We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Maes B & B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Maes B & B
Save Saved
You added Maes B & B to your Saves list
Herenstraat 26, 1015CB Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 306 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Fabulous place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

This place is roomy, conveniently located, quiet and well appointed. The beds were very comfortable. The kitchen has all appliances needed. The terrace was a nice feature when the weather cooperated. We were close to the tram, Jordan area and Anne Frank house. Would highly recommend this place. Take them seriously when they tell you to pack light. The stairs are steep!

Stayed October 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

579 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    492
    68
    11
    7
    1
See reviews for
78
274
23
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
oak ridge
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I kept seeing postive vibe about Maes B&B but by the time I got around to emailing vlad he told me all the B&B rooms were gone-all he had was more expensive apartments down the street on the Singel Canal. ABout 50% more than the B&B rooms, but we had this great apartment on the third floor with floor to celing windows and a stunning vire of the Singel canal and street views. The apartment had a living room, dining room, full kitchen, 1 bedroom. Off the back bedroom was an outside deck which was a delightful place to drink wine before having dinner in the kitchen with all the lights of outside twinkling in. As others have said, Vlad was very helpful and kind. This apartment was more expnsive but worth it. What a sanctuary after walking the streets all day. Right next door is a great breakfast and lunch cafe and many nice shops in the area. This is an upscale very attractive area. Highly recommended. Great location too - took the train from Shiphol to Central Station and then had a ten minute walk to it so extremely convenient.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We were lucky to have 3 nights in the apartment at Heren Apts when usually it is rented by the week. The apartment is quite large, well appointed with a full kitchen and modern bath area.
It is handy to nice restaurants, tourist sites and a short walk to the station.
The staff are very friendly, security conscious and are quick to reply to your questions.

Stayed September 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2014

The only down side to this property is that it is so well-run I anticipate it will be difficult to get a booking in the future! We spent 2 nights there & wished it had been much longer. The house was beautiful, the rooms spacious & clean and the breakfast was delicious. Excellent accommodation.

  • Stayed September 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2014

After 250 miles of cycling in the North Netherlands, were very impressed with the location - an easy walk from the train station and on a beautiful canal. Maes B and B is classy and clean with modern appointments - quiet with lots of privacy. The breakfast was expertly prepared and served by friendly attentive staff. Our host, Vlad, dropped in very morning to ensure we were comfortable and equipped for a day of adventure in the busy neighborhoods of Amsterdam. In fact, every restaurant he recommended was spot on! Maes B and B receives our highest recommendation.

Room Tip: All rooms appeared to be nice. We stayed in the lower level, left for Bruges, then returned to an u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2014

Glad my husband planned early for our trip and we were able to get in this popular place. Wonderful location in active but not loud area. Spacious, very clean room and bath. Ian bakes croissants every morning. I love the app Vlad put together so everything is right at your iPhone fingertips with directions!

Room Tip: Orchids have been added to the main room and make it even prettier
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2014

Maes B&B is a really great bed and breakfast. The location is superb, as you are in the heart of Amsterdam; however, it's not in the very busy touristy part of Amsterdam. This location is a short walking distance to the nine streets and the shopping district, as well as other touristy areas. My husband and I stayed both on the yellow floor (that's what I believe it's called) and the top floor, both floors give you a lot of room; however, the yellow floor is definitely bigger and the bathroom has a lot more room. The breakfast was set up really nicely and there were a wide variety of food choices. I would definitely recommend this B&B. If you have issues going up stairs then I would opt for a lower level floor. Also, my husband and I rented bikes one morning to ride around Amsterdam and head out to Vondelpark, I would definitely recommend going out there.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Maes B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maes B & B

Address: Herenstraat 26, 1015CB Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 306 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cozy home ambiance... In the center of Amsterdam, located only minutes away from the all major sights and nightlife spots and within walking distance from the museums, yet in a quiet residential area: Maes Bed and Breakfast and Apartments. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Maes Bed And Breakfast
Maes Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maes B & B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.