We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“sunhead of 1617” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sunhead of 1617

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Sunhead of 1617 to your Saves list
Sunhead of 1617
Herengracht 152, 1016 BN Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Canal Ring (Grachtengordel))   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 322 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“sunhead of 1617”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

Amazing! Fantastic position by Herengracht canal and easy to walk around central Amsterdam. A very lovely, comfortable, spotless ensuite room with a view over the canal. Carlos and Roelf are lovely and are seriously some of the best hosts we have come across! The most delicious breakfasts whilst socialising with the other guests and at the same time Carlos can advise on the best places to visit. Wouldn't want to stay anywhere else in Amsterdam now and thoroughly recommend the experience

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

644 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    557
    74
    8
    3
    2
See reviews for
51
362
24
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

We had two lovely nights at Sunhead. Carlos and Roelf were great hosts - friendly, interesting and helpful. The house is so interesting and in an excellent location. We had the Tulip room on the top floor, which was comfortable, with a good view of the canal and very clean. The delicious breakfast beats a hotel meal any day - we certainly hope to return to this B&B.

Room Tip: The Tulip Room is a climb - but worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

My husband and I stayed at this B&B for two nights, but we wish we could have stayed longer! Sunhead of 1617 surpassed all our expectations. The breakfast was beyond amazing, the location was perfect, and the hosts were lovely. We loved chatting with Carlos in the morning over breakfast! We would not hesitate to stay here again.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Jasmine room, and it was completely up to Dutch standards - spotless! It had a beau...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

Great time at this amazing bed & breakfast, certainly lived up to expectations and reviews. We stayed in the Tulip room, an experience of exposed beams, cosy furnishings and interesting decorations, with bonus views of the canal. Carlos and Rolf are excellent hosts and very accommodating, especially helpful with information prior to visit. Both mornings of our stay we looked forward to a delicious, beautifully prepared breakfast, with friendly chats around the grand old table. Well situated for accessibility of city sights. Would love to re-visit.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

This B&B is everything you could wish for, clean, comfortable beds, and centrally located so you can access all the Amsterdam sites. When you read reviews from other travellers you just hope they are accurate. In the case of Sunhead they are more than accurate. I would recommend this B&B to all my friends who visit Amsterdam.
Carlos and Roelf are wonderful hosts, nothing is too much trouble and over breakfast they keep the conversations flowing, always interesting and humerous. The breakfasts prepared by Carlos are wonderful and kept us going all day. I cannot overstate the case this B&B is No.1.
Even the stairs are fun. We will be back.. Tom & Lorna

Room Tip: Book early to avoid disappointment
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

We expected a lot from the Sunhead after reading reviews and it exceeded them, amazing building with such a cosy and nicely decorated and well equipped room with private bathroom. breakfast was incredible and we even got given a take away breakfast when we had to leave early to catch our flight. great hospitality and excellent location, so easy to access all the tourist sites and next to a beautiful canal

Room Tip: they all seem great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HK
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

A very nice B&B perfectly located in the heart of Amsterdam. Rooms are very organized, clean and condusive for relaxing. Breakfast served is truly one of a kind, cooked with so much passion and love; the taste is amazing. Would love to stay here again in my next trip.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Clemens Hotel
Clemens Hotel
#31 of 354 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 463 reviews
Centrum
Crown Bed & Breakfast
Crown Bed & Breakfast
#20 of 322 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 124 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
B&B Barangay
B&B Barangay
#18 of 322 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 747 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Keizersgracht Residence
Keizersgracht Residence
#4 of 195 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 76 reviews
Centrum
Amsterdam At Home Bed & Breakfast
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel IX Amsterdam
Hotel IX Amsterdam
#12 of 322 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunhead of 1617? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunhead of 1617

Address: Herengracht 152, 1016 BN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 322 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunhead of 1617 is located in the heart of the wonderful 17th century canal district. Built in 1617, it is one of the oldest heritage monument buildings of the Herengracht. The Herengracht is the most beautiful and prestigious canal of lovely Amsterdam. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Sunhead of 1617 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunhead Of 1617 Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunhead of 1617, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.