We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hemp Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hemp Hotel
Save
You added Hemp Hotel to your Saves list
Frederiksplein 15, 1017 XK Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Stadsdeel Zuid)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #234 of 356 Hotels in Amsterdam
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

Me and 2 friends stayed in the hotel in august 2013 it was our first time in amsterdam and the hotel was great the room was decent nothing special but we didnt spend much time in there and when we did we were smoking copious amounts of ganja. The room we had was on the 2nd floor on the left of the toilet it had a small fridge, tv shower and sink pretty barebones, but functional. The beds were comfortable and the room was clean which was all we wanted anyway.
In the morning we would head down to the bar for breakfast and a couple of joints before we head out the barman Banta is great to talk to, friendly and helpful with plenty of knowledge about the local area would recommend buying a map almost anyone can help you mark places of interest the best coffeshops, museums or whatever your into and makes for a great souvenir.

In short the hotel was a great choice and would recommend to any Stoner as you can smoke anywhere in the hotel its a great choice the bar provides a nice atmos and alcohol is served. the location is a short walk from the towncentre and is easy to find with a map and you can get a taxi from the airport. on the whole a solid choice

Room Tip: all the rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    9
    9
    5
    4
See reviews for
1
14
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

The HEM Hotel Amsterdam is perfectly located in the centre/west part of Amsterdam, only 5 minutes from the RAI Convention Centre, World Fashion Centre and World Trade Centre. Within 10 minutes you can reach the hotel from Schiphol Airport (there is a paid airport shuttle service from and to Schiphol Airport and the Amsterdam City Centre). In the hotel you will find a cozy bar where they serve an a la carte lunch, a restaurant with a breakfast and diner buffet, meeting rooms and a beautiful indoor garden. Parking is available on site at 10 Euro per day. The tourist attractions in and around Amsterdam can easily be reached by public transport or car. The reception will be pleased to help you to plan an excursion or give all the information required to make your stay unforgettable. All smoking and non-smoking rooms have a private bathroom with shower/toilet, TV, radio, telephone, dressing table, working desk and wireless modem connection. Rooms available with or without airconditioning.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
113 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

This hotel is not for many, unless you want to relive university days. Mattresses on the floor, cats in the hallway, the worn and chipped walls of the room painted with bad scenery, shared (tiny) toilet and the slightly sickly sweet smell of marijuana in the stairwell - which is an almost vertical climb, narrow even by Dutch standards. While breakfast is included, it is - bizarrely - only served from 11am! The hotel is not expensive, but there are better choices for as good value nearby. Many reviews rave about the welcome, but for us it was perfunctory and focused on getting our cash payment on arrival. With windows open there is street noise at night.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

We booked the Hemp Hotel not knowing really what to expect! Soon as we got there the barman(Banta) offered us water, a place to chill whilst our check-in time and all the information we needed to know about Amsterdam!
The rooms were clean and very spot on for the price you pay in central Amsterdam!
However it was the staff and atmosphere that stood out, the help me and my friend received from the staff was unbelievable, we missed our bus and next day didn't even have a booking but we were welcomed to use the wifi and computer in the temple bar! I have never come across such a place with a nice laid back atmosphere and lovely staff! There is also a lovely cat that just adds to the calm atmosphere that at night times is full of cool Amsterdam locals!

Honestly tops all hotels I have ever been! It is what one expects of Amsterdam a calm and lovely place!
5* out of 5!!!

Room Tip: All the rooms are very close to eachother! All above the temple bar which is fantastic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

I've staid 3 times at the HEM in the past 2 years. The Hotel is simple but cheap.The staff is very helpful the rooms are clean. No frills. Internet is free but spotty. Some rooms fit 3 beds in the space usually meant for 1. Don't look for room service or flat screen TV's in your room, Spartan is the key word for the HEM. Pizza parlour in Lobby has great Ribs with spaghetti. They also have a restaurant and bar with pool tables and big screen TV in the basement. Small local shopping mall 5 minutes or less away has bank, pharmacy, grocery, bakery and hardware stores. I always shop here for water, drinks , and other snacks for my room or trips into town. 15 minute walk over the many bridges and you'll find a slew of restaurants and pubs and more Dutch style stores including a great cheese store next to it a wine and spirits vendor .. Less than 10 minute walk to the main street and you take the tram directly into town. I walked it once it took just under an hour.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the back of the hotel are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharjah, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
130 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013 via mobile

You get what they say you will get. My room was nice and clean and different. The staircase is best labeled an adventure. The staff are all as friendly and helpful as they can be. Locals hang out in the bar so you can pick up good local knowledge at night

Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

I was charmed with the place, very comfortably and cozy and personally very agreeable age. When I came I surprised pleasingly that they provide access wifi free. It helped us very much on having planned our days.
Amsterdam is a wonderful city.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#1 of 356 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 1,828 reviews
Artemis Hotel Amsterdam
#165 of 356 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 826 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Van Gogh
Hotel Van Gogh
#134 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
De L'Europe Amsterdam
De L'Europe Amsterdam
#16 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 957 reviews
Centrum
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hemp Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hemp Hotel

Address: Frederiksplein 15, 1017 XK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Stadsdeel Zuid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #234 of 356 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 28

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hemp Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.