We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sunhead of 1617

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sunhead of 1617
Herengracht 152, Amsterdam 1016 BN, The Netherlands (Jordaan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 301 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
orangeville
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Spent 4 nights here in September 2013. Perfect location for exploring the sites and getting a real feel for the city. Beautiful accommodations and setting not to mention the great breakfasts accompanied by a superb chef and conversationalists. Very close to some nearby restaurants for local cuisine, reasonable and tasty, Bi jons and the Pancake Bakery, a must on your to do list, to avoid some higher end eateries. Would definitely return to Sunhead on a future trip to Amsterdam!
Norm and Erika Canada

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

605 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    528
    67
    7
    1
    2
See reviews for
48
336
23
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bordeaux, France
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

perfect location, splendid bedroom and wonderful breakfast. But the best is the kindliness of Carlos and Jan. You start the day with happiness after such a breakfast : all is fresh, prepared and cooked in front of you. It was really a great pleasure and has contributed to the success of our stay in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

We had a wonderful time in Amsterdam and staying at Sunhead made our three days there even more enjoyable than we had hoped. Sunhead is inviting from the front steps to the top floor. Carlos and Jan are perfect hosts. The breakfast drinks prepared by Jan started our days with a zing. Carlos is the cook and what a cook he is. Each morning, he delighted us with a new taste treat and lively conversation. Our room was at the top of the stairs. They are steep but led to our own cozy little hideaway. Sunhead's location is near the Anne Frank House and canal boats. We hope to return to Amsterdam and we will surely stay at Sunhead.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, UK
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

We have just returned from a 3 night stay at the fabulous Sunhead B&B and what a delight it was. Carlos and Roelf are brilliant hosts and the breakfasts are as good as all the reviews have mentioned. It feels like you are welcomed guests and not paying customers.

The location is perfect. Everything is in walking distance and it is so peaceful overlooking the Heregracht.

Our room (the Tulip at the top of the house, yes the stairs are narrow but the townhouses are built that way) was beautifully appointed. It had all you need: comfy bed, immaculately clean bathroom and even a coffee machine; there is nothing more you would need.

All I can say is that you'd be mad to stay anywhere else.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013 via mobile

Had a great stay in SunHead! As reviews state, the hosts are fantastic, as are the breakfasts. Room and bathroom was spotless. From the outside this building is the nicest on the whole street, and is in a great location. If I ever go back to Ansterdam, this is where I will be staying.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the sunhead over the weekend. Carlos and Jan are wonderful hosts. Carlos is a whizz in the kitchen, our breakfast was the best we've tasted in a hotel or b&b. Will definitely be coming back to Amsterdam and staying at the sunhead.
Thanks again for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

I know...it's Amsterdam, we booked our best deal through KLM because of the extra room in my seat..KLM arrives and leaves from Amsterdam so almost as an after thought we researched places to stay for a few days in Amsterdam through Trip Advisor and other travel sites and I'm glad we did...it became clear that people enjoyed Sunhead of 1617 BnB...a lot....and I now know why...
After a lovely 3 weeks walking Italy's mountain towns and Lake towns where we spent most of our time walking uphill, we liked Amsterdams pleasently flat and easily navagatable streets...in fact our host Carlos encouraged us to try walking from the Central Train Station and gave perfect directions and even more options...our correspondence started with e-mails and we enjoyed Carlos's sense of humor as we made arrangements to stay....Both he and his partner Roelf run an exceptional business right in the heart of Amsterdam...Since we stayed 3 days we realized how convenient Sunhead is....we literally walked a lovely 20 minute easily followed path from the station and the visuals were a great way to see the beautiful buildings and structure of Amsterdam...we were able to stroll around the CENTRAL and see a great deal of what is a very nice city...We live in S.F. and find this city easy to plot out with day walks and art to see and Canals to ride on...all within an easy stroll..so, we did all those things...our favorite is the Van Gogh Museum,really worth it..and the Canal day pass was just right..after a 4 hour tour of the Van Gough one day .. The next day we lazed through the canals all afternoon and it was easy to go from tour to tour....a floating Chinese Restaurant in the Harbor...made us smile...among the new looking Amsterdam buildings it has a place in the skyline
So as we got to know Carlos and Roelf they were very helpful and gave good advise for how and when' to plan to see the Van Gogh for instance, don't forget to book ahead, here is how you do that...To me, a self planned trip, while frustrating at times is always made easier and better when your hosts understand and help you plan a good experience...there are a lot of uncertainties in travel...that's why we do it...but Sunhead made us feel we had made the right choice about where to stay.
We stayed in the Tulip Room on the top floor of the building...was it a tight staircase? You bet your tootsies it was a tight staircase...but we understood what to expect from Carlos and put everything we would need in one suitcase and I took my time and it is fine...I think it should be noted there is no elevator...but hell I'm 66 and it was doable....the pluses far outweigh that challenge...Carlos let us keep our second bag downstairs for the whole stay...another headache avoided...we spent our last night in the Jasmine room and when the room was ready The houseman kindly brought the bag down to our new room..
The Rooms...1617 is a long time ago...and buildings here are narrow and deep from those days...but Carlos has made the Tulip Room an exquisite piece of art...high beams he painted himself add character to the attic style roof...at first I did not notice the pieces he selected to decorate this room...elegant and strong at the same time...we had a couch, a chair a large window to watch the Canal right outside and the room had all we needed...space, comfortable bed, clean and efficient bathroom, enough soft lighting to light the whole space...it is a lovely room and we got the feel of Old Amsterdam...The Jasmine Room, while not as dramatic is one floor below and has a more active street view, meaning we could watch all the folks as they made their way around town...and watch all.the Canal action as well...again, Carlos has made a lovely space with his own wall painting and colorful style....we preferred the Tulip Room and Roelf mentioned they are working on combining the two top floor rooms into a Tulip Suite....that would be awesome...front and back views, more space, a really nice place to spend time in Amsterdam
The breakfast area, while small...is not made to accommodate large groups..however every morning we all looked forward to a most delicious and lively breakfast...we shared the room with 2 other couples during our stay...and we giggled like kids talking about our adventures in the city...the guys were there with warm roles, a great "waker- upper" smoothie of fresh fruit and fresh ginger...I loved that...then coffee or tea with...scrambled eggs with bacon or salmon...just great, easily the best "provided" breakfast we had on our trip and we stayed at about 10 different places across Italy....everyday was a different creation from the small but efficient kitchen and we sat and enjoyed sharing stories with our fellow travelers which is always fun for me..and in the intimate atmosphere it is easy to spend your morning gabbing and talking story with Carlos and Roelf...
So when it came time to trekk the streets for food and culture...with good advice we found it easy to walk, easy to find our way...most Dutch speak better English than I do...I know two other couples from Hawaii we could share a stay with at his BnB...they will love this place

Again, on the business end...helpful and efficient...we asked them for help with an early morning cab to maybe the train station and then train to the airport...Carlos good naturedly chastised us saying we earned a cab to the airport...Spring for the ride...and actually I'm glad we did ...it rained that morning so for 30 eoro we got the the airport in time to get our boarding passes, go to the gate to see what was up..and have an early snack...Carlos had a smoothie and a warm panini for each of us when we left yesterday and it smelled so good we eat that for breakfast..in the airport..looking forward to having a reason to be there again..
Thanks guys, always, M and J

Room Tip: Two folks can be comfortable in Tulip or Jasmine Room...if stairs are an issue I would stay one floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sunhead of 1617? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunhead of 1617

Address: Herengracht 152, Amsterdam 1016 BN, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Jordaan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 301 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunhead of 1617 is located in the heart of the wonderful 17th century canal district. Built in 1617, it is one of the oldest heritage monument buildings of the Herengracht. The Herengracht is the most beautiful and prestigious canal of lovely Amsterdam. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sunhead Of 1617 Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunhead of 1617, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Sunhead of 1617 to your Saves list