We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A guiet place in Amsterdam” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sunhead of 1617

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Sunhead of 1617 to your Saves list
Sunhead of 1617
Herengracht 152, 1016 BN Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Canal Ring (Grachtengordel))   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 321 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
“A guiet place in Amsterdam”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2010

We stayed at the Yellow Narcissus room for 3 nights - a quiet and beautiful place in the middle of the best and most interesting part of town. The owner Carlos was an excellent host - and he served us af good and healthy breakfast every morning. Carlos is a very talented painter - you must see his wall paintings in the little cozy kitchen full of atmosphere.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

646 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    559
    74
    8
    3
    2
See reviews for
51
363
24
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2010

A great place to stay. Clean and Cozy. Quiet rooms with a great view. Great breakfasts. Low price. Nearby restaurants, cafe, bars, museums and shopping.
Choose this place, you will love it.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2010

I was here the second time and I will always come back when staying in Amsterdam: Great canal view (red room), near train station, great restaurants, walking distance for important sights and city center. The owner is very friendly and helpful and serves a wonderful breakfast in a homely atmosphere. The rooms are furnished and decorated with love. So whenever I visit Amsterdam - either on business or for vacations I will com back!!!!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2010

We stayed in the Apartment Herengracht and loved it. My husband was most impressed by the large, fluffy pillows; something you don't always expect in Europe. I loved the tulips place in our room on our first day as we were sightseeing and the wonderful breakfasts prepared by Carlos. It was also fun to watch the tour boats go by and see everyone take a picture of the beautiful red building. I am sure I can be seen in some of the photos hanging out the apartment window!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2010

The apartment was well furbished and decorated, making our stay the most memorable. We would recommend the apartment to anyone planning to travel to Amsterdam.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2010

Just the most gorgeous place to stay in Amsterdam. Central to all the places of interest, Sunhead provided us with fabulous accomodation and the pleasure of having our host, Carlos, serve the most delicious breakfast and entertaintainment each morning. Although we stayed in the "yellow" room (which was great), we did take a peek at the "red" room, and that will definately be our choice on our next trip to Amsterdam. Offers a beautiful view of the canal and neighbouring buildings which are magnificent. Holidays are always great, but our stay at Sunhead made it soooo much better!! Carlos has created "The Blue Book" - a comprehensive and entertaining guide on where to eat (based on personal experience), what to do and where to do it - really worhtwhile following his advise. Our meal at Graves was probably the best dinner we've ever had.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South-west UK
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2010

Just back from a long weekend in Amsterdam, the first visit for both of us, and can't recommend Sunhead of 1617 highly enough. The location is brilliant, right on the Herengracht (one of the central canals), which means there is lots to do within walking distance, including the Van Gogh Museum and the Rijksmuseum. We didn't need to use public transport at all, but at the same time the area is incredibly peaceful, the only sounds we heard all night were church bells at 11pm and 7am. Great breakfasts, with yogurt and fresh fruit, fresh bread rolls, ham and cheese, were more than enough to set us up for the day. Helpful advice from Carlos meant that we really made the most of our time. He was able to recommend the best Indonesian restaurant in town (and tell us what time to go there to be able to get dinner without a recommendation) and also told us about the Friday evening late-night openings at the Van Gogh museum, which feature music, wine and no crowds (the school parties and coach tours have long gone by 7pm and the museum is open until 10 on Fridays). He was also able to point us in the direction of good canal/walking tours, both perfect introductions for first-time visitors. This local knowledge was invaluable. As well as the location itself, the traditional canalside house (yes, the stairs are steep!) made us feel we were really getting an authentic taste of Amsterdam. Room and ensuite facilities spotless and no tv or phone made the break even more relaxing. Definitely planning to go back!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Clemens Hotel
Clemens Hotel
#27 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 492 reviews
Centrum
Crown Bed & Breakfast
Crown Bed & Breakfast
#22 of 321 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 128 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Keizersgracht Residence
Keizersgracht Residence
#1 of 201 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Tulip of Amsterdam B&B
Tulip of Amsterdam B&B
#13 of 321 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 364 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
B&B Quartier Neuf
B&B Quartier Neuf
#34 of 321 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 69 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
B&B Barangay
B&B Barangay
#17 of 321 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunhead of 1617? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunhead of 1617

Address: Herengracht 152, 1016 BN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 321 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunhead of 1617 is located in the heart of the wonderful 17th century canal district. Built in 1617, it is one of the oldest heritage monument buildings of the Herengracht. The Herengracht is the most beautiful and prestigious canal of lovely Amsterdam. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Sunhead of 1617 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunhead Of 1617 Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunhead of 1617, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.