We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Amsterdam Apartment” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sunhead of 1617

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save Saved
You added Sunhead of 1617 to your Saves list
Sunhead of 1617
Herengracht 152, 1016 BN Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Jordaan)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 306 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Australia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Fantastic Amsterdam Apartment”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2006

We spent four nights in the apartment on the second floor of the Gasthuismolensteen, which is one of the apartments offered on the Sunhead website.

It was absolutely fantastic. We were two adults and one child, and the one bedroom apartment afforded us all the space and amenities we needed. It is in a really old canal side house, with a narrow and steep spiral staircase to reach the apartment. This added to the charm, however, and was easily managed.

The apartment was decorated in a fresh and modern style, and was spotlessly clean. The kitchen was well equiped with microwave, coffee maker, and even a washing machine! The view was fabulous, overlooking the Singel canal. We spent many happy hours simply sitting at the window watching the boats on the canal and trying out all manner of dutch beers obtained from the local supermarket. It was very central, so we could walk to all the local attractions and museums.

Value for money, it could not be beaten. It worked out cheaper than a hotel, and for a family, the convenience of an apartment is invaluable.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

617 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    538
    69
    7
    1
    2
See reviews for
48
344
24
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2006

I have travelled and stayed at many hotels and b&bs around the world and nothing compares to how well Carlos treats his guests the minute you arrive. He is the consumate host and will go above and beyond to make your visit to Amsterdam the most memorable ever! I highly recommend the fresh fruit parfait for breakfast which Carlos makes from scratch every morning.
Now I am happy to say that I have another home away from home when visiting Holland.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2006

My husband and I stayed at the Sunhead in Amsterdam the week of April 23, 2006. This was our first experience in a B&B and it truly was a wonderful time. Carlos is a terrific host. He prepared breakfast each morning with attention to our individual preferences. The yogurt with fruit and nuts along with the smoked salmon omlet were great starts to our day. Carlos tells wonderful stories and he is so expressive! The Sunhead is well maintained and with a high standard for cleanliness. We stayed in the Redroom that has a view of the canal....beautiful and relaxing. We loved our trip to Amsterdam and, when we return for our next visit, we will be staying at the Sunhead.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2006

My partner and I were re-routed several times on our trip from Detroit, Michigan to Amsterdam and in the process our luggage was lost. We arrived at Sunhead about 8 hours late, exhausted and hungry.

Carlos, our gracious host, assured us that the bad cloud would be left outside the door and that the rest of our stay would be wonderful. He then proceeded to stop what he was doing to point out what became our favorite eatery and watering hole, The Prins. It is a favorite to the locals, known for it's fondue and other treats, but very laid back.

Next Carlos provided us with a very personalized map of the city based on the highlights that we wanted to hit. The following morning the breakfast was spectacular: eggs, fresh berries and yogurt, fresh squeezed OJ, bread, cheese, prosciutto, and the best coffee that we found on our ten day tour of Europe.

Carlos then spent the following day at home, waiting for our lost luggage so that we could finish our tour of the city because they couldn't give us a time frame for delivery. The highlight of our trip, though, would have to be the personalized tour of the canals by Roelf, the other host of the Sunhead. He spent almost two hours taking us on a tour of the extensive canals while pointing out all the major (and minor) landmarks. Roelf made us feel as though he was giving a tour to friends, not B&B guests. We would recommend sunhead to our friends, and will stay there when we return.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2006

Ahhh... what a nice surprise to enter such a lovely studio apartment. Calming hues of blue and stylish wooden flooring create a real serene environment to relax after a hard day of site seeing. The perfect abode, fully equipped with kitchen and a lovely dining area. Closely located to all major sites in the city, in a safe and pretty neighbourhood. Well enjoyed by myself and my partner!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2006

Stayed Easter weekend @ The Sunhead. Had the Yellow room, Lovely Attic room, Had everything you need.5 min walk to Dam square,in a lovely area, right on the herengracht canal.Breakfasts were fab.Would highly recomend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2006

How can i describe Sunhead of 1617? In one word, FABULOUS. I am a pediatrician and have been travelling to Europe every year for the past 15 years. I have stayed in all sorts of hotels. Sunhead of 1617 ranks among the nicest hotels i have stayed in. Let me enumerate the reasons why:
1. PRIME LOCATION: 10 minutes walk from the Centraal Station and located in the most pretigious canal in Amsterdam- Herengracht.It is away from the noise of Damrak but all major sites are within 5 to 15 minutes walk from the hotel.
2. SUPERBLY DECORATED ROOMS: The rooms are fantastic. Named after the predominant color (eq. Gold room, Red room etc), each room is tastefully decorated with its own espresso maker and microwave oven or refrigerator. The rooms are a lot more spacious than the other hotels in Amsterdam I have stayed in. The reason I saw more than one room was because we were 3 in my group . Two of us stayed in the Red room and one in the Gold room. In our five days in the hotel , we were likewise upgraded (with no extra charge) to the apartment for two days. The apartment is a full service apartment. It has its own living room , kitchen and dining area with a fantastic view of the Herengracht canal. There are times we prefer staying in the apartment than touring Amsterdam.
3.VERY FRIENDLY SERVICE: The owners , Carlos and Roelf-Jan , are two of the most amiable persons I have met. They are very very friendly and they know all about the going-ons in Amsterdam from art exhibits to the hot clubs. On our departure, Carlos even negotiated for a taxi to take us to Schipol for 22 Euros for 3 people. A trip that according to most guidebooks would have cost us 40 to 50 euros.

So when you go to Amsterdam put Sunhead at the top of your list. IT IS FANTASTIC.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sunhead of 1617? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunhead of 1617

Address: Herengracht 152, 1016 BN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Jordaan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 306 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunhead of 1617 is located in the heart of the wonderful 17th century canal district. Built in 1617, it is one of the oldest heritage monument buildings of the Herengracht. The Herengracht is the most beautiful and prestigious canal of lovely Amsterdam. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Sunhead of 1617 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunhead Of 1617 Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunhead of 1617, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.