We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Maes B & B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Maes B & B
Save
You added Maes B & B to your Saves list
Herenstraat 26, 1015CB Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 306 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Lovely experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

We enjoyed our stay here very much. Had a room on the first floor, overlooking the small back courtyard unfortunately, but a lovely room nonetheless, lots of room and lovely bathroom with wonderful shower space. The only thing we found strange was there was no way to keep water in the modern bathroom sink. We stayed 3 nights and found the location excellent, right on a canal and easy walking distance to restaurants, bars and, of course, the canals. The breakfast each day was amazing, every taste catered for in a nice dining room. There is also access to not one but two beautiful kitchens, and a lovely lounge area overlooking the canal. Great service and would stay again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

585 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    496
    70
    11
    7
    1
See reviews for
78
276
23
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
186 reviews 186 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

My husband and I recently returned from a trip to Europe where we stayed in a 2-bedroom apartment owned by Maes B&B. The apartment is 2 doors down from the actual B&B and office.

It's in a wonderful part of the city, away from the mad tourist rush. And so you get to see the city for what it is.

Vlad had warned me that the steps to the apartment were steep and he wasn't joking. But it would be better to say that these were almost like a carpeted ladder vs. steps!!! It was a steep climb and definitely not for an elderly couple.

Our apartment was split over two floors - the living room, dining room with an outdoor patio and one bathroom was on the first level and the two bedrooms and another toilet and bath on the second level.

The apartment was perfect for our stay. The furnishings are comfortable and the kitchen was well equipped with crockery and cutlery. The outdoor patio was beautiful - overlooking the rooftops of other houses. If you're looking for something posh, this is not for you. If you like something comfortable and homely, it is perfect.

Vlad was very helpful with his tips for the city. He recommended we use Bike city for our bicycle rentals which turned out to be very good. And he also recommended where we could shop for groceries and places to eat. Seasons, a restaurant a couple of doors down from the apartment provided a great meal. There is a small bakery just across the bridge which is also one of the few places that opens by 8 a.m. Wonderful choice of bread and cakes and good to get breakfast.

For the location, the price we paid was great value. Definitely an option if you want to see the real side of this wonderful city.

Room Tip: If you don't like a steep climb, you may want to consider the other apartment on the first level...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paris
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

We stay only one night in Maes B&B.Nice big livingroom, lovely room and the most important very well located in the center of Amsterdam.Very complet breakfast and good service ,we will definitely come back to this very special place!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

This is a lovely canal side house on the Singel canal, perfectly situated to visit so many things in Amsterdam. The hotel is spotlessly clean and everything is beautifully presented, with fresh flowers in the living room and a copious breakfast. All the fittings, such as those found in the bathrooms, are high-end and of superb quality. By now, you must be asking why the low score, so read on....

On arrival we were asked to supply a credit card number and a signature (although we had already paid) in case we broke any rules. There is a 100 Euro fine if you lose a set of keys, another 100 Euros if you lose the additional set they supply you with. And.... 100 Euros if you leave your room untidy and 500 Euros if they have to call out the plumber because you mis-used the bathroom in some way. This latter rule os posted next to the WC so you won't forget.

On reserving you are told you cannot choose a room, one will be allocated on arrival. We put in a special request for a nice room because we were there to celebrate a special birthday. However, we were shown a basement room which was dark with a tiny window, looking onto some steps in front. I asked if I could open the window at night but was told this was not allowed (in fact, it wouldn't open) and we had, instead, to use an electric fan (which simply recirculated air we had already breathed). I asked if we could switch to another room and we were told this was not possible (even though other guests had not yet arrived and therefore presumably their rooms had not yet been allocated).

The staff - I believe they were not the owners - were polite but utterly disinterested and charmless.

This could be such a lovely place to stay so long as your experience isn't like ours.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Our stay at the Maes B&B could not have been better! We were lucky enough to be staying in the one-bedroom, executive apartment overlooking one of the main canals. The building has been recently renovated from top to bottom. All the amenities were modern and the living space was very spacious and clean! The staff was exceedingly friendly and available (if you have any questions, we had many, the best time to ask is in the morning). They gave us some very good restaurant recommendations and some great ideas of how/where to spend our time.
The central location was ideal. It's a 12 minute walk from the train station and numerous restaurants and bars are an easy 7 to 10 minute walk (or less!). We will be returning to Amsterdam and there is no question we will be staying at Maes B&B when we do!

Room Tip: Executive apartment has 4 massive windows facing one of the main canals. Lots of light, lots of spac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights in the garden room. Everything was fantastic. the house is beautiful, room was great and with very modern amenities. Bed was super comfortable and nights were quiet.

Breakfast was out of this world. If it was a person, my wife would have left me for it in an instant.

well deserving of its reputation on here.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

I stayed in the Garden Room for three nights in July/August, A double en suite bedroom overlooking neighbourhood gardens. Very quiet and restful. Comfortable night sleep. Typical Amsterdam architecture. Everything is thoughtfully prepared for the visitor to Amsterdam. The common areas are spacious and welcoming. It was a great location and nearby restaurants were very good. The information given beforehand about car parking and transport was extremely helpful. Breakfast is very good and plentiful.

Room Tip: We liked the Garden room. It is on two floors - the upper being the en suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Maes B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maes B & B

Address: Herenstraat 26, 1015CB Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 306 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cozy home ambiance... In the center of Amsterdam, located only minutes away from the all major sights and nightlife spots and within walking distance from the museums, yet in a quiet residential area: Maes Bed and Breakfast and Apartments. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Maes Bed And Breakfast
Maes Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maes B & B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.