing to chance - there was always a friendly waitress on hand to answer any question .
Do not allow its distance from a tram route to deter you - it can be reached by a pleasant stroll along the side of the River Amstel , or by Metro .

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
40 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fantasic Wines / Great Foods”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

In Oost, this is definetly one of the best restaurants. The winelist is simply fantastic, the waiters friendly and the food very original. If you're up for great reds and some quality flemish-style meats. This is the place to be. Do reserve like a month in advance if you want a seat.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great service, great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

When you are greeted at the door you know you are in for a good one. Impecable service from knowledgeable staff, great wine menu and simple but well prepared food. Despite its popularity Rijsel keeps being unpretentious and cosy.
And yes, the chicken is delicious, but the side dishes are even better!
The only negative point is that due to the space, it gets really noisy!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
55 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great service, simple menu”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

I loved it here, once through the door of the girls school, being slightly confused as where to go from the lobby I made my way through the curtains into a nice bright buzzy bright room and were welcomed by the owner. Our waitress was lovely, attentive, just the right amount of chattiness and helped us out by explaining the menu in English in full. There are 3 mains, rotisserie chicken, meat, fish and a usually a special or two on the night. The fish soup starter was excellent as was the chicken main which comes accompanied with dressed leaves and potatoes with a really nice mayo! I think 3 courses were 31 euro which is amazing value but obviously service, good wine and a tip will bump that up. Our bill was 82 euro with 2 glasses of wine, 2 soft drinks and an after dinner liquer excl. tip - still great value. I will definitely come here again. One of my best dining experiences in Amsterdam and I have lived here for 3.5 years. Well done!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rijsel also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Rijsel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rijsel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.