We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sunhead Amsterdam” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sunhead of 1617

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Sunhead of 1617 to your Saves list
Sunhead of 1617
Herengracht 152, 1016 BN Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Jordaan)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 307 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Calgary, Canada
1 review
“Sunhead Amsterdam”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Thanks to Carlos for being a great host in our recent stay in Amsterdam. The accommodations are great (just be aware of the steep, but navigable stairs, especially to the top floor!!) but the highlights were the great breakfasts and excellent tour advice. Both Carlos and the other guests were very helpful.

Location is very convenient and makes for great walking access to many great attractions.

Room Tip: Back room was fine, although no view of the canal
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

625 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    545
    69
    7
    2
    2
See reviews for
50
349
24
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

We recently spent a wonderful week in Amsterdam, staying at Sunhead 1617. Carlos and Roelf-Jan are wonderful hosts, convivial, accommodating and ready to go the extra mile. The breakfasts are to die for! Great location, chic decor and good company.

We were sorry to leave!

Judy and Ernie

Room Tip: We had a canal view on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012 via mobile

A perfect weekend away- great location, delightful room and Carlos does a fine breakfast. This was our second visit and we would happily return again. All in all this is a lovely place to stay when in a lovely city.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Aside from the B&B that Carlos and Roelf-Jan have, they also have apartments. My girlfriend and I stayed at the apartment located at Singel street.

Location: It is conveniently located at the center of the city. A quick walk to the North-East is the Dam Square and the Red Light District (De Wallen). This is also the direction of the Amsterdam Central Train Station. A short walk to the South-West is towards the Leidseplein Square. There are a lot of restaurants, bars, and clubs here.

Cleanliness: The apartment is very clean. You could walk barefoot.

Amenities: The living room has a TV, table, chairs, and a couch. The kitchen has a fridge, electric kettle, microwave oven, and a Nespresso. Tea, coffee, sugar, cream, and Nespresso capsules are also supplied. The toilet is supplied with common items like shampoo, shower gel, toilet paper, etc. The bedroom is cozy. It has a king size bed.The closet has a hair dryer, iron, ironing board, and extra duvet and pillows.

Value: It's like a hotel but more value for the money. It makes you feel like it's your home away from home.

Carlos and Roelf-Jan made our stay in Amsterdam memorable. When in Amsterdam, stay at Sunhead!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

What a wonderful B&B! We arrived quite early for check-in and was warmly welcomed by Carlos. We immediately felt at home! While Carlos attended to breakfast we were entertained by "Her Majesty" the cat.
The room we had was small, cozy and eclectically decorated. Being aware of the sizes of most European rooms it was more than adequate for our needs. It was always kept clean and we had fresh towels every day. In the mornings, we enjoyed Carlos' famous delicious breakfast and Roelf-Jan's coffee. If you don't watch it, you'll spend the whole morning chatting with Carlos! Such warm and entertaining hosts!
Location wise, it's a 5 minute tram ride away from Centraal Station but hubby and I decided to stretch our legs and just walk it having been sitting on a plane for 12 hours. What should have been a 15 minute walk turned into a 30 minute scenic walk as we couldn't stop taking pictures along the way! What a beautiful place!
We will definitely stay here when we visit Amsterdam again and we'll surely recommend this lovely B&B to family and friends. Thanks, Carlos and Roelf-Jan! You made our Amsterdam trip extra memorable!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Having traveled in many different countries, there are not too many places that I would give an 5 star rating with no reservations, but, alas, this is one for sure. We stayed in the Jasmine room overlooking the canal. A beautiful room and spacious enough to handle our bags (we were travelling for two weeks, so had a lot). The location is perfect for those who just want to walk everywhere and enjoy the inner city as everything is within a few kms. The breakfast is simply perfect consisting of freshly squeezed orange juice, smoothie, eggs, and wonderful croissants/bread. As often mentioned in these reviews, both owners are wonderful hosts and eager to assist as you need. Carlos is quite a character and provides a very entertaining banter at breakfast. In terms of value, you can't beat the location, decor, and the amazing breakfast. WIFI is free and a very good speed. You will not be disappointed, guaranteed.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hadera, Israel
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Sunhead B&B is the best accommodation i was ever stayed you will not find there TV or SPA or lift, but you will get good value to your money!

Carlos&Rufian are fantastic hosts!at your first step inside you feel like home. excellent rooms, clean, comfortable bed. perfect breakfast with fresh food. perfect location.

in your next trip to Amsterdam do not hesitate! book SUNHEAD B&B

Room Tip: ask the rooms with canal view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sunhead of 1617? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunhead of 1617

Address: Herengracht 152, 1016 BN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Jordaan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 307 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunhead of 1617 is located in the heart of the wonderful 17th century canal district. Built in 1617, it is one of the oldest heritage monument buildings of the Herengracht. The Herengracht is the most beautiful and prestigious canal of lovely Amsterdam. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Sunhead of 1617 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunhead Of 1617 Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunhead of 1617, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.