We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great B&B, Great Hosts” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sunhead of 1617

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sunhead of 1617
Save
You added Sunhead of 1617 to your Saves list
Herengracht 152, 1016 BN Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Canal Ring (Grachtengordel))   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 326 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great B&B, Great Hosts”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

This B&B is everything you could wish for, clean, comfortable beds, and centrally located so you can access all the Amsterdam sites. When you read reviews from other travellers you just hope they are accurate. In the case of Sunhead they are more than accurate. I would recommend this B&B to all my friends who visit Amsterdam.
Carlos and Roelf are wonderful hosts, nothing is too much trouble and over breakfast they keep the conversations flowing, always interesting and humerous. The breakfasts prepared by Carlos are wonderful and kept us going all day. I cannot overstate the case this B&B is No.1.
Even the stairs are fun. We will be back.. Tom & Lorna

Room Tip: Book early to avoid disappointment
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TomFairnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

657 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Plymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

We expected a lot from the Sunhead after reading reviews and it exceeded them, amazing building with such a cosy and nicely decorated and well equipped room with private bathroom. breakfast was incredible and we even got given a take away breakfast when we had to leave early to catch our flight. great hospitality and excellent location, so easy to access all the tourist sites and next to a beautiful canal

Room Tip: they all seem great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HK
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

A very nice B&B perfectly located in the heart of Amsterdam. Rooms are very organized, clean and condusive for relaxing. Breakfast served is truly one of a kind, cooked with so much passion and love; the taste is amazing. Would love to stay here again in my next trip.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JKWang1421
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

We stayed at Sunhead B&B for 3 nights in February and loved our stay. Our room was lovely and quirky with a great canal view and exposed beams. The breakfast was delicious with Carlos cooking something different everyday, a lovely smoothie and fruit pot. The location is great too. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ns_40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

Stayed for five nights and found the Tulip Room, breakfast, and owners, all first class. The stairs are a nightmare but they helped by taking our luggage up at the beginning and down at the end of our stay otherwise we may well have had to leave it in the entrance!! But quite an experience and worth the effort for the comfort of the room and the views from the windows. We assume this is what you get in a building nearly 400 years old. Well placed for all of the sights of Amsterdam which are all within walking distance

Room Tip: Only saw the Tulip Room but well recommended
See more room tips
Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank chrisplatt999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
132 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

What a wonderful bed & breakfast and a fantastic alternative to the big chain hotels! Sunhead of 1617 is located in a narrow house right on one of the many canals. A great location! Two of the rooms overlook the canal, but the back rooms are just as nice. The hosts are so warm and friendly. Our family of five took over 3 of the 4 rooms for 3 days. At breakfast the first morning the hosts said the remaining room was not booked during our stay so we were welcome to use the 4th room. Wow! So nice. The rooms are individually decorated, so each has its own cozy personality. My only complaint is the lack of reading lights next to the beds.
Breakfast was a delight. Carlos was very kind to accomodate our gluten free needs. We had eggs with veggies, herbs and/or cheese. Every morning at breakfast we were greeted with fresh smoothies and Rolf took our coffee/tea orders while Carlos prepared breakfast. The final breakfast course was always delicious fresh fruit with fresh cheese. What a fantastic way to start the day! It was such a delight for the 5 of us to enjoy breakfast together each morning. It was like our own private house in the city.
Carlos and Rolf were great at helping us plan our day and called a cab on our last morning. They really seem to enjoy being hosts and it makes the inn all the better.
The location was great. Amsterdam is a great walking city. We had a great time venturing off each morning navigating the canals and bridges.

Room Tip: The two front rooms overlook the canal. The stairs are very narrow.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank livetotravel09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Busan, South Korea
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

Me and my friend stayed at Sunhead1617 for 3 nights and we had the perfect holiday. It has a delightful room, very comfortable. Everything is provided, from shampoo and conditioner, tea and Nespresso machine. And the breakfast? it was EXCELLENT. We had a wonderful stay at Sunhead and I am confident it will not the last.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JPark0321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#1 of 357 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 2,030 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#18 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 266 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Estherea
Hotel Estherea
#12 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 3,080 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Sebastian's
Hotel Sebastian's
#5 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 1,002 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#3 of 357 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 228 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Clemens Hotel
Clemens Hotel
#24 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunhead of 1617? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunhead of 1617

Address: Herengracht 152, 1016 BN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 326 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunhead of 1617 is located in the heart of the wonderful 17th century canal district. Built in 1617, it is one of the oldest heritage monument buildings of the Herengracht. The Herengracht is the most beautiful and prestigious canal of lovely Amsterdam. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sunhead Of 1617 Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing