We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor communication and building works” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Heart of Amsterdam

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Heart of Amsterdam to your Saves list
Heart of Amsterdam
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   Oudezijds Achterburgwal 118/120, 1012 DT Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #92 of 190 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Amsterdam
1 review
“Poor communication and building works”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

As soon as we arrived at the hotel, the first thing you noticed was the endless scaffolding surrounding the building. When we checked in our room was sweltering hot and there were men with power tools working just outside the window and on the roof. Naps are not an option in this hotel. Further more, one of our group got put in a 12 person dorm instead of the single room he booked online. When we complained the staff were completly reluctant to take any responsibility or offer any solution/compromise. Other than that, the Hotel is located perfectly and is but a 2 minute walk from the closest coffee shop.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    94
    81
    31
    55
See reviews for
10
15
57
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cruz Das Almas, BA
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

Gests comes of all over the world! The staffs are polites and gives informations with pleasure. This hostel is located in the heart os Amsterdã (like its name said). Excellent localization! Break fast. Computer with internet (this is very good!!!). Good place to put your things (good and big locker).

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

The hostel is rubbish. I changed the hotel after one night sleep.
Everything was poor
The room was rubbish

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012 via mobile

I have stayed at this hostel many times when I have been in Amsterdam. I think it is really nice, but I also only sleep in 8bed rooms.
The showers is not the best ones, but I works. Iits clean and the staff I helpfull.
I recommend this as a middle (Amsterdam) budget.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

Had a recent 2 night stay here recently and as hostels go its good value for money , i can afford the luxury of a high end hotel but prefer hostels as you meet more people and at the end of the day you just need a place to sleep

Good points

Location is the best i have seen 5mins to Dam Sq & 10mins from central station and if your after some action only 1min from a very nice windowgirl :)

large communial area and luggage room if you are leaving later after checkout
staff were very friendly and heard them giving advise to others on attractions etc ( i am a dam veteran so know where to go )

Bad points

as mentioned on here and other sites there is a damp smell in rooms ( lord of the rings room definately ) although this wasnt a major problem , also room was very hot at night but floor standing fan was provided so helped a bit

lockers didnt work , they were electronic ones , although not a problem for me
bunkbed was awkward access for me as was on top and pulling myself up i bent the frame

didnt have breakfast as missed it both mornings i was staying so cannot comment


I read the reviews on here and various other sites and wasnt put off and would stay here again , the negative people are just expecting luxury for a budget price
you gotta remember this is located in the HEART of Amsterdam

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

the hostel was OK the open area and the smoking area is grand nice and clean. but its a hostel not a hotel , we had no windows in our room and found the room damp, every morning when we got up my cigarets were damp and the smell of the room, the bathroom was nice and clean and the beds once there clean am happy.
its great for a cheap party holiday.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

I was here with three friends. We had a room that was meant for four people. It had two sets of bunkbeds. Location really is right in the middle of the red light district. I thought the place was a little overpriced for what it is. Our room was relatively clean--as was our bathroom. Very little service overall (they forgot to give us towels after the first day--but I went to the front desk and got more). Overall we had a great time. If I was here with friends, I would possibly stay here again. I feel though for the price we paid, we might be able to stay at a nicer place.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Heart of Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heart of Amsterdam

Address: Oudezijds Achterburgwal 118/120, 1012 DT Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #92 of 190 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Heart of Amsterdam 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, HostelBookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and EasyToBook so you can book your Heart of Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heart Of Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Heart Hotel Amsterdam
Amsterdam Heart Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Heart of Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.