We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect location - beautifull view and great hosts !!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sunhead of 1617

Save Saved
You added Sunhead of 1617 to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sunhead of 1617
Herengracht 152, 1016 BN Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Jordaan)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 306 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Athens, Greece
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A perfect location - beautifull view and great hosts !!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2011

Very good located rooms with beautifull canal views.
Hosts Carlos and Roelf-Jan were very friendly and provided all necessary info and great breakfasts to start off our days. This canal house is a 5 minute walk to Dam square in a very quiet neighborhood towards the Jordaan area.
We stayed in the Jasmine room which was recently renovated and was on the second level.
Highly recomended !!!

Room Tip: Tulip and Jasmine have the canal views ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

614 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    535
    69
    7
    1
    2
See reviews for
48
341
24
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2011

My daughter and I spent a couple of nights here after a cruise, before we came home. I found it on the Internet and was really pleased to find that the place really lived up to the reviews. Its a lovely old house, very typically Dutch and beautifully restored. The hosts are very, very nice, kind and helpful and yes, the breakfasts are great. Our room was at the top of the house, very nicely furnished, and comfortable. We would recommend it to anyone who wants to stay in a really different place, much nicer than a modern hotel. We would stay there again any time.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Pole
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2011

What a wonderful B&B!

It was my family's (and my) first time staying at a Bed & Breakfast, and I gotta say my experience here has gotten me over any prejudice I used to have against B&B's!

The location couldn't get any better, as you are right at the corner of Herengracht and Leliegracht, which means you are just 2 canals and a 3 minute walk away from the center of town! Also extremely close by are the Anne Frank House, homomonument, and the Westerkerk.

Carlos was a gracious host, very friendly and welcoming. Our rooms were on the third floor, which was between the attic (another guest room) and the 2nd floor (the hosts' residence). The building itself is characteristically old, which is exactly what you'd want for a canal house, and the decorations were Asian-inspired and tasteful.

Even though it's for the same price (I believe), the room facing the canal is undoubtedly a better choice. Not just because of the view, but coz of the much roomier bathroom. Wireless internet is free and the signal was very strong. But be warned: there are no TV's. Which of coz wasn't a problem for us, but might be worth noting for some.

The breakfast was also wonderful, although we had a bit of a scare coz we visited during the e.coli outbreak. Of course none of us got sick but Carlos were the ones that told us about the news, otherwise we wouldn't even have known to be careful during the rest of our trip!

Parking is DEFINITELY a problem as expected, and Carlos can recommend a parking garage close by for 30 EUR a night. However I chose to park at the P&R for 8 EUR a night, which was just a short tram ride away.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the canal has bigger bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2011

We stayed for 3 nights in May and found Carlos and Roelf to be charming and helpful hosts. Carlos makes a great breakfast, fresh juices, meats, eggs etc. Carlos is very engaging and funny and we appreciated his suggestions for restaurants, markets, sightseeing etc. We were in the Narcissus room which is at the top of several flights of stairs, but as previously mentioned this is to be expected in canal homes. The room is cosy but comfortable. Unlike some other reviewers we couldn't hear other guests and we liked the church bells that chimed regularly. The B&B is very conveniently located with most attractions within easy walking distance. If you want to experience living in an authentic canal home this is the place to be. Also there are several great restaurants literally around the corner.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2011

We had such a pleasant stay here. Carlos was a warm and welcoming host. The breakfast was heaven!! Great location for Amsterdaam, on the canal and in easy walking distance to all the museums and Dam square, also easy walking from the train station. Like most of the B&B's in Amsterdam, the stairs are spiral and steep that go up to the rooms, I would not recommend for elderly travelers as there is no "ground" level room. We did not mind the stairs though and having only 2 small bags to carry, it was fine. Comfy bed and plenty of room for 2 people. Great, great value for Amsterdam!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2011

If you're not interested in staying in one of the funkiest, most charming, well-located and well-run B&Bs anywhere, then don't stay here. If you are, however, looking for a real taste of 1600's Amsterdam architecture without sacrificing all the modern amenities, a location that is close to all the action -- yet still in a quiet, laid-back neighborhood, overlooking a fabulous canal, and you're also interested in staying with B&B owners who care about their guests and are affable, entertaining, knowledgeable -- and put out a terrific breakfast -- then this is your place. Sunhead of 1617 delivers a good value, a great ambience and an excellent location. Owners Carlos and Roelf-Jan do it the way it should be done. I couldn't recommend a better place to stay in Amsterdam -- or anywhere else, for that matter.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

Clean, ready on time, wonderful breakfast, wonderful hosts, amazing location! We had a great time in Amsterdam and staying here was a very good choice. My children said they wouldn't want to stay anywhere else when returning to Amsterdam!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sunhead of 1617? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunhead of 1617

Address: Herengracht 152, 1016 BN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Jordaan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 306 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunhead of 1617 is located in the heart of the wonderful 17th century canal district. Built in 1617, it is one of the oldest heritage monument buildings of the Herengracht. The Herengracht is the most beautiful and prestigious canal of lovely Amsterdam. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Sunhead of 1617 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunhead Of 1617 Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunhead of 1617, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.