We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful bed and breakfast!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sunhead of 1617

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Sunhead of 1617 to your Saves list
Sunhead of 1617
Herengracht 152, 1016 BN Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Jordaan)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 306 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Chicago, IL
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Wonderful bed and breakfast!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

What a wonderful bed & breakfast and a fantastic alternative to the big chain hotels! Sunhead of 1617 is located in a narrow house right on one of the many canals. A great location! Two of the rooms overlook the canal, but the back rooms are just as nice. The hosts are so warm and friendly. Our family of five took over 3 of the 4 rooms for 3 days. At breakfast the first morning the hosts said the remaining room was not booked during our stay so we were welcome to use the 4th room. Wow! So nice. The rooms are individually decorated, so each has its own cozy personality. My only complaint is the lack of reading lights next to the beds.
Breakfast was a delight. Carlos was very kind to accomodate our gluten free needs. We had eggs with veggies, herbs and/or cheese. Every morning at breakfast we were greeted with fresh smoothies and Rolf took our coffee/tea orders while Carlos prepared breakfast. The final breakfast course was always delicious fresh fruit with fresh cheese. What a fantastic way to start the day! It was such a delight for the 5 of us to enjoy breakfast together each morning. It was like our own private house in the city.
Carlos and Rolf were great at helping us plan our day and called a cab on our last morning. They really seem to enjoy being hosts and it makes the inn all the better.
The location was great. Amsterdam is a great walking city. We had a great time venturing off each morning navigating the canals and bridges.

Room Tip: The two front rooms overlook the canal. The stairs are very narrow.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

621 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    541
    69
    7
    2
    2
See reviews for
50
345
24
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Busan, South Korea
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

Me and my friend stayed at Sunhead1617 for 3 nights and we had the perfect holiday. It has a delightful room, very comfortable. Everything is provided, from shampoo and conditioner, tea and Nespresso machine. And the breakfast? it was EXCELLENT. We had a wonderful stay at Sunhead and I am confident it will not the last.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

We are a family of four from Singapore and we stayed at Sun Head in December 2013 on way back from Ecuador. Having had an average stay at Amsterdam from an earlier working trip, my wife did the research and uncovered this place. First, hosts Carlos and Rolf were all attentive, warm and friendly. The location was great - walking distance to Albertsein supermarket, the Dam Square, Anne Frank Museum, among others. On breakfast, Carlos dishes up great stuff, not to mention about speaking about this passion while doing so. Overall, we found the place very cosy for our two kids and ourselves. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: The rooms with the Canal view are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

We was at the Sun Head way back in 2004-2005, it was awsome place to stay, and Mr. Carlos he,s very good cook ,the breakfast was better then the hilton, no lie very health and colorful breakfast. We also stayed at there apartment they had/have it was maybe 200-300 meters down the road and its was a super place to stay. you will always feel like you at home when you stay at the Sun Head. We hope to stay there this summer.

Room Tip: When you stay at hotels, or B&B IN Amsterdam bring a small suit case, the spiral stair case will...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

My husband and I had a lovely 2 nights here. Our hosts were delightful and generous. Its located in the best part of town with shops, cafe's and restaurants very close by. Our room had a spectacular view of the canal and street. No TV in room, so if you need this bring some movies on yr ipad or laptop... The stairs are very steep so if you can't do stairs (and plenty of them) beware. Room was lovely and spacious. Nespresso machine in our room was a bonus. Breakfast was a highlight! Carlos is a bit of a chef. And you won't be hungry before 3pm :) I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Choose the tulip room. Best view ;)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

my boyfriend and i stayed in sunhead two weeks ago for 4 nights, our stay was really great. When we arrived the host are very friendly he discussed all the attractions in amsterdam. The room was so clean and tidy, but the best thing that i really love is their world class breakfast. The location is perfect it is in the hearth of amsterdam. So if ever i comeback to amsterdam i definetly stay with Sunhead. It was an amazing stay at Sunhead. Thanks for the generosity and kindness of the host Mr. Carlos.....

susan tan

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renfrew, Scotland, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

My boyfriend booked me a surprise weekend in Amsterdam for my 30th birthday at the end of November. We stayed in the Jasmine room which was perfect, with big windows and a view of the beautiful Herengracht canal. The building is lovely inside and out, as well as being perfectly located, within walking distance to all the sights. Although the street is central, it isn't noisy outside and is surprisingly peaceful, though the church bells can be heard in the morning.

The hosts were very friendly and helpful with directions and pointing out good places to go. Carlos does do a lovely breakfast that will set you up for a day of exploring stunning Amsterdam.

I have no complaints about Sunhead of 1617 other than I wish we got to stay longer.
If you want somewhere special to stay, book now!

Room Tip: Jasmine room has lovely big windows which open out to a view of the canal. The room also smells rea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sunhead of 1617? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunhead of 1617

Address: Herengracht 152, 1016 BN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Jordaan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 306 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunhead of 1617 is located in the heart of the wonderful 17th century canal district. Built in 1617, it is one of the oldest heritage monument buildings of the Herengracht. The Herengracht is the most beautiful and prestigious canal of lovely Amsterdam. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Sunhead of 1617 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunhead Of 1617 Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunhead of 1617, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.