We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Maes B & B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Maes B & B
Herenstraat 26, 1015CB Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 304 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Minnesota
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Home away from home!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

This was my favorite accomodation during our 2 week vacation. When we arrived at Amsterdam Central Station we had only a short walk to Vlad and Kens where we were warmly greeted by Vlad who showed us to the house on the Singel Canal. Our room was downstairs-immaculately clean and very comfortable. The only downside to this particular room was the toilet was in a closet in the hall (my husband is a little claustrophobic) Vlad showed us the house and even downloaded an app on my phone that would help us locate popular attreactions in Amsterdam as well as some restaurant suggestions that turned out to be fantastic!
We enjoyed the company of the other guests in the home while we enjoyed the shared living room area that overlooks the canal and street, and during the breakfast served each morning by a young man that comes in each day at 8am. Vlad was there each day to check on his guests and see if we needed anything. Thank you Vlad for providing us with the perfect place to end a fantastic vacation!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

566 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    481
    66
    11
    7
    1
See reviews for
74
268
23
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fairview, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

We arrived late and were greeted by our host Vlad. He made us feel at home and showed us around the B & B. It's especially nice to have access to the kitchen and gathering room. We made use of both several times during our three night stay. Our room looked into the back area which was filled with trees and greenery. It was very quiet and tranquil. Our room also had the large attic shower and tub with sink area. The stairs to the top were especially steep, and you needed to be very cautious. It was like being in a treehouse. Being in an old canal house, meant that the stairs were steep and narrow. We were very careful when we went up and down. It is a place that we will always remember fondly. We would recommend this place to others because it gives you an opportunity to be a part of the

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bushey, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

After walking out of another hotel and desperate to find somewhere for the night I remembered hearing good things about Mae's and a call to Ken and Vlad saved our first trip to Amsterdam. They found myself (and daughter) accommodation in one of the apartments for the first night and although it was latish when we arrived Vlad met us and ensured we had everything we needed. The apartment was superb, spacious and immaculate with a small patio and canal view. The second night we stayed in the B&B house which was also a delight to stay in. The location of both was perfect and Vlad gave us excellent tips and advice and a lovely breakfast. We look forward to returning - for a longer stay.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeanTown
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

My wife & I (mid 60's)stayed here for 5 nights (3/2014) and you could not find a better location...15 minutes from the train station and 10 from Dam Sq. We had a very quit and large room on the 2nd fl (rear) at the Singel Canal location. We could also could share a good size living room and complete kitchen at the same location on the first floor. Breakfasts were great and substantial. The B & B was immaculate, quit, comfortable and filled with beautiful plants. All the staff were extremely helpful especially Valad, who recommended several restaurants in the area that were excellent. We ate at Seasons 2x, Cafe Deriger, Ko Chang and DeJaren Cafe all very good. We would highly recommend Maes B & B

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

This meticulous B&B is located in the quiet Jordaan section of Amsterdam. We spent 3 nights celebrating our 30th wedding anniversary at Maes and were graciously met by Jason, who showed us our beautiful room located in the rear of the house. Our room was comfortable, but some might find the bathroom location of this room to be a challenge as you climb steep stairs to reach it (the toilet is room level). We did not mind, and the bathroom was enormous with a large soaking tub and shower. The only other thing to note about the bathroom are the tricky faucets, which Jason was patient to provide a tutorial. The rest of the house was charming: a vintage kitchen where a delectable breakfast was served, thoughtful flowers throughout, and a large, sunny living room to relax. Vlad was helpful in explaining local sights and restaurant recommendations. Maes is located within walking distance to many major sights, and the tram stops nearby to take you to spots a bit further away. We would highly recommend this charming and well-run B&B!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

Amsterdam is a lovely city, the Jordaan is the loveliest pat. Great location, excellent accommodation and a perfect host. Difficult to imagine a better place to stay. Thank you Vlad.... Trev and Sarah x

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland, United States
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

Location is important and this location is outstanding. Surrounded by small restaurants and within easy walking distance of more. Outside the honky tonk of the tourist areas on a quiet street. The stairs up are Amsterdam narrow and a challenge at the end of the day. Our room with sitting room and bathroom was spacious. We walked all over Amsterdam, of course, and found no better street. Vlad is a most gracious host and their staff equally so. We will be back if the tulips bloom again.

Room Tip: Up is upstairs but best views of the 'hood.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Maes B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maes B & B

Address: Herenstraat 26, 1015CB Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 304 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cozy home ambiance... In the center of Amsterdam, located only minutes away from the all major sights and nightlife spots and within walking distance from the museums, yet in a quiet residential area: Maes Bed and Breakfast and Apartments. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Maes Hotel Amsterdam
Maes Bed And Breakfast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maes B & B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Maes B & B to your Saves list