We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value hotel in great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Museumzicht

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Museumzicht to your Saves list
Hotel Museumzicht
1.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jan Luijkenstraat 22, 1071 CN Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Museumplein)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #201 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Kingston upon Hull
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Good value hotel in great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2010

Nice character, budget accommodation. Excellent location for many museums also very close to the Vondel park and a major area of bars and eateries. Can be a little noisy with tram stops outside etc but not untypical for a city hotel. You must be able to cope with the typical Amsterdam steep staircases. Staff were freindly and helpful. Breakfast was basic but adequate

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    49
    30
    5
    12
See reviews for
8
41
38
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Darmstadt, Germany
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2010

-This was more or less the cheapest hotel we could find in Amsterdam at the time we booked (around a month before our four night stay over the Whitsun weekend.) However it turned out to be very good value and certainly contributed to an excellent first impression of the city for me, and an enjoyable return for my boyfriend. Quite a long walk from the city centre, this gives some breathing space with Museumplein and the Vondelpark nearby. Many attractions and restaurants are within easy walking distance and as well as the trams and buses, canal boats depart from nearby Singelgracht.

-The 120 year old building has huge character, especially those stairs. There are a total of 80 from the street to the top floor, and around 45 even to the lowest level. They are indeed very narrow so there's no chance to leave in a rush if you see your tram approaching out of the window! Not too much of a problem if you are relatively fit though. The stairs and hall are well decorated with posters and tips on things to see and do.

-Our room was small but practical; twin beds (soft and comfortable) pushed together underneath the attic beams, two chairs, a coffee table, wardrobe and sink. No TV or phone, but if you have as busy holiday as we did, you won't need them! The hotel does offer wi-fi and if you don't bring a laptop, the staff will search things online for you, such as transport routes and the weather forecast. The room's sash window gave adequate ventilation in the mid 20s Celsius weather, but might provide a draught in winter. Noise from the tram stop outside might give you problems if you have trouble sleeping; I wore earplugs on the first night rather than shut the window.

-A sign in reception warned about the risk of mice but I saw no evidence of them, even when I mistakenly left an apple on the floor while out for the day. The room and importantly, the toilet and shower, were both as clean as could be. The latter on the top floor are both small, but I had no problems with them. Make sure you give yourself a few extra minutes in the morning in case they are occupied when you want to use them. Other guests can also cause noise problems tramping up and down the stairs in the early hours, because you're given a front door key so you can come and go whenever you please.

-Breakfast was good: unlimited bread or toast, with a boiled egg, cheese and ham, jams and other spreads, orange juice, and tea or coffee. Certainly enough for a busy day's sightseeing, and all organic/free range. It is not served before 8:30 however. The owner's Jack Russell likes to play ball in the mornings, but if you don't like dogs, she's easy to avoid.

-One piece of important info: the hotel charges 5% on credit cards, TAKE CASH to pay for your room when you arrive.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2010

Because this hotel was one of the least expensive ones I looked at for the weekend we were in Amsterdam, I didn't know what to expect when we got there. We were very pleasantly surprised, however. The hotel is lovely and our room was fantastic. We were in a corner room upstairs and had 3 windows. Sitting up from our bed we could see the I Amsterdam sign and we had nice seats as well so our room was a comfortable place to have an afternoon rest. The breakfast room is decorated with lovely, quirky things and the breakfast itself consisted of fresh tea and coffee, all you can eat toast, preserves and spreads, a slice of ham and cheese and a boiled egg. The bathroom and shower were both clean and sharing was not a problem. We had a great experience and would go back for sure. The one thing is if you are a light sleeper, the trams right outside can be quite noisy, although they are very convenient for getting around. We sleep through anything though so it was not a problem at all.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2010

This was my second time in a year visiting Amsterdam- this time with
my Hubby & Dad visiting from the USA. We originally had tried to book a couple
nights during the popular "Queens Day" celebrations, but sadly, the hotel was
booked up, so we settled for the Sun/Mon preceding the festivities. The hotel
was just as I remembered and I had advised my Dad & Hubby about the steep stairs,
small rooms, loo & shower down the hall etc. but they were still game and were
totally charmed with Jackie the dog and the lovely eclectic breakfast room & cheerful
service. The parking fairies were looking over us when we lucked-out and got a free
spot (Sunday) right in front of the hotel. The next morning we moved the car over to the P+R lot at the Stadium at a SUPER BARGAIN for only 6euros a day including the bus tix to get to & fro.
HIGHLIGHTS of our trip included a visit to the "Artis Zoo" - they let the lemurs run freely around the visitors and they are NOT SHY :) We checked out the local jazz scene, enjoying two nights of shows featuring a FAB musician named Rene van Beeck- he sang, played the flugel horn & upright bass.
ROOMS: We booked the last two available rooms; they were on the top floor and the smallest in the building. They were charming and we didn't mind. There was a sink in each room. The toilet and shower were SUPER small on this floor. I would guess the WC is smaller than the economy class facilities on a budget airline. We managed, and did okay.
After comparing prices in the Amsterdam area, I found that you can NOT GET A BETTER VALUE for your $ than the Hotel Museumzicht in Amsterdam. We are already booking early for next year.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2010

OK given that we didn't want to spend much for a weekend trip in this expensive city.
Location is its best attribute - right next to Van Gogh and Rijks and well connected with trams 2 and 5, but the rest is just marginal. Most rooms come without private bathroom so have to share with the rooms on the floor.... this is still OK.
Rooms are clean and beds are comfy.
One last fact - Under my bed there was a mouse trap with a piece of cheese, and also a box full of poison pills for the rats so... should one go to bed expecting the catch of the night?

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2010

It was a perfect hotel for me regarding location, price, service, cleanliness...but maybe not for everyone.
The staff at reception was friendly and helpful, the room was immaculately clean though not new. I booked a single room with shared bathroom and paid 45 euros for a night, it was one of the low budget accomodation in Amsterdam.
A simple breakfast was included in the price, consisting of a choice of white or brown bread with a selection of jam and nutella, orange juice, an egg, and tea or coffee.
Situated in the historical museum district, the location was just amazing... right in front is the bus stop for the bus to the airport, (which runs frequently) and opposite the road is the Rijkmuseum where you can see many of the Dutch Art Masterpieces.
Restaurants, bars and cafes are only a stop away by tram.
However, I would not recommend this hotel to a traveller wth large/heavy bags or in need of a lift, as the only way to get from the front door to the reception is by climbing up a long narrow staircase. They seemed to have no lifts.
I also do not recommend the shared bathroom on the top floor to anyone who needs space, as they both (shower and the toilet) are the size of a large closet.
I enjoyed this 'traditional Amsterdam house' hotel with warmth and steep stairs, and would like to visit again in the future.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herefordshire
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2010

Interesting hotel with incredibly steep staircase. All a little quirky with unusual furniture and style. Breakfast just fine. Price represented good value for money. Owner fine on advising places to visit etc. but on our leaving day we had to depart at 8.00 a.m. and breakfast was at 8.30. On asking if we could have anything (having paid in advance for b & b) we were simply told 'no'.
A bowl of fruit or perhaps a yoghurt would have been a kind thought and would have helped us to leave the hotel with a lasting good impression - instead we thought 'oh well, they're not much interested'.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Museumzicht? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Museumzicht

Address: Jan Luijkenstraat 22, 1071 CN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museumplein
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #201 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Museumzicht 1*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Museumzicht reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Museumzicht Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Museumzicht, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.