We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Right in red light district” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Heart of Amsterdam

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Heart of Amsterdam to your Saves list
Heart of Amsterdam
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   Oudezijds Achterburgwal 118/120, 1012 DT Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Red Light District)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #87 of 175 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Right in red light district”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013 via mobile

Hostel was ok. Rooms average size but everything is so loud in rooms and only one bathroom for 8 people to share means showers are a race in the morning or a long wait.
The supposed 'free' breakfast is actually 3€ and probably not worth it again one toaster for whole hostel means by the time you get to toast the bread breakfast is finished.
No helpful info or suggestions from reception.
Was one of he cheapest places and is close to many sex shows, coffee shops, pubs and restaurants but far from night clubs.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    83
    74
    30
    51
See reviews for
10
15
55
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
McAllen, TX
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

I stayed at The Heart of Amsterdam in 2005 and swore I would never stay ther again. Never say never. I was looking for a room in Amsterdam during a HUGE cardiology convention. This was the only hotel I could get so I dreaded my stay. When I got there EVERYTHING had been changed. All new and clean in the lobby and reception. I was told there had been a change in owners and a renovation. This is a hostel with 14 bed dorms and private rooms for up to 4 people. New, bathrooms, flooring, wall coverings, furniture, EVERYTHING new. And it worked. (last visit, no safe among many other things) Free wi-fi, small breakfast, DVD library all free! Still no phone in room but who needs one in Amsterdam? (If you REALLY need one, you probably have a cell phone like I did.)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

I've stayed in better hostels I've stayed in worst, but for the price I paid and the last minute notice I can't complain one bit. The rooms are great, you get your own private locker, light and power supply which is pretty sweet with the WiFi not being to shabby either. Breakfast was limited but as it was included for free was pretty happy about it. Noisey but what did I expect for the location it was at. Decent.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

We had a private room for 3 people w/private bathroom, nice environment, very clean and close to everything since it is located in the middle of the red light district, highly recomendable... Nice decoration in the rooms......Cheers


  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

The best thing about this accommodation is its location, right on the red light district you are literally in the heart of Amsterdam. Dam Square is about a 2minute walk from the hotel down the main streets and Central Station is about a 15 minute walk.
Being on the red light district it can be loud at night, we stayed at a weekend so it was especially loud on the Saturday night but it didn't interrupt our sleep- it was more like a background noise than an annoyance. The view from the window was brilliant for people watching, i took to sitting on the safe in the window and watching people barter with the prostitutes in the window. If you want to do the same, I'd request a room at the front.
It was great that you all had a safe each for one deposit. We stayed in a private 4 person room, and it is the second time I've done so. This time we got it at a reduced price which is much more realistic price for what it is as it still essentially a hostel, but it is definitely one of the better ones.

I'd be tempted to be more prepared and book accomm in advance, but I can't really complain as we got this cheaper in the end because we booked so late.

The rooms were clean and we got clean towels daily.

The only downside is the stairs up to room, very narrow and steep, but what can you expect in Amsterdam. Could not fault this hostel at all, & we were extremely happy with our stay.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front of the hotel are nosier, but you get full view of the red light district.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Heart of Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heart of Amsterdam

Address: Oudezijds Achterburgwal 118/120, 1012 DT Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #87 of 175 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Heart of Amsterdam 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Venere, Hotels.com, Priceline, HostelBookers, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Heart of Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heart Of Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Heart Hotel Amsterdam
Amsterdam Heart Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Heart of Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.