We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great little place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Heart of Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Heart of Amsterdam to your Saves list
Heart of Amsterdam
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   Oudezijds Achterburgwal 118/120, 1012 DT Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Red Light District)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #88 of 175 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“great little place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

perfect location within walking distance to station/bars/restaurants/coffee shops...everything!!!

Clean rooms and bathroom, not too big, just perfect...good buffet breakfast (coffee, juices, cold meats, pastries etc etc) and very helpful staff! That's all we needed!!! Will definitely go back and would recommend

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    83
    74
    30
    51
See reviews for
10
15
55
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

The hostel itself was about middle of the road - neither super good nor super bad. The staff was pleasant and helpful and the facilities good though a bit worn. I stayed in an 8-man dorm which was basic but clean and had an ensuite bathroom which was modern and clean. Each pair of beds had a reading light and electrical outlet. If you need a good wifi connection, you will probably not get it here. It is not in the rooms at all and is spotty in the reception area.

For the price, the hostel was good.

The immediate neighborhood was interesting though in many ways a caricature of its past. It doesn't take long to get over the novelty of skimpily clad women in windows framed in red lights. Luckily there are more delightful sights outside the neighborhood that are within an easy walk.

Overall, I would have ho problem with staying there again.

Room Tip: Noise was not a problem but I would ask for a back room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Panama
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

The thing with reviews is that sometimes you review one type of lodging as if you were staying in a five star luxury hotel. This is a hostel, not a hotel. Not even a motel.

This is a place where young people come and stay in groups or with random strangers and make new friends. You won't have valet parking or a concierge desk. There won't be elevators or wine tastings at 5 p.m.

Most of the guests are young people from around the world that are looking for a cheap stay in the middle of the action.

This was my first experience in a "backpacker" hostel and I absolutely loved it! Our party was of 5 so we took a single room with 6 beds for ourselves. The room was simple but clean and comfortable. The bathroom had a good size and we had no problems with our scheduling to use it in the mornings.

We didn't do the breakfast thing, because there are many restaurants and cafes nearby, so that was never an issue.

There is free WiFi only in the lobby area. The location is amazing! You can walk to about anywhere in the Red Light District. The area was busy all day and all night, but it always felt safe.

If staying in an area like this is not your cup of tea, then don't. But it's not the hostel fault. It serves the purpose of those of us that want to enjoy Amsterdam's wicked and playful seduction.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013 via mobile

Hostel was ok. Rooms average size but everything is so loud in rooms and only one bathroom for 8 people to share means showers are a race in the morning or a long wait.
The supposed 'free' breakfast is actually 3€ and probably not worth it again one toaster for whole hostel means by the time you get to toast the bread breakfast is finished.
No helpful info or suggestions from reception.
Was one of he cheapest places and is close to many sex shows, coffee shops, pubs and restaurants but far from night clubs.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McAllen, TX
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

I stayed at The Heart of Amsterdam in 2005 and swore I would never stay ther again. Never say never. I was looking for a room in Amsterdam during a HUGE cardiology convention. This was the only hotel I could get so I dreaded my stay. When I got there EVERYTHING had been changed. All new and clean in the lobby and reception. I was told there had been a change in owners and a renovation. This is a hostel with 14 bed dorms and private rooms for up to 4 people. New, bathrooms, flooring, wall coverings, furniture, EVERYTHING new. And it worked. (last visit, no safe among many other things) Free wi-fi, small breakfast, DVD library all free! Still no phone in room but who needs one in Amsterdam? (If you REALLY need one, you probably have a cell phone like I did.)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

I've stayed in better hostels I've stayed in worst, but for the price I paid and the last minute notice I can't complain one bit. The rooms are great, you get your own private locker, light and power supply which is pretty sweet with the WiFi not being to shabby either. Breakfast was limited but as it was included for free was pretty happy about it. Noisey but what did I expect for the location it was at. Decent.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

We had a private room for 3 people w/private bathroom, nice environment, very clean and close to everything since it is located in the middle of the red light district, highly recomendable... Nice decoration in the rooms......Cheers


  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Heart of Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heart of Amsterdam

Address: Oudezijds Achterburgwal 118/120, 1012 DT Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #88 of 175 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Heart of Amsterdam 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Venere, Hotels.com, Priceline, EasyToBook, HostelBookers, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld and Tingo so you can book your Heart of Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heart Of Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Heart Hotel Amsterdam
Amsterdam Heart Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Heart of Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.