We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you want real ethiopian food, that's it!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fenan Klein Afrika

Fenan Klein Afrika
Pieter Heijestraat 147, 1054 Amsterdam, The Netherlands
020 4124442
Improve this listing
Ranked #312 of 2,280 restaurants in Amsterdam
Cuisines: African, Ethiopian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“If you want real ethiopian food, that's it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Simply amazing food! When we go we never order from the menu, we just tell the chef\owner to bring whatever he wants and it has never been a disappointment. The price is super reasonable. We have never paid more than 15E per person including drinks. The ambiance is very exotic, super casual. If you are in town and if you like Ethiopian food, this place is a must.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

90% Recommend
    12
    7
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great East Africa food !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Me and my family had a special meal in this little but special cousine restaurant !
A real test of 'ngera with all kind of spicy meat and vegetable food.
With the smile of the waiters and the special test from the kitchen we had a wonderful test of our favorite dishes!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“African in Amsterdam? This is THE place!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

If you a person that likes to try different food in life, this is a nice place to be. One thing: you need to be able to eat with hands!
They have really nice things, the service is fantastic, the price is quite good and the best is that you can eat quite late also (that in Amsterdam is BIG difference!). You can arrive at 22.00 and they are going to serve food without any problem.
I went there many times and always the owner (who is from Eritrea) is with a big smile offering and explaining the things that they have.
Recomendation: try the honey wine, the banana o mango beer combined with the Menu with different options with meat or vegetables. The one with pumpkin is great!
If you don´t like spicy food, try lo let them know because also the "soft" is quite spicy.
Is nice to go with friends also.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best Ethiopian in Amsterdam - and biological as well!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Very tasty biological food, incredibly good value for money, great atmosphere, complemented with a most hospitable host called Jimmy (well this is his Western name; he has an Ethiopian name as well which I have forgotten...) The only Ethiopian in Amsterdam - and probably the rest of the Netherlands if not Europe - with guaranteed no gluten in any of its foods, as Jimmy uses 100% real tef for his 'endjera' (sour pancakes with which one eats Ethiopian food), a crop with no gluten in it that is only grown in Ethiopia. Other restaurants use flour that is more readibly available and much cheaper on the European market. But Jimmy is a perfectionist, and that makes all the difference!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bitola, Republic of Macedonia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very nice food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

It is very small restaurant with few tables in and few on the street but the food was great. You eat with your hands and the food is generally very spicy and hot, but that was just fine with me. I really enjoyed the beef and lamp dishes. Service was good as well. Would recommend it if you are around.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fenan Klein Afrika also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Fenan Klein Afrika? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fenan Klein Afrika, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.