We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Canal B & B in the Jordaan” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Maes B & B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Maes B & B
Save
You added Maes B & B to your Saves list
Herenstraat 26, 1015CB Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Canal Ring (Grachtengordel))   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 322 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Fairview, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Canal B & B in the Jordaan”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

We arrived late and were greeted by our host Vlad. He made us feel at home and showed us around the B & B. It's especially nice to have access to the kitchen and gathering room. We made use of both several times during our three night stay. Our room looked into the back area which was filled with trees and greenery. It was very quiet and tranquil. Our room also had the large attic shower and tub with sink area. The stairs to the top were especially steep, and you needed to be very cautious. It was like being in a treehouse. Being in an old canal house, meant that the stairs were steep and narrow. We were very careful when we went up and down. It is a place that we will always remember fondly. We would recommend this place to others because it gives you an opportunity to be a part of the

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

620 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    528
    73
    11
    7
    1
See reviews for
95
291
23
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bushey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

After walking out of another hotel and desperate to find somewhere for the night I remembered hearing good things about Mae's and a call to Ken and Vlad saved our first trip to Amsterdam. They found myself (and daughter) accommodation in one of the apartments for the first night and although it was latish when we arrived Vlad met us and ensured we had everything we needed. The apartment was superb, spacious and immaculate with a small patio and canal view. The second night we stayed in the B&B house which was also a delight to stay in. The location of both was perfect and Vlad gave us excellent tips and advice and a lovely breakfast. We look forward to returning - for a longer stay.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeanTown
Level Contributor
37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

My wife & I (mid 60's)stayed here for 5 nights (3/2014) and you could not find a better location...15 minutes from the train station and 10 from Dam Sq. We had a very quit and large room on the 2nd fl (rear) at the Singel Canal location. We could also could share a good size living room and complete kitchen at the same location on the first floor. Breakfasts were great and substantial. The B & B was immaculate, quit, comfortable and filled with beautiful plants. All the staff were extremely helpful especially Valad, who recommended several restaurants in the area that were excellent. We ate at Seasons 2x, Cafe Deriger, Ko Chang and DeJaren Cafe all very good. We would highly recommend Maes B & B

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

This meticulous B&B is located in the quiet Jordaan section of Amsterdam. We spent 3 nights celebrating our 30th wedding anniversary at Maes and were graciously met by Jason, who showed us our beautiful room located in the rear of the house. Our room was comfortable, but some might find the bathroom location of this room to be a challenge as you climb steep stairs to reach it (the toilet is room level). We did not mind, and the bathroom was enormous with a large soaking tub and shower. The only other thing to note about the bathroom are the tricky faucets, which Jason was patient to provide a tutorial. The rest of the house was charming: a vintage kitchen where a delectable breakfast was served, thoughtful flowers throughout, and a large, sunny living room to relax. Vlad was helpful in explaining local sights and restaurant recommendations. Maes is located within walking distance to many major sights, and the tram stops nearby to take you to spots a bit further away. We would highly recommend this charming and well-run B&B!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

Amsterdam is a lovely city, the Jordaan is the loveliest pat. Great location, excellent accommodation and a perfect host. Difficult to imagine a better place to stay. Thank you Vlad.... Trev and Sarah x

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
50 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

Location is important and this location is outstanding. Surrounded by small restaurants and within easy walking distance of more. Outside the honky tonk of the tourist areas on a quiet street. The stairs up are Amsterdam narrow and a challenge at the end of the day. Our room with sitting room and bathroom was spacious. We walked all over Amsterdam, of course, and found no better street. Vlad is a most gracious host and their staff equally so. We will be back if the tulips bloom again.

Room Tip: Up is upstairs but best views of the 'hood.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goulburn
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014 via mobile

We stayed 2 nights in a b&b room prior to our bike & barge tour & then 5 nights in a 1 bedroom apartment - both in the same building facing the singel canal. Both were excellent. The b&b room was comfortable with a sumptuous breakfast provided by the owner. You also get access to a communal kitchen & comfortable lounge area. Our apartment was on the 2nd floor & was spacious with modern facilities while retaining the character of the building. The owners obviously take great pride in the building & everything is kept in tip top shape. The apartment has a kitchen & lounge overlooking the singel canal. The building's location is ideal - a quiet spot yet close to central - approx 10 minute walk. Restaurants & cafés are closely. We visited the markets plus restaurants & cafe recommended by Vlad & all were excellent. The markets held on sat were great as we bought food to self cater - wonderful cheeses, slices of quiche, white asparagus to cook up (make sure you read up on how to cook white asp on the net before trying it). The apartment is 10 mins walk to Dam Square & the major shopping area. Highly recommended provided you can get up & down steep stairs. They are everywhere in Amsterdam including the b&b and apartment. Pack light & don't bring large heavy suitcases as you won't be able to get them up & down the stairs. Also, some train stations don't have lifts so you may have to carry your bags to get down to the platform, etc. We travelled to Europe for 6 weeks from Australia & had carry on luggage only for the trip out. We had previously travelled with huge heavy bags however light is definitely easier!

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Sunhead of 1617
Sunhead of 1617
#22 of 322 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 644 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
B&B Barangay
B&B Barangay
#18 of 322 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 747 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
B&B Herengracht 21
B&B Herengracht 21
#75 of 322 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jordaan
Eelhouse B&B
Eelhouse B&B
#27 of 322 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 149 reviews
Centrum
Crown Bed & Breakfast
Crown Bed & Breakfast
#20 of 322 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 124 reviews
Jordaan
WestViolet Bed & Breakfast
WestViolet Bed & Breakfast
#36 of 322 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maes B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maes B & B

Address: Herenstraat 26, 1015CB Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 322 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cozy home ambiance... In the center of Amsterdam, located only minutes away from the all major sights and nightlife spots and within walking distance from the museums, yet in a quiet residential area: Maes Bed and Breakfast and Apartments. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Maes Hotel Amsterdam
Maes Bed And Breakfast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maes B & B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.