We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Maes B & B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Maes B & B
Herenstraat 26, Amsterdam 1015CB, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 301 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

Nice location near the canal. I had a room with nice and new furniture. Clean and new. The kitchen was well equipped. The breakfast was amazing. You feel like a citizen and not like a tourist. Would recommend it.

Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

564 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    479
    66
    11
    7
    1
See reviews for
74
266
23
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stratham, New Hampshire
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

Our family of 4 (two teenagers, one boy, one girl) took a short trip to Amsterdam for a non-traditional Thanksgiving holiday and we couldn't have been more blessed. The apartment is on a charming, quiet, centrally located street which made our daily adventures as easy as walking downstairs. Team Maes made great recommendations and all were very gracious and helpful- including suggesting a delightful taxi ride to/from Schiphol. The downstairs shower was dubbed "2nd best shower ever" by our 14 yr old daughter. You can faintly hear the church bells chime, (the same ones that gave Anne Frank hope while in the secret annex). Try the Tapas restaurant next door for a delicious dinner without a walk. Also, the cafe across the street has hot croissants by 8 am. Stay here!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

We stayed six nights at this B&B and we were quite comfortable. Our room was clean, the breakfast was good, Vlad was a wonderful host, the location excellent. Vlad gave us tips on what was happening each day that we wouldn't otherwise know about. We asked for a quiet room and it was very quiet. We ate dinners at restaurants on our small street, in fact on our side of the block, and didn't even use them all up and they were terrific. There are quirky, steep staircases but that is the case in canal houses so we expected it. We walked everywhere, even to our farthest destination. We will stay here every time we visit without question. Why look anywhere else? Prices are very reasonable also.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013 via mobile

We recently stayed at maes for two nights.....as others have mentioned the stairs are steep but that is a small price to pay for staying in this charming house. Vlad and staff are wonderful, breakfasts are terrific, and the location couldn't be better. We easily walked everywhere.....museums, train station, boat docks, etc.
The immediate area around the b & b is filled with restaurants, shops, etc. Fabulous find!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013 via mobile

We have stayed at Mae's three times in the past 18 months and each time the stay was excellent. The rooms are clean, the common areas spacious, the breakfast fresh and tasty, the service attentive and friendly (thanks to Dima a most engaging and helpful staff member), the prices so reasonable by Amsterdam standards, and a location within walking distance of most any attraction if you own a good pair of walking shoes. Well done again and again Mae's.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, Newfoundland, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

This was such a central location, however it was on a quiet street which was really nice. You're close to everything that the city has to offer. The service was excellent, with a great attention to detail. We couldn't have had a better experience, Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Just back from a three night trip to Amsterdam with my family. We chose the Maes & Heren B&B on the basis of its Trip Advisor rating and were not disappointed.

We were met at the Herenstraat address by Milo, who walked us the short distance to the house on the Singel canal. We had two adjacent basement rooms, which were a bit dark but well presented and very comfortable.

Later we met Vlad, one of the owners, who was very hospitable and took time to suggest a variety of things to do and restaurants to try.

Finally, the breakfast deserves a mention. The variety of food was impressive and the communal table helped to create a good atmosphere with other guests.

We'd certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: The room at the front of the house had a particularly good bathroom, with a large bath and a walk-in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Maes B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maes B & B

Address: Herenstraat 26, Amsterdam 1015CB, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 301 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cozy home ambiance... In the center of Amsterdam, located only minutes away from the all major sights and nightlife spots and within walking distance from the museums, yet in a quiet residential area: Maes Bed and Breakfast and Apartments. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Maes Hotel Amsterdam
Maes Bed And Breakfast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maes B & B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Maes B & B to your Saves list