We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistently Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Maes B & B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Maes B & B
Save
You added Maes B & B to your Saves list
Herenstraat 26, 1015CB Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 306 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
“Consistently Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

I visited Maes again last weekend for what is probably the 10th time. It continues to deliver the very highest standards and accommodation is in an natural dutch home. The hosts, Ken and Vlad, are on site and ensure that their staff (some of whom have been with them for a long time)are trained to first class standards.

Online booking is very easy and a 50% deposit is now required by credit card. The balance is paid on arrival. The hosts ensure someone is on hand to greet you on arrival and they monitor flight arrivals to ensure this happens. The process goes like clockwork.

I was visiting as a single and had specific requirements for my room.This was met perfectly. There was a communal sitting room and kitchen and my private area consisted of a charming room with a queen sized bed with a nice view over gardens and houses behind the B&B. I had a staircase to a higher level which had a large bathroom with freestanding tub and a seperate shower. The room was cosy and warm and well ventilated.

Other guests were in the building however doors to the communaal areas were kept closed so that I wasn't disturbed. Management and staff took time to talk to me and I felt very safe and secure.

Breakfast runs until 11:00 and consists of a wide range of Dutch fayre. Everything was very fresh and in ample proportions. It was possible to fix a snack or make a drink at any time and this was very appreciated.

Staying at Maes is nothing like being in a hotel. It is far superior and this is why I keep coming back again and again. I was made to feel genuinely welcome and that nothing was too much trouble.

The location is good, near to a canal and only a 10 minute walk from Centraal Station. Each Saturday there is a Farmer's Market close by and the nearest tram stop is less than 5 minutes away.

This place is a total hidden gem!

Room Tip: The B&B consists of a wide range of apartments and rooms spread over 4 buildings. Be as specific...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

587 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    498
    70
    11
    7
    1
See reviews for
79
276
23
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

Really liked the hospitality. Milo and Vlad were great. The breakfast is very generous. The rooms are small but since Maes is inside the canal ring, the price is a bargain IMO. The location is convenient.

Be sure to visit the farmers market nearby !

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratham, New Hampshire
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

Our family of 4 (two teenagers, one boy, one girl) took a short trip to Amsterdam for a non-traditional Thanksgiving holiday and we couldn't have been more blessed. The apartment is on a charming, quiet, centrally located street which made our daily adventures as easy as walking downstairs. Team Maes made great recommendations and all were very gracious and helpful- including suggesting a delightful taxi ride to/from Schiphol. The downstairs shower was dubbed "2nd best shower ever" by our 14 yr old daughter. You can faintly hear the church bells chime, (the same ones that gave Anne Frank hope while in the secret annex). Try the Tapas restaurant next door for a delicious dinner without a walk. Also, the cafe across the street has hot croissants by 8 am. Stay here!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

We stayed six nights at this B&B and we were quite comfortable. Our room was clean, the breakfast was good, Vlad was a wonderful host, the location excellent. Vlad gave us tips on what was happening each day that we wouldn't otherwise know about. We asked for a quiet room and it was very quiet. We ate dinners at restaurants on our small street, in fact on our side of the block, and didn't even use them all up and they were terrific. There are quirky, steep staircases but that is the case in canal houses so we expected it. We walked everywhere, even to our farthest destination. We will stay here every time we visit without question. Why look anywhere else? Prices are very reasonable also.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013 via mobile

We recently stayed at maes for two nights.....as others have mentioned the stairs are steep but that is a small price to pay for staying in this charming house. Vlad and staff are wonderful, breakfasts are terrific, and the location couldn't be better. We easily walked everywhere.....museums, train station, boat docks, etc.
The immediate area around the b & b is filled with restaurants, shops, etc. Fabulous find!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013 via mobile

We have stayed at Mae's three times in the past 18 months and each time the stay was excellent. The rooms are clean, the common areas spacious, the breakfast fresh and tasty, the service attentive and friendly (thanks to Dima a most engaging and helpful staff member), the prices so reasonable by Amsterdam standards, and a location within walking distance of most any attraction if you own a good pair of walking shoes. Well done again and again Mae's.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, Newfoundland, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

This was such a central location, however it was on a quiet street which was really nice. You're close to everything that the city has to offer. The service was excellent, with a great attention to detail. We couldn't have had a better experience, Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Maes B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maes B & B

Address: Herenstraat 26, 1015CB Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 306 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cozy home ambiance... In the center of Amsterdam, located only minutes away from the all major sights and nightlife spots and within walking distance from the museums, yet in a quiet residential area: Maes Bed and Breakfast and Apartments. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Maes Hotel Amsterdam
Maes Bed And Breakfast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maes B & B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.