We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Midweek” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Heart of Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Heart of Amsterdam to your Saves list
Heart of Amsterdam
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   Oudezijds Achterburgwal 118/120, 1012 DT Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Red Light District (De Wallen))   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #110 of 207 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Waterford, Ireland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Midweek”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights with a group of friends. Staff were very friendly and always happy to help! Great location. Very basic, but you get what you pay for! No communal area to cook and no mirrors in the room - bit of a pain as there were 6 girls in the room! Other than that it was great and I would recommend it!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sojayne29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

369 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Booked 2 nights at £11 a night was on a bottom bunk in a shared 12 bed dormitory comfy bed secure lockers clean shared shower room could not fault it for a good nights sleep perfect if your just looking for a bed only

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tourtastic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

the hotel is located right in the center and that's the only good point.
the rooms are so ugly!
all is dark, there is no light, only a window which you can't open -_-"
our bed was dirty and we had to complain to the reception.
the ceiling seems that falls and there are holes in there.
in the "smoking area" there are work in progress and that's not so funny.
overall for us that we are yung that wasn't a terrible holiday but for older people that is really not advised by me.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank jessica k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

The value for money here is fantastic. Heart of Amsterdam is located right between the Red Light District and there are tons of coffeeshops in the surrounding area. Although the Red Light District is a bit...seedy (to say the least) at night, one only has to walk a few minutes to find decent coffeeshops.

If you are actually going for the RLD then this is the place to stay as it's pretty much in the middle of it.

The rooms are very clean and tidy and we had one for just our friends so I can't comment on it as a hostel as there were no strangers in our room. The beds are comfy and the shower room is great, showers are really good. The rooms are dark/dimly lit though so if you are looking for a place to hang out in this is not it. We mainly used it to sleep and shower so we spent very little time in the rooms.

The breakfast is very varied and pretty decent for the price.

Great hostel to be honest, I recommend.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank E W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Jakarta Raya, Indonesia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

for experience movie theme in every room is fine, but for good rest, you definitely should find another hotel, drunken guess come on go all night, very noisy. Breakfast Menu is very limited. really not worth it.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Uwie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Stadsdoelen
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Vondelpark
Centrum
Flying Pig Downtown
Flying Pig Downtown
#29 of 207 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 966 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
St Christopher's at Winston Hotel
Centrum
Budget Hotel Tourist Inn
Budget Hotel Tourist Inn
#40 of 207 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heart of Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heart of Amsterdam

Address: Oudezijds Achterburgwal 118/120, 1012 DT Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #110 of 207 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2 star — Heart of Amsterdam 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, EasyToBook, Priceline, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Venere, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Heart of Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heart Of Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Heart Hotel Amsterdam
Amsterdam Heart Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing