We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sunflower Apartment” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sunhead of 1617

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save Saved
You added Sunhead of 1617 to your Saves list
Sunhead of 1617
Herengracht 152, 1016 BN Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Jordaan)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 307 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
London
1 review
“Sunflower Apartment”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2007

Just got back from a long weekend in Amsterdam staying in the Sunflower Apartment at Sunhead of 1617 on Herengracht.

The apartment is on one of the most beautfiul canals in a great, central location. The hosts are fantastic and easy going and the apartment is very clean, nicely decorated and with stunning views down Herengracht. It's the perfect place for a romantic getaway and we'll never even consider a hotel room again. If you want to do Amsterdam like a local get an apartment - you won't go far wrong with the Sunflower! We'll be back!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

616 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    537
    69
    7
    1
    2
See reviews for
48
343
24
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2007

My wife and I stayed in the yellow narcissus room for 3 nights, the Sunhouse is situated adjacent to a canal and a short walk from city centre, the room is very clean and comfortable,access unfortunately is via 3 very steep flights of stairs and it does over look to the rear of the hotel.Having said that the room is good value for money.The highlight of each of our days was breakfast, the food was varied and of a high quality cooked and served by Carlos a very entertaining host.

Stayed May 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2007

Decided to go to Amsterdam on a last minute whim and Sunhead came highly recommended from another b&b owner - we were not disappointed.

We stayed on Oude Waal, which for us, was perfect. The location felt very safe, right on a canal, immediate walking distance from Nieuwmarkt (lively square lined with some great patios and cafes), and easy walking distance from the rest of the centre. The apartment itself was affordable, clean, and spacious with a nice balcony and furnishings.

We were also greeted by our excellent host, Arno, who was extremely accommodating and helpful to a first timers to the city.

Highly recommend, will definitely be back!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2007

I had never been to Amsterdam before, and got a recommendation for this b&b from a friend who is an old Amsterdam hand. The location turned out to be fantastic: central to everything, an easy walk from the central train station, yet on a quiet and elegant canal road.

I stayed for 6 nights in the yellow room, while two friends stayed in the red room. The rooms are clean and comfortable (although they are up three flights of steep narrow stairs, so if climbing lots of stairs is a problem this is not the place for you). Each room has a very clean, private bathroom and is equipped with a tv, refrigerator and nespresso coffeemaker; the red room my friends stayed in also had a telephone and microwave.

Breakfasts were excellent and hearty, and definitely held us over until dinner. The owners are friendly and very helpful. They accommodated my early-in-the-morning arrival, hauled my luggage up the 3 flights of stairs, prepared breakfast for me earlier than usual on the morning I was leaving, and provided various remedies for my jetlag-insomnia and a traveling companion's illness. All in all, I had a great trip and can happily recommend this place as a convenient, comfortable base from which to explore the city.

  • Liked — location, convenience
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2007

We have just returned from a 3 nights stay at the Sunhead Bed & Breakfast. The weather in Amsterdam was not very good this weekend, but the place we stayed was magnificent. We stayed in the apartment, which was very nice and spacious. The location was perfect - everything in our interest was within walking distance.

Arno and Carlos were the perfect hosts and made a large and delicous breakfast for us (the price-winning goat cheese was very good..).

We would recommend the Sunhead B&B to anyone wanting to stay in Amsterdam.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2007

I loved this place. We stayed for 4 nights. Perfect location, near all the sights. You can walk anywhere. Anne Frank house is just around the corner, train station is just around the corner....red light district - well you get the idea. The hosts were perfect. It felt like home. I only had breakfast one morning but it was fantastic as well. We were in the Red Tulip room. Very very cute. The coffee in the room was very good. Decor very cute and the view was the best.

I highly suggest this place for an authentic Amsterdam Inn.

  • Stayed March 2007, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new orleans, louisiana
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2007

I spent 5 nights at the Sunhead of 1617 B & B in amsterdam with my 17 year old son and it was wonderful - arno and carlos were the most gracious hosts! the room was lovely and quiet, the pitched roof with skylights and the window gave it a feeling of spaciousness - the bed was extremely comfortable for sleeping and - with all the pillows - extremely comfortable for just hanging out - and carlos's breakfasts were incredible (the pictures are a very accurate reflection!) - and, of course, in addition to being a fount of information about various activities, he was fun to talk to in the morning! - the location at herengracht and leliegracht was superb, on the edge of the jordan and easy walking distance to everything while being quiet and residential (which was really appreciated after a day of crowds at the rijksmuseum and in the main squares of the city) - in the evenings we simply ventured forth in the surrounding neighborhood and looked for places filled with locals (coming from new orleans, that seemed the best way to sample the local cuisine - and it was, we had some incredible meals) - anyway, I would highly recommend sunhead to anyone (although, given the steepness of the stairs, perhaps not someone adverse to exercise)

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sunhead of 1617? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunhead of 1617

Address: Herengracht 152, 1016 BN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Jordaan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 307 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunhead of 1617 is located in the heart of the wonderful 17th century canal district. Built in 1617, it is one of the oldest heritage monument buildings of the Herengracht. The Herengracht is the most beautiful and prestigious canal of lovely Amsterdam. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Sunhead of 1617 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunhead Of 1617 Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunhead of 1617, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.