We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ugly hotel” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Heart of Amsterdam

Save Saved
You added Heart of Amsterdam to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Heart of Amsterdam
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   Oudezijds Achterburgwal 118/120, 1012 DT Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Red Light District)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #85 of 175 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Amsterdam
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“ugly hotel”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

the hotel is located right in the center and that's the only good point.
the rooms are so ugly!
all is dark, there is no light, only a window which you can't open -_-"
our bed was dirty and we had to complain to the reception.
the ceiling seems that falls and there are holes in there.
in the "smoking area" there are work in progress and that's not so funny.
overall for us that we are yung that wasn't a terrible holiday but for older people that is really not advised by me.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    83
    73
    29
    51
See reviews for
10
15
54
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

The value for money here is fantastic. Heart of Amsterdam is located right between the Red Light District and there are tons of coffeeshops in the surrounding area. Although the Red Light District is a bit...seedy (to say the least) at night, one only has to walk a few minutes to find decent coffeeshops.

If you are actually going for the RLD then this is the place to stay as it's pretty much in the middle of it.

The rooms are very clean and tidy and we had one for just our friends so I can't comment on it as a hostel as there were no strangers in our room. The beds are comfy and the shower room is great, showers are really good. The rooms are dark/dimly lit though so if you are looking for a place to hang out in this is not it. We mainly used it to sleep and shower so we spent very little time in the rooms.

The breakfast is very varied and pretty decent for the price.

Great hostel to be honest, I recommend.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Jakarta Raya, Indonesia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

for experience movie theme in every room is fine, but for good rest, you definitely should find another hotel, drunken guess come on go all night, very noisy. Breakfast Menu is very limited. really not worth it.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

We booked a triple room with en-suite bathroom and had the room to ourselves. The place is located right in the Red Light District (note that taxis can't get to the hostel at night cos the road will be closed for pedestrians). The room itself was alright with bunk bed and single. Basic but clean. There's a tv, wifi and individual lockers (you have to pay). The toilet and shower were separate but tiny. The walls were paper thin and noises from the street can last late into the night. Breakfast is provided and consists of bread, cheeses, ham, spreads and cereal. Like many hotels in Amsterdam, there is no elevator and the stairs are a little narrow. Overall it was an ok place.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Location was perfect. Good breakfast. Hostel was not that clean, though. I made the mistake to stay in a 12 bed room. We had people walking in and out all night long. I just think it was too expensive for what that was. Not a good vibe really.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

You get what u pay for, rooms were clean enough, breakfast was included with my deal I would not pay for the breakfast as it was so limited. Everyone seemed nice and helpful will
Be going again next time I go to Amsterdam :)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Heart of Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heart of Amsterdam

Address: Oudezijds Achterburgwal 118/120, 1012 DT Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #85 of 175 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Heart of Amsterdam 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, HostelBookers, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Heart of Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heart Of Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Heart Hotel Amsterdam
Amsterdam Heart Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Heart of Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.