We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely b&b, fantastic location.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sunhead of 1617

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sunhead of 1617
Herengracht 152, Amsterdam 1016 BN, The Netherlands (Jordaan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 301 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Lovely b&b, fantastic location.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

My boyfriend and I are a young couple that decided to take a mid week break to Amsterdam. We wanted a location that was out of the way of the noise and traffic and touristy areas yet still in walking distance of everything, and that is what we got! The room was very cosy and quiet, with high wooden beams and all the facilities you could want. The breakfasts were extraordinary, every morning with a selection of pastries, scrambled eggs with tomatoes and wild mushrooms, paninis and a smoothie with a hint of ginger were very tasty. To top it off we also had fruit with a homemade mango whipped cream! We were often not needing more food until the late afternoon. The owners were very good hosts with great conversation in the mornings and were happy to give you any advice you wanted about what to do in Amsterdam.
Overall I was extremely pleased with our choice, I would definetly stay here the next time we visit the city.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Litoyc, Owner at Sunhead of 1617, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Wow, what a beautiful write up! You make us happy and this is what we do it for. When we bought this house we were not even aware that its location is so quiet. We are in the heart of town but even on Queens Day (soon to be Kings Day) it is quiet in our little neighbourhood.
Thank you for your kind words! Carlos and Roelf-Jan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

605 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    528
    67
    7
    1
    2
See reviews for
48
336
23
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This was our second stay in this superb B&B . A great location which is made better by the excellent attention to detail and decoration of the bedrooms, followed by one of the best breakfasts ever. Carlos and Roelf provide an exceptional warm welcome and are great ambassadors for Amsterdam -always on hand to give advice on the cultural highlights and directions to the best local markets and cafes. Highly recommended. Gary , Karen , Emily and Rosie , Glasgow.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Litoyc, Owner at Sunhead of 1617, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Thank you so much for this wonderful review! We love to see your family any day soon again. Hope that all of you are very well. Warm regards, Roelf-Jan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our first visit to Amsterdam and were delighted by our choice of Sunhead of 1617 ~ B and Delicious Breakfast.
Conveniently situated on one of the quiter canals, we found ourselves within walking or boat ride distance from everywhere we wanted to visit. Carlos and Roelf couldn't have been more welcoming or helpful with advice and tips of what to do and where to go.
The room was quiet, spotlessly clean and well equipped. The wonderful and truly delicious breakfasts set us up for a day's walking and exploring.
We are already planning a return visit next year!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Litoyc, Owner at Sunhead of 1617, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Thank you for your kind words. It is a great support for us to continue as we do! It is a pity the weather was so bad when you were here. Now it is finally getting a little bit better!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Wonderfully located, in one of the best areas of the city and at short walk from the centre and the Central Station; rooms are extremely nice and clean, just as cosy and typical as you'd like them to be. The homemade delicious breakfast is the perfect way to start your day in the city. Besides, the kindness and helpfulness of the owner is absolutely a plus. Definitely the place to stay in Amsterdam!

Luca & Anna

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Litoyc, Owner at Sunhead of 1617, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Thank you for your beautiful review! This makes our day and it is our aim to have only happy guests. Fortunately Carlos is a born host. After all those years he still loves to welcome our guests and to serve a wonderful breakfast. Isn't that lucky.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

My husband and I stayed for 4 nights over the Easter break and did not want to come home!

This B&B is in the perfect location, a quiet street on a canal but only a few minutes walk in any direction to the many sights of Amsterdam.

We stayed in the Tulip Room at the very top of the house at the front with lovely views up and down the canal, the room has a ensuite shower room, large wardrobe, plenty of seating, a fridge and tea and coffee making facilities which were perfect after a long day sightseeing. The rooms was clean and tidy and the glasses, cups and towels were changed as required.

The stairs are steep as some reviews have said but the house was built in 1617 and very much a typical Amsterdam house, there are handrails all of the way up should you need extra support but the room and the views more than made up for the climb!

Now the best bit - Carlos and his breakfasts! Crossaints and rolls with a selection of jams and spreads, followed by a fresh smoothie, tea and coffee and then a cooked breakfast of either scambled eggs with salmon, asparagus, spinach and mushrooms or bruscetta with ham, egg, apple and tomatoes - everything cooked perfectly with fabulous service.

Carlos was the perfect host, attentive, funny and knowledgeable giving tips on places to go and how best to get there which was very helpful. We couldn't have asked for a better place to stay and wouldn't hesitate to go back.

Room Tip: The Tulip Room at the top of the house has great views along the canal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Litoyc, Owner at Sunhead of 1617, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Thank you for this dream review. Carlos is so happy with your compliments on his breakfast. And he keeps on looking for new things to serve. Blini's will be the next thing, I believe. Blini's are those tiny pancakes served with caviar and sour cream. And Carlos found a non alcholic sparkling white 'wine" made of pear. Too delicious! Thanks again for your warm words. That is what we do it for.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverly, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Scenic view overlooking canal, very clean and excellent breakfast and charming hosts. Could not ask for anything better. Very good location. Hosts are very accommodating to all of dietary needs. They know the area well and can give great travel advice.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Litoyc, Manager at Sunhead of 1617, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Thank you for your kind words. When we think we know the area always something new pops up. It is very bristling around our house at the moment, certainly in the Nine Street Area. Thanks for your review. We do it for that.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

My sister and I stay at B&B's all the time in the US and Europe and this by far has been our favorite! In addition to fantastic service, Sunhead is centrally located in a charming neighborhood along a picturesque canal. We stayed in the beautiful Jasmine Room overlooking the canal. The charming bedroom was clean, spacious, and the bed was very comfortable.

Our favorite part about staying at Sunhead of 1617 was the breakfast. In addition to coffee, smoothies, croissants, toasted rolls, and jams, Carlos whips up fantastic eggs with smoked salmon, spinach, pasta, and more. As others have said, breakfast is paired with Carlos providing entertaining and hilarious stories. He's lucky I didn't spit out my espresso from laughing so hard! We would recommend this beautiful B&B with hospitable hosts to anyone!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Litoyc, Owner at Sunhead of 1617, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Thank you for your kind words! It is a pleasure to have happy guests! Now we make it our hobby to go and eat in all the restaurants around us to judge if they are good enough for our guests. We may grow a bit heavier but then, on the other hand, we have our famous stairs for exercise. Warm regards, Carlos and Roelf-Jan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sunhead of 1617? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunhead of 1617

Address: Herengracht 152, Amsterdam 1016 BN, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Jordaan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 301 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunhead of 1617 is located in the heart of the wonderful 17th century canal district. Built in 1617, it is one of the oldest heritage monument buildings of the Herengracht. The Herengracht is the most beautiful and prestigious canal of lovely Amsterdam. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sunhead Of 1617 Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunhead of 1617, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Sunhead of 1617 to your Saves list