We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“At home in Amsterdam” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sunhead of 1617

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save Saved
You added Sunhead of 1617 to your Saves list
Sunhead of 1617
Herengracht 152, 1016 BN Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Jordaan)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 306 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Seattle
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“At home in Amsterdam”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

This was our third visit to Amsterdam and our first stay at the Sunhead of 1617. We could not have been happier with our choice.

Carlos and Roelf-Jan were wonderful hosts who were happy to share their obvious love for their city. Our room--the Tulip room--overlooked the canal and offered both charm and comfort. Making guest rooms for the modern traveler fit into classic buildings can understandably be a challenge, but we appreciated the thoughtful and creative use of space that resulted in a thoroughly comfortable accommodation. Nothing felt cramped and there was plenty of room to relax with a coffee from the excellent in-room espresso maker.

As other travelers have commented, the location is ideal, particularly for those looking to enjoy Amsterdam's quieter side in lovely restaurants and friendly cafés and brown bars. Yet it is still a quick tram ride or a pleasant walk to the city's major sights and museums.

We are glad we chose the Sunhead and recommend it enthusiastically. We are already looking forward to a return visit.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

617 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    538
    69
    7
    1
    2
See reviews for
48
344
24
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

As many other reviews mention this B&B is well-located, beautifully designed and the breakfasts are very tasty. Carlos is an artist who did most of the decoration and paintings around the house, and it is impressive. He is also very knowledgeable about the city and gives great suggestions. We tried all of them and not one disappointed.

Since i haven't seen many reviews describing the "Iris" room (second floor, facing the back) I thought i'd share a few thoughts. First, i actually preferred the back location to the one facing the canal. Yes, you will be looking at the rooftops of the building next to you, but this is actually a nice view! After spending all day exploring it is really nice to come back to the place where it's VERY quiet and relaxing. You can open the windows and not worry about any noise whatsoever. We never heard other guests either. Someone mentioned that Iris room is somewhat dark, but i didn't think so. This is the room where the beds can not be separated, but we found that mattresses, pillows and blankets were very comfortable. The space is ample, the task lighting is convenient and the decor is lovely. This room also provides a great value for the $$.

There are a few minor suggestions i would dare to make:

- It would be nice to have internet login instruction in the room. When we checked in we never got that information, yet we really needed to check train schedules before the morning. That meant bothering Carlos after hours on his private time...Awkward.

- The shower in Iris room is indeed very dark. The energy saving bulb (which i like) takes a while to reach full strength, but even then it is just too dim. I like to see my tub in detail when i get in, so the brighter bulb would help a lot.

- I would love to see the second small mirror in the room. We, the two women getting ready in the morning, found ourselves competitive over the sink mirror!

- When we came to our lovely room, we discovered a piece of dry food stuck to the bed cover. No big deal, we figured we will leave a note for the cleaning lady so that it can be washed. However, the cover remained in our room for two days which makes me wander if it ever got washed for the next guest.

This is not a suggestion, but something to keep in mind - do pack on a lighter side when going to Amsterdam as if you want to stay at the canal house the stairs are steep and windy (no surprise). Because you will be carrying your own luggage upstairs it helps to have a backpack or a smaller case.

Happy traveling!

Room Tip: Iris room is very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apple Valley, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

If you like lively conversation with your gourmet breakfast and personal service in an historic building, then this is the place for you. Carlos is a hoot, knowledgeable and charming, and he makes a mean smoothie. The location is ideal, just a few blocks from the Anne Frank house and the Jordan neighborhood. We enjoyed every minute of our stay and would return again in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: There are rooms facing the canal; ours was on the inside and you will hear church bells 24 hours. i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paris
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

We stayed there last weekend of May for 2 nights and we loved everything ! The location is ideal, in the most beautiful area, walking distance from museum, center, ...
We had the Narcissus room (top floor, so just expect narrow stairs) The room is very charming, calm, decorated with lot of taste. The bathroom was modern and very clean. Breakfast was very good and owner a very helpful, we highly recommend this place! Thanks you Carlos !

Room Tip: Not recommended for ordery people who can't climb stairs, although it is very typical in Amsterd...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

My husband and I stayed in Sunhead for 3 nights in July 2012 (Narcissus Room). Definitely the best place to stay in Amsterdam: good price, very clean, cosy room, pleasant breakfast with Carlos cooking and talking and amazing location.

(positive): The room is well equipped with Nespresso coffee machine, frigobar, iron, hair dryer and nice decoration, good shower, very comfortable bed. We didn't have the canal view, but we didn't miss that very much… next time I will make my reservation earlier and try to get the room with view.
Carlos is amazing, very good host… he gave us important advices to avoid queues in Anne Frank museum and Van Gogh museum, he printed our tickets, reserved our taxi to go back to the airport and indicated a good place to rent a boat (don't miss this experience of piloting your own boat along the canals).

(negative): Just think about your luggage, because the stairs are narrow and tough ;)

We are planning to stay here in our next trip to Amsterdam.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with canal view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

First of all: location just can't get any better. Sunhead is situated at the beautiful and peaceful Herengracht, between the busy Dam and trendy Jordaan.

The B&B is very welcoming and full of character, the decoration has been done with respect for the old building, yet with a nice quirky-but-stylish twist. We stayed in the Narcissus room and enjoyed the asian-influenced decor, high ceiling (top floor!), fresh roses and nespresso machine. Occasional church bell sounds could disturb a light sleeper, I slept like a rock on the comfortable bed.

The breakfast was excellent, fresh and thoughtfully prepared, and Carlos truly is a wonderful host :)

We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Cajon, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

My ideal B&B would be a combination of New Orleans, Amsterdam, Paris, Steven Colbert and Robin Williams. If you can find that you’d have an ideal stay. I think B&Bs develop organically over time and they develop their own character. And this really is an excellent B&B, with just a good old fashioned friendliness, charm, functioning transportation, lots of strolling space and a whole lot of amphibian atmosphere all around. The breakfast/brunch is on the first floor and every morning there is fresh OJ, a fresh fruit smoothie, and enough food to keep you going until evening! If you make it past Her Majesty, the affectionate puss, you will savour the ready and informative repartee of Carlos at the cutting board, some small bits of which unfortunately not repeatable here. And it's just like Amsterdam to have too much to see in four days. My wife and I learned: there should be houses that float. And you should have to pay no taxes; there should be free ports; there should be free zones and fast and quiet trains. The price was reasonable, the rooms clean, the beds comfortable, the bathrooms/showers new, modern, and very nice. The stairway must be taken, no lift. But our big heavy bags were taken up for us without asking. A perfect spot, and we shall return.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sunhead of 1617? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunhead of 1617

Address: Herengracht 152, 1016 BN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Jordaan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 306 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunhead of 1617 is located in the heart of the wonderful 17th century canal district. Built in 1617, it is one of the oldest heritage monument buildings of the Herengracht. The Herengracht is the most beautiful and prestigious canal of lovely Amsterdam. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Sunhead of 1617 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunhead Of 1617 Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunhead of 1617, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.