We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hosts offering an old canal house on Herengracht” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sunhead of 1617

Save Saved
You added Sunhead of 1617 to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sunhead of 1617
Herengracht 152, 1016 BN Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Jordaan)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 306 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Koh Chang, Thailand
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Great hosts offering an old canal house on Herengracht”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

We only had two nights in Amsterdam and due to a last minute booking, could only get into the Sunhead, an old canal house, for one night.

Roelf-Jan let us drop our baggage off because we were early, after which we went exploring the Jordaan and the Nordermark. On our return they had very kindly put the bags into our room; thankfully because as with any of the canal houses, this one also has a very steep stair case.

Our room was on the second floor overlooking the Herengracht with wooden floors, one exposed brick wall with one of Carlos' trompe l'oeil creations on the wall behind the bed. Tea and coffee facilities are provided, as is a fan, which is probably very welcome in the warmer months.

The en suite shower and toilet was adequately sized with the hand basin inside the room itself. There is a good view of the canal from both windows, but no seating, which would have been more comfortable.

We battled to find anywhere close by for dinner after the venues we selected were either fully booked or closed. With a longer stay we would have found more options we have no doubt.

Breakfast cooked by Carlos and served by Roelf-Jan was very nice, and a time when most guests are all together. There isn’t much space in the breakfast room, but the trompe l'oeil decorations on the wall give a lively and vibrant feel to the room. In fact all the decorations through the house are most interesting and no doubt have many stories to tell.

Unfortunately we only had a short stay and I’m sure would have enjoyed getting to know the hosts and get some tips form them had we been able to stay for longer. The Sunhead clearly has a large following and has been well reported on by many guides.

Room Tip: The Jasmine room with a canal view is lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

614 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    535
    69
    7
    1
    2
See reviews for
48
341
24
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Alpharetta, Georgia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

I was traveling solo for business and had a stopover in Amsterdam for some personal time. I stayed in the Jasmine Room on the second floor, overlooking the canal. This location is fantastic - short walk to all the sights and very quiet on the Herengracht canal. The room was spotless and had everything needed and the bed was comfortable. The breakfasts are delicious and creative. The owners Carlos and Roelf are great hosts and were very helpful in helping me navigate the area. Highly recommend this beautiful B&B and will definitely stay here again the next time I am in Amsterdam!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

A classic Dutch home on a canal. It's a perfect compliment to a great visit.

Centrally located - quiet canal in the Jordan area. Well situated between two major tramways. And, walking distance to all the attractions.

Stayed on the top floor - Tulip Room. Sooo fantastic facing the canal and nice to have a clean, modern bathroom en suite. BEWARE: VERY STEEP STAIRWAY! Typical of the city but not what many are used to. Saying that, don't let a few stairs keep you away from this treasure!!!

Wonderful breakfast each morning and plenty of tips and suggestions to be had. Even purchased our Van Gough tickets while we ate!!

I agree with all the accolades that have come before. I will return to Amsterdam and I will be certain to stay at Sunhead!!

Room Tip: Why would you NOT choose the Tulip Room with the vaulted ceiling facing the canal????!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

We stayed for 2 nights in the Jasmine Room, overlooking the canal. This really is the perfect place to stay. A 15 minutes walk from the station and right in the centre of all the beautiful sights Amsterdam has to offer. Despite being so central, it is incredibly quiet on Herengracht and the double windows blocked out any noise. The bed was super comfy and the room very clean with a new ensuite bathroom. The breakfasts are wonderful and imaginative, smoothie followed by an egg and home-made bread course followed by 'pudding' - fresh fruits, yoghurt and a layer of something yummy on the bottom. Carlos (bonkers) and Roelf (very sweet) are great hosts and deserve to have this rated as a 5-star property. Look no further - book here!!!

Room Tip: Go for Jasmine on the second floor or the larger Tulip Room for views of the canal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

We were a family of 4 (children 14 and 11) and took two rooms on the second floor - Jasmine and Iris. Both were decent sized rooms and came with all the amenities one expects and even some one doesn't. We were very impressed by the brightness of the bedside lights.. The Jasmine room had a glorious view over the canal and was much lighter and brighter. We arrived in the rain and Rolf came out to help carry the bags. He then helped carry them up two steep flights (Steps were a surprise but we got used to them very quickly) Breakfast was delicious and really set us up for a day of sight seeing. The children eagerly awaited the fruit smoothies and loved the fruit pots. Definitely two of your five a day! The location was wonderful. Five minutes from Anne Franks house and walkable to most other places. We did get disturbed a little by the Clock Tower Bells nearby, but telling the children they were hearing exactly what Anne Frank would have heard more than made up for it. Overall we loved our stay in Amsterdam and would definitely return to the Sunhead if we returned to this city.

Room Tip: Go for rooms at the front which overlook the canal. Back rooms are a little dark.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ct
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

We loved Amsterdam, and Sunhead of 1617 B&B was a great place to stay and start our days there. Location was great, quiet residential canal but short walk to Anne Frank House and a variety of restaurants and cafes, and 20 minute walk from the train station (with stops for photo ops).
Carlos' gourmet breakfasts began with a tasteful and energizing fruit smoothie and ended with a fruit cup with yogurt, bracketing a delicious freshly cooked entree each morning. Carlos checked the main ingredients with us for allergies (smoked salmon scrambled with eggs and fresh asparagus tips one morning, a bruschetta with fresh Dutch ham another).
One caveat - as an old Dutch canal house, steps were narrow, winding, and steep. If you have impaired mobility or travel with big bulky luggage, this might not be the best fit for you.

Room Tip: We stayed in Iris room - 2nd floor on back. No canal view, but comfortable with all amenities. Not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

We spent two nights in the İris room for two, and were really impressed with the details of the room (coffee machine, cotton buds and pads, ironing equipments and other little daily needs). It was clean and tidy, with cleaning service every morning.

Carlos was the chef himself, and was really passionate in making us feel welcomed with full course gourmet like breakfast with smoothie, tea or coffee, omelette with a variety of vegetables, fresh bread and jams, a selection of cheese, and daily surprises! Rolf was a sweet and helpful in making sure that everything was proper and we were accommodated as soon as we arrived.

They also had cheaper taxi deals to the airport and good recommendations on places to go and where to visit. We were really impressed and would return to Sunhead of 1617 again! Highly recommended for everyone!

Mei&Zeynep

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sunhead of 1617? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunhead of 1617

Address: Herengracht 152, 1016 BN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Jordaan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 306 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunhead of 1617 is located in the heart of the wonderful 17th century canal district. Built in 1617, it is one of the oldest heritage monument buildings of the Herengracht. The Herengracht is the most beautiful and prestigious canal of lovely Amsterdam. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Sunhead of 1617 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunhead Of 1617 Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunhead of 1617, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;